We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My visit to Haisthorpe House and Lake District Recomendations”
Review of Haisthorpe House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Haisthorpe House
Ranked #45 of 107 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We travelled to Lake District at the end of July 2013, we arrived at Haisthorpe house to be greeted by Lee, who was the manager in the absence of the owner, she was very welcoming, our room was the superior double room, very spacious, a large bed, sofa, all facilities were excellent e.g tea/coffee bathrobes and toiletries. The Jacuzzi bath with overhead shower was excellent, as was the view from the room, very peaceful. I cannot fault the room at all. The breakfast was very well prepared with a varied choice. Parking facilities were also good at the back of the house, we always had a parking spot available. I have added photos of the room on this site. The house is a short walking distance to Windermere town and Bowness. I would recommend Orrest Head Viewpoint and Millerground Lake in Windermere, Aira Force waterfalls and Ullswater Lake (great for boating). I would also recommend Grasmere Village. Look forward to visiting again in the near future.

Room Tip: Book the Superior Double Room
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunny1333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
There are newer reviews for Haisthorpe House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2013

Excellent clean, cosy and well run B and B. In a quiet location near Windermere shops with easy access to Bus and Train if you do not have a car.
Owner Diane very friendly and helpful with information for places to visit..
Breakfast was lovely. plenty of choice and served by Karen who was also very friendly and efficient.
Thoroughly enjoyed my stay and would recommend Haisthorpe to anyone who wants to visit the Lake District.

Room Tip: .Had room 5 at the top of the house. Room also had a sofa and was spacious and had a good dual aspec...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EssexDaisyBenfleet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

This is in a great location, just a few minutes walk to the centre of Windermere and the shops. The rooms were comfortable and well kept, albeit being a little small. The deluxe rooms have a lovely spa bath. Didn't have the breakfast so can't comment on that. The location is excellent and the stay comfortable. There are some excellent walks in this area. I would definitely recommend walking up to the top of Oriest hill to catch the sunset. Beautiful views over the area.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank ExpatNZers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed for two nights for our first wedding anniversary. Lovely clean and nicely decorated room. A bit on the small side but that's not a problem. Plenty of information on things to do and see nearby. A short walk into Windermere and only 20mins walk from the lake so good location. Good choice of breakfast but only one slice of bacon and one sausage served on cooked breakfast. My hubby's a big lad and would've liked a bit more. Overall though a lovely stay and would stay again. Thankyou!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KAHayhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

There was nothing actually wrong, but the owner's priority seemed to be her personal life, and fitting a guest house and its guests around it. Expecting us to arrive before 6 because she had a family commitment and then not wanting to do breakfast before 8:30 because it meant getting up early doesn't seem right, especially in an outdoors areas such as the Lakes where people are likely to want to get a long day out on the fells.

We were also meant to have had an upgrade to a superior room - I hope that didn't happen as it was small and, while OK for a night, it was nothing above the minimum I'd expect.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flankr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

It was our first holiday in Lake district. We had very nice experience here. Diana was very friendly. Room was clean & with all facilities.Good bathroom & clean tub/toiletries.We would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank solokochi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Stayed for 3 night weekend and found the room, the welcome, the cleanliness and facilities excellent. It was nice to have a spa bath after a long day walking. The hotel had everything you could wish for your stay, including corkscrew and glasses, walking books, information and a great welcome. Breakfast was really nice with a good choice and well cooked. We found that Bowness (20 min walk) offered better restaurants, bars and cafes than Windermere itself. Well worth the walk or short cab ride.

Room Tip: Room 1 with spa bath.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rgcol5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
1.1 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,896 reviews
0.3 mi away
Montfort Cottage Guest House
Montfort Cottage Guest House
#28 of 107 in Windermere
185 reviews
4.0 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,387 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Glencree
Glencree
#57 of 107 in Windermere
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haisthorpe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haisthorpe House

Address: Haisthorpe Holly Road, Windermere LA23 2AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range: £64 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Haisthorpe House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Haisthorpe House is situated in a secluded yet central area of Windermere in the English Lake District. It is only a few minutes walk from the village centre, local restaurants and the picturesque Lake Windermere. The Guest House is an ideal base for touring and walking holidays or for simply taking in the beautiful Cumbrian scenery.We offer a warm and friendly welcome. A relaxed atmosphere awaits you at the guest house where a high standard of hospitality and cleanliness is provided to ensure your stay at Haisthorpe House is an enjoyable and memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Haisthorpe House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haisthorpe House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing