We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Hostess - Avoid!”
Review of Haisthorpe House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Haisthorpe House
Ranked #46 of 107 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The location was good and the 4 poster bed was comfortable, unfortunately that is all...

We were shocked by the "welcome" or lack thereof we received from the owner. Without even a "hello", she instantly berated us for the inconvenience of our arrival as we were scolded like children for interrupting her dinner. We were made so uncomfortable by her rude demeanor that we went out of way to avoid any further contact. We certainly won't be returning...

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank rwgs811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2014

This is one of the best B & B that I have stayed in. Diane makes it a point to personally receive all the guest and provide them all the information about the places to see and eat. She even carried my 20 kg baggage to the first floor.

The rooms are clean and I loved the wall papers in the room. Overall excellent and would love to be back again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WishtoTraveltheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed here on the weekend.
Diana was exceptional, pleasant, welcoming made you feel at home.
Lovely breakfast's cooked by another lady which were Delicious.
House was spotless, gorgeous rooms, soft warm bedding and pillows, free view tv and a lovely hot shower :)
Never wanted for nothing whilst staying here.
Very good for the price, clean, very friendly staff, spacious rooms.
Lovely.
Thanks again Diana, we will be back very soon :) xX

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenh48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Positives - Good location, clean rooms (although small), peaceful area
Negatives -
1.We stayed here for 2 nights along with our parents and had booked 2 rooms.
2. The owner (Diana) was travelling and had a substitute care taker (Lee) who forcefully and wrongly charged us GBP 50 for no fault/mistake of ours.
3.On day 3 after our check out when I went to collect my luggage in the evening, Lee claimed that some non removable marks were found in my parents’ room - the room main door, small shelf where the kettle/tea DIY stuff was kept and the toilet seat.
4. We were blamed to have used some chemicals/henna as the so called chemical had seeped into the paint and left marks which could not be removed. She claimed she had to get the door painted and replace the toilet seat.
5.Lee claimed that this was not present when the room was handed over to us or when the room was cleaned on Day 1 and Day 2.
6. We argued that our parents had not used any chemicals/henna or any other materials/liquid that could cause this and that we were unaware of the presence of the marks. I mean who would check for such details?
7.She refused to listen to us, said that there was no way that we could prove that we were not responsible for it and made a non negotiable claim on us. She said irrespective of anything any damage done in customer’s presence has to be covered by the customer. However there was nothing in writing to this affect at all that we signed.
8.Further she claimed that given it was not there when the room was handed to us, apart from us no one else could have done it. She had nothing to substantiate her allegation on us apart from the above.
9.We argued to a certain extent but had to pay and leave as we had a train to board in 30 minutes.
10.A lesson for all those looking to hire B&B’s - Please check the smallest details of the room being handed over to you. Get a written terms and conditions or a signed document stating the conditions in which the room is being handed to you so as not to land in situations like the above.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hemalshah17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana W, Owner at Haisthorpe House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Oh dear – and after two lovely reviews from guests staying during the period Leigh was managing the guest house in my absence! I have no doubt the situation described above in great detail was handled in a professional manner by Leigh as she has had over 10 years experience in the hospitality trade managing her own guest house in the area.

Haisthorpe House is a guest house offering bed and breakfast accommodation. It is not a hotel, although we do pride ourselves on our levels of cleanliness, customer service, value for money, etc... Unfortunately there have been a few occasions over the years when rooms have been left in a poor condition, through either accidental or deliberate damage, by departing guests.

When this happens it is standard policy to charge the guest for the damage caused and it is not something we do lightly, however, guest houses do not have the overheads a larger hotel has and, if the guest is only being charged around £75 per night for bed and breakfast, it should not come as a surprise if they are then expected to pay for the damage they have inflicted. This is clearly stated on the registration form which is signed by every guest on arrival.

On this occasion the damage was quite extensive and the £50 charged to replace the toilet seat, repaint the door and shelf did not cover the actual cost to repair them. In fact, on closer inspection we found further stains to other areas of the room and an insurance claim has now been put forward.

We do not wish for this one off situation to deter any potential guests from coming to stay with us at Haisthorpe House. We work hard to ensure guests have a comfortable and enjoyable stay with us and have many returning guests, for which we are very grateful.

We welcome and appreciate the positive reviews written about the guest house here on Trip Advisor and realise that we sometimes have to take the rough with the smooth. However, Trip Advisor also gives some the opportunity to write exaggerated, and quite often, untrue accounts of their stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Stayed here last week for two nights, an excellent guest house close to the centre of Windermere. Tremendous breakfast, very clean and reasonably priced. Very friendly, would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I would also recommend The Elleray nearby, an excellent pub that serves superb food at a very good p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoddardPN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We travelled to Lake District at the end of July 2013, we arrived at Haisthorpe house to be greeted by Lee, who was the manager in the absence of the owner, she was very welcoming, our room was the superior double room, very spacious, a large bed, sofa, all facilities were excellent e.g tea/coffee bathrobes and toiletries. The Jacuzzi bath with overhead shower was excellent, as was the view from the room, very peaceful. I cannot fault the room at all. The breakfast was very well prepared with a varied choice. Parking facilities were also good at the back of the house, we always had a parking spot available. I have added photos of the room on this site. The house is a short walking distance to Windermere town and Bowness. I would recommend Orrest Head Viewpoint and Millerground Lake in Windermere, Aira Force waterfalls and Ullswater Lake (great for boating). I would also recommend Grasmere Village. Look forward to visiting again in the near future.

Room Tip: Book the Superior Double Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunny1333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Excellent clean, cosy and well run B and B. In a quiet location near Windermere shops with easy access to Bus and Train if you do not have a car.
Owner Diane very friendly and helpful with information for places to visit..
Breakfast was lovely. plenty of choice and served by Karen who was also very friendly and efficient.
Thoroughly enjoyed my stay and would recommend Haisthorpe to anyone who wants to visit the Lake District.

Room Tip: .Had room 5 at the top of the house. Room also had a sofa and was spacious and had a good dual aspec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EssexDaisyBenfleet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.4 mi away
Rosemount
Rosemount
#24 of 107 in Windermere
285 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Willowsmere
The Willowsmere
#8 of 107 in Windermere
404 reviews
0.3 mi away
Glencree
Glencree
#60 of 107 in Windermere
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,414 reviews
4.0 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
500 reviews
0.3 mi away
All Seasons
All Seasons
#67 of 107 in Windermere
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haisthorpe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haisthorpe House

Address: Haisthorpe Holly Road, Windermere LA23 2AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range: £67 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Haisthorpe House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Haisthorpe House is situated in a secluded yet central area of Windermere in the English Lake District. It is only a few minutes walk from the village centre, local restaurants and the picturesque Lake Windermere. The Guest House is an ideal base for touring and walking holidays or for simply taking in the beautiful Cumbrian scenery.We offer a warm and friendly welcome. A relaxed atmosphere awaits you at the guest house where a high standard of hospitality and cleanliness is provided to ensure your stay at Haisthorpe House is an enjoyable and memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Haisthorpe House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haisthorpe House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing