We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcoming hotel”
Review of Grey Walls Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grey Walls Hotel
Ranked #94 of 107 Windermere B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We have stayed at this hotel a few times and will keep on returning. The hotel is in a really good location, close to the train station and a short walk from Bowness. The pub first of all is brilliant and has plentiful ales, ciders and all sorts even Iron Brew on tap. The pub is really spacious and comfortable and dog and family friendly. There is an outdoor seating area with lamps as well. The hotel rooms are large and very clean and well cared for with great views.

The staff are great they are professional and helpful, so down to earth and will do anything for you. We felt really welcome by everyone and this is obviously a very popular place.

We will definitely be returning to The Grey Walls was an excellent stay can't wait to come back.

Thanks to all the staff

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katenorthwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

131 - 137 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014

Staff were lovely, food was good when it eventually arrived but sat half hour waiting for breakfast after ordered, Room wasn't brilliant- blinds off or hanging, no where to hang anything. No shelf in the shower to put things on.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed here for a wedding we attended in Windermere we couldn't get in to any other hotel and this offered a cheap price. We arrived in the main lounge/bar which were abit misleading but didn't cause a problem. The room were massive and very nice the only problem I found is that the views were lovely but when I opened the window to see the views the window wouldn't close, however this didn't cause us a problem and we just got on with things. We had breakfast in the morning which were included in the price of 49 pounds each and set us up for the day. We had a good time but didn't spend much time in the hotel its self

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jade t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Spacious room, friendly staff, good service. offers a generous cooked breakfast. Chris behind the bar was particularly helpful. Would stay there again. Tariff for a last minute walk in was reduced to 70 pounds. Accommodation in this area is quite steep.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Once again We payed the Grey Walls a visit
We had a fantastic five day stay (originally 3 day) There are big changes starting with new furniture and patio heaters in the beer garden and the fabulous new menu We ate there every night we didn't need to go elsewhere the menu is exciting to choose from the food is superb What more do you want ? Its clean friendly the atmosphere is great and so is the new menu

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dilili_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Went in for a meal with my husband after overhearing the landlady saying how good the new menu was. I ordered chicken and my husband had fish and chips. After a while the landlady came out to tell us that they had run out of chips and we could have mash or curly fries, neither of which were an appetising thought. When we got our food not only did it look poor quality it tasted dreadful. The chicken was tasteless and dry and the fish was like something out of a budget frozen food shop. We come to Windermere 5 or 6 tines a year but we will never eat here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank sj j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We loved it there. The staff was wonderful, the breakfasts delicious, and it was so convenient to everything. I would love to go back and spend more time there. We ate dinner there one of the two nights and had their large steak special, and it was perfect (and so were the chips).

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UK13traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.0 mi away
All Seasons
All Seasons
#67 of 107 in Windermere
113 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lakes Lodge
Lakes Lodge
#98 of 107 in Windermere
119 reviews
0.6 mi away
Glencree
Glencree
#61 of 107 in Windermere
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Archway Guesthouse
The Archway Guesthouse
#5 of 107 in Windermere
365 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crompton House
Crompton House
#52 of 107 in Windermere
271 reviews
0.3 mi away
Green Gables Guest House
Green Gables Guest House
#60 of 107 in Windermere
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grey Walls Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grey Walls Hotel

Address: Elleray Road, Windermere LA23 1AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range: £53 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Grey Walls Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grey Walls offers quality guest accommodation in the heart of the English Lake District. An ideal place to lay your head after a day's walking in the hills, relax with a drink or enjoy a hearty meal in the Greys Inn traditional pub. We have 9 ensuite rooms, individually designed, including Double, Twin, Triple & Single. Our room rates include complimentary breakfast. All our rooms are serviced daily and include: Shower, Tea and Coffee tray, TV. Room rates start from £35pppn. Great for those arriving by train or wishing to explore the surrounding areas, 2 minute walk from Windermere rail station, 15 minute walk to the lake and plenty of other walks and activities within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grey Walls Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grey Walls Hotel Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing