We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value B & B”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Beckside Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Windermere
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Beckside Cottage
Ranked #83 of 109 Windermere B&B and Inns
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Excellent value B & B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

Stayed here 3 nights, room was clean and comfortable and actually quite sizeable. Breakfast was excellent, and they had quite a choice although some have to be ordered the previous day. I had an omelette one day and it was perfect.
Jenny was very friendly and helpful, but we didn't meet Andy.
As the title says "Excellent value" - we will definitely stay again and we would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
16
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

Our room was very comfortable, bathroom was lovely, exceptionally clean, breakfast was good. Jenny and Andy were very friendly. Good location, very quiet, would definitely recommend. Only thing I would have liked was some music in the dining room but that is a personal thing.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

Stayed here for two nights in Oct 2012, can't fault anything. Only couple of mins drive from lake. Spotless, good size room, great people and amazing breakfast. Will definitely stay again and highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJ30-AC28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

It is affordable, but 'worth to stay' B&B. When I couldn't find many reviews about it at first, I didn't really think their photos are 100 percent 'true'. But after I found a lot of good reviews, I look forward to stay in this B&B. Jenny was really kind and the room is clean and cozy. Even though it is small, the whole house was quiet and nice. And our family love to have breakfast every morning. Well prepared English breakfast, especially fresh and sweet fruits and various options for cereals, juice etc. It was really pleasant experience for my family.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kintore, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

Really good B & B that was exceptionally clean and lovely breakfast.Andy and Jenny ever so friendly and even supplied fresh milk in room both days Bathroom had lovely bath with great supply of soap and shampoos

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duns, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

Dead handy for the Rail station, being just under 10mins away on foot. Never met Andy but Jenny is lovely. She just cant do enough for you. We intimated that we were looking for local walks and asked if she knew any. By the time we had returned from going out for our dinner she had a wee book full of local walks ready for us on our return. We used it and returned it the following day. Theres a lovely friendly atmosphere at the Beckside. We had room 1 which has a lovely outlook overlooking the meandering beck "stream".
The only downside for me, and it is purely personal, is that I prefer music at a low volume or a radio or something on whilst I eat in the morning. I cant stand the sound of other people eating. But like I said, thats me. The breakfast is great though. My wife is vegetarian and there was a fair choice for her, whilst I had the full Cumbrian which really sets you up for the day. All in all a good experience which I hope to repeat again soon. Rooms are spotless too, and the bathroom fittings all looked nearly new.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

great place to stay and good location.very clean throughout. . Although our room was smaller than some B&B we have stayed in, it was adequate with plenty of storage and had all the services you require. Good supplies in bathroom. Bathroom was big and had bath as well as shower. Jenny was very friendly without being overpowering like some establishments. Fantastic breakfasts. Will stay again when next in area. Excellent parking facilities or space on the road.Thank you.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yorkshireladdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.0 mi away
1 Park Road
1 Park Road
#36 of 109 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
1.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Windermere Suites
Windermere Suites
#21 of 109 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
4.0 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
2.8 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#9 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beckside Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beckside Cottage

Property: Beckside Cottage
Address: 4 Park Road, Windermere LA23 2AW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 109 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Beckside Cottage Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing