We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ask for Steve”
Review of Lakes Supertours

Lakes Supertours
Ranked #10 of 12 Tours in Windermere
Attraction details
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
168 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Ask for Steve”
Reviewed 23 June 2013

A full day tour of the Lake Country was beautiful. The morning part took us to Beatrix Potter's family's country home (castle) and to her own charming home and gardens. We were a little surprised here to learn that we had to shell out another 8 1/2 pounds each for admission, after paying for the tour. Our tour guide for this morning portion of our day was not terribly forthcoming with information, despite his affirmation that he was "a people person." Our guide for the afternoon, as we switched buses, was Steve, one of the best, most informative guides we've ever encountered. The man clearly loves history and has a store of insightful stories and background information. He took us to a circle that predates Stonehenge, a slate quarry, Wordsworth's Dove Cottage, and more. He made history and local customs come alive with anecdotes and insights that were SO informative. What a pleasure. Oh, and dress warmly: it's late June, and it's windy and freezing!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank LoufromBoca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    13
    2
    0
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
444 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 381 helpful votes
“From Mountains to Lakes to Sea.”
Reviewed 12 June 2013

A full day out with almost 8 hours of sightseeing and travelling (with a castle and a steam train ride to boot).

The scenery was great and the minibus was fairly comfortable.

Our driver “Roger” was friendly, very professional and his commentary kept us fully informed of both the sights and the history of each area we passed through.

There were ample bathroom stops and heaps of photo opportunities.

When starting off Roger gave us a quick run-down on what we would be covering during the day, advised us to “sing out” if anyone was feeling car sick or needed a quick stop, and generally set the relaxed tone for the day.

As I have a bad leg, he was always on hand to assist me getting into and out of the bus.

Toward the end of the tour he congratulated all passengers (6 in total) on being back at the bus at the suggested time at each stop (which helped him to keep to a reasonably flexible timetable) and created a little spare time which enabled an unscheduled diversion to view another lake/area toward the end of the tour.

Good value and great service - most enjoyable!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank jjumpstart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cainta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“truly professionals”
Reviewed 11 May 2013

They still continued the tour inspire of just having two of us (me and my husband )who showed up for high mountain tours.its breath taking experienced and were able to see the snow drifts as high as 11ft.I highly recommend them.great guide and money well spent.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ellen30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Windermere”
Reviewed 2 November 2012

It was a good way to tour the lakeside villages without having to drive and was reasonably priced. Even the inclement weather did not spoil the experience

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Full Day Out”
Reviewed 20 October 2012

Very good day out, saves having to drive round those very tight and narrow roads in your own car, Mark was a very informative tour guide, his local knowledge was second to none, any questions we asked he answered, well worth the money, plenty of good view points to take photographs along the way.

Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lakes Supertours also viewed

Windermere, Lake District
 
Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Lakes Supertours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing