We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Evening Meal”

The Dining Room at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Ranked #35 of 76 Restaurants in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$32
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Greenford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Fantastic Evening Meal”
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We eat at the hotel for two nights and and food and service was absolutely fantastic. You are given the menu in the lounge area and served canapes whilst you wait. In total you are given 5 courses.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SandraShakira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    22
    10
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
North Lancashire
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A Little Gem!! Consistently Good!”
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Lindeth Howe has been one of my favourite venues for a lunchtime jaunt with friends for the past few years. The unhurried, leisurely but chilled out ambience of relaxing with an aperitif on the super comfy sofas prior to tasty locally sourced dishes is a winner. The dining room having recently undergone a complete refurbishment looks a treat and a window table looking out over the surrounding gardens and Lakeland hills even in winter is stunning. Friend had soup of the day and I sampled the grilled warm goats cheese, followed by braised beef shoulder [ very tasty]. A dessert of sticky toffee pudding for Marty beckoned whilst I enjoyed a rhubarb parfait with honeycomb crumble and coulis. To finish off our delicious lunch we lounged for an hour or more in one of the sitting rooms with a pot of coffee and home made truffles. By this time there were numerous other guests enjoying champagne afternnon teas.
Super service..Staff always friendly and keen to please! Value for money!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A thoroughly excellent lunch”
Reviewed 17 October 2012

From being welcomed at the door to retrieving our coats our experience last Sunday lunch time was most pleasant.
Sitting on the comfortable sofas' by the fire for drinks and choosing what to eat was most relaxing. All four of us really enjoyed our meals.
We thought Lindeth How deserved to have more folk enjoying the food and ambiance.
I am sure we will return next time we are in the Lakes.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jammy67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Lovely venue, but poor value for money”
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We visited Lindeth Howe one evening on a long weekend break to the lake district, staying in Bowness. Our friends had recommended this restaurant in the hotel and spa.
It is certainly a charming setting, and the staff did an excellent job of welcoming us and seating us in the lounge to choose from the menu. When our starters were ready, they called us through to the restaurant.
The food was good, but really didn't justify the prices charged. For three courses and a bottle of wine we left with a bill of well over £100 for the two of us. I really don't mind paying that much for a meal, but if I do, I expect something distinctive. This wasn't.
The menu is structured in a very confusing fashion, with two table d'hôte options (one being a tasting menu), but with the a la carte alongside apparently with the option to swap items into the table d'hôte. I cannot say that I really understood how it was supposed to work, and that probably contributed to my feeling of being overcharged.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SouthernPacific
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Another fantastic Lakes Hotel!”
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Loving the Lakes, we are lucky to have visited quite a few of the wonderful hotels in the area, this being one of them! We had a wonderful stay here (a while ago now - only just discovered tripadvisor!) The hotel is beautiful, we had a lovely room, ate wonderful food, had excellent service and the area/views are amazing - 5* - Highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again! - Thank you

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank l1clk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Dining Room at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel also viewed

Windermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to The Dining Room at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing