We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lynwood Guest House
Ranked #80 of 108 Windermere B&B and Inns
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A gem”
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We got this B&B from the internet, as an emergency alternative to the one we walked out of in Bowness. What a find. And it was cheaper!
Frances welcomed us warmly, and even moved her car along so we could park by the back door as it was raining and dark. She took us through the house from the back, and showed us the Windermere Room on the first floor. It was delightful; clean, with good quality bed linen, and comfortable beds (1 single & 1 double) a lovely bathroom with nice touches - hand wash, hand and body lotion, and shower gel.
Tea and coffee making facilities in the room had generous supplies. Even the cups were bone china.
There were two radiators in the bedroom, both fully adjustable, and there were 3 windows, as the room was on the front corner of the building, so the early morning sunshine was a pleasure to wake up to. The decor was frilly and homely, and spotlessly clean, and we loved it! And I don't recall seeing the list of rules that others have commented on. But they don't sound unreasonable, if they're still there.
Breakfast was served at 8:30, which was a good time, and there were cereals, followed by a full English complete with real cumberland sausage - a hearty start for a day's exploring!
It was only a minute's walk to the main street, where there are lots of cafes and restaurants catering for all tastes.
The service was wonderful and the whole expererience was a delight. It made our 3 day stay a memorable experience.
We would definitely go back, and have no hesitation in recommending it, although if you're not sure about Peter Rabbit, you may find the huge soft toy in the front window a bit strange! Just think of him as a local celebrity.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    10
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
15
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dalton-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

We stayed here for 1 night in July in the Buttermere room. It was nicely done, as was the rest of the house, very homely. The cooked breakfast was good and Frances was very nice and accomodating. It was reasonably priced and a good location, and I would definately go back. If I was being fussy I would say that there was no decaff in the room and the shower could possibly do with being updated, a wet room would be better imo. These are however niggly faults and it was overall a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: There was late availability on a Friday night so if you need something last minute, I would recommen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ste1200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We got very lucky when we found Lynwood Guest House. First, all the other guest houses on the street had no vacancies we found out later and second we found a parking spot right across the street.

Frances was kind enough to show us the room and we took it immediately. It was a cute room, the Buttermere. With a separate shower room and toilet room which we found hilarious. The room had a double bed and a single bed.

We enjoyed sitting on the front patio drinking a couple of beer before bed. The Peter Rabbit decor was quite cute.

Breakfast was wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah6439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

My boyfriend booked this B&B for my birthday weekend, so we could get away, and enjoy the Lakes. Upon arrival, as we were the only guests that night, she offered us the choice of two rooms, and we chose the Coniston suite. Lovely, and compact, and recently decorated with a refurbished shower room. It was very clean, and was perfectly adequate for our 2 night stay.

Breakfast was very nice, and we were asked each evening what type of breakfast we wanted in the morning. Frances could not have been more pleasant or more helpful.

As for other comments about rules - There are some rules posted in the room but none of them unreasonable. We had a plethora of choice in restuarants in both Windermere town, and Bowness, which was a 20 min walk down the road, so there was no reason to have to bring anything into the B&B, as some other guests may have tried.

I had a wonderful weekend and would heartly recommened this place for anyone wanting a quaint, clean and comfortable stay whilst visiting the local area.

I have not rated value, as I was treated to my stay there, and therefore am unaware of its cost.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennifer O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

We visited Windermere for Christmas and stayed at Lynwood for 3 nights.
The rates were quite moderate and surely a value for money.
the rooms were kept reasonably clean and the host was very nice, helpful and Polite..

We were given all we needed and the rooms were quite adequate.
The house in general is full of Painitings and soft toys but then again,.. the girls like it,..

As for the lounge, it's a nice place that seats 4-5 and we spent some good time there in the wet nights...

The breakfast served was good and adequate,.. it's wasn't some Premier inn styled 'East all you can' which is appreciated,.. so that worked very well..

Overall,.. the place is excellent and we would go again..!

Room Tip: In general all rooms are good,.. We had the ones on the 1st floor facing the street which we liked!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foodtravellovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Stayed at Lynwood with a few friends. Each bedroom accomodated 3 people and the B&B rate was charged per person. It was a last minute booking so we had little choice.

B&B is located close to the Windere train station and township. 5-10 minutes walk. Every single house on that street is B&B.

Rooms were clean and comfortable. Bathroom was tiny but clean.
There are quite a lot of rules in the B&B. You can't move the soft toys, you can't bring takeaways etc. The hostess told us the rules upon check in. Printed rules are framed in bedrooms as reminders. Heater was centrally controlled. With the rain, it was cold sometimes but we couldn't turn on the heater!

Breakfast is served at 8am. We find it a bit early during holidays but they don't give you a choice. English breakfast was okay, usual fry ups, cereal, toast etc.

Fran was very friendly. However, we felt a bit uneasy and watched. For that reason, I don't think I'd return to this B&B.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank krnworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bavaria, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2011

I booked this guest house in Feb-2011 at 27 Euros a night, Two people 6 Nights, that is in all 336 Euros. for the 6 nights, I sent a mail about 3 weeks before we left, if every thing was okay, our dates where the 2nd july to 8th july , on the sunday morning after our first night ,she came running after me to inform me she she does not do not do a night with B-B for 27 Euro, Funny why after four months, she had all that time, her excuse was she could not remember, i also had the mails in my computer, okay i got ripped off what can you do. this goes even further on wednesday the 6th of july we came back, after a long day out, we went to a local chip and fish shop, when we came back it was pouring down with rain, and i mean pouring down, we where going to eat our meal in the breakfest lounge, she came running out shouting not in my house, it stinks and throuth us out in the pouring rain , okay our money was good enouth, what i find funny the english breakfest stinks after all that fry up, i,am just telling the truth, i would not shove any out side in the rain. NEVER AGAIN:

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank john110955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.0 mi away
Glen Wynne
Glen Wynne
#73 of 108 in Windermere
44 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rockside Guest House
Rockside Guest House
#12 of 108 in Windermere
336 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rayrigg Villa Guest House
Rayrigg Villa Guest House
#90 of 108 in Windermere
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Westbury House
Westbury House
#66 of 108 in Windermere
43 reviews
0.1 mi away
Meadfoot Guest House
Meadfoot Guest House
#43 of 108 in Windermere
151 reviews
0.0 mi away
Green Gables Guest House
Green Gables Guest House
#62 of 108 in Windermere
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lynwood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lynwood Guest House

Property: Lynwood Guest House
Address: Broad Street, Windermere LA23 2AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Hotel Class:4 star — Lynwood Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Lynwood Guest House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing