We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lynwood Guest House
Ranked #88 of 107 Windermere B&B and Inns
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Stay”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We had a wonderful stay at this B & B. Really homely, very clean and extremely comfortable beds. The location was ideal as just a minute walk from the centre of the village where there were plenty of restaurants and shops. Breakfast was at 8.30 and we were offered a choice of cereals, orange juice, tea/coffee followed by a delicious full english breakfast which set us up perfectly for our day in the lakes. Fran, the owner of the B & B was extremely helpful with advising us on trips and the best places to go. Would highly recommend this lovely little B & B and look forward to coming back to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vicki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    10
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
15
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
High hesleden
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

A late booking for the new year left little choice of places , but after reading such good revievs felt we couldn't go wrong. Room dated but clean a d comfortable but massive let down with breakfast. Set time 8.30' , a little flexibility would have been nice. Fresh orange cheap, no choice of breakfast just brought to table and cheap ??? Butter in pot for toast. Have stayed in much better B and B in windemere for ame price.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Repeat visit having previously stayed in 2012 happy to confirm still top class. You could not want more from a bed and breakfast, great breakfast, lovely comfortable room, free Wifi and owners that make you feel very welcome. If you are staying in the Windermere area look no further this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valletta, Malta
Level 4 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We had an excellent stay in this five room guesthouse in the hearth of Windermere, very clean and comfortable. Frances the host is very helpful for making the most of our holiday and I definitely recommend this Guest House

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank venera malteser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

Feeling a little distraught after going into other B&Bs this place was a gem. After checking out the room, it was all decided. The decor was adorable. The beds were comfortable and clean. Wifi was available. We had our own bathroom. It really was delightful and just what we needed after driving all day.

Room Tip: View the room prior to make sure it suits your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stacia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Comfortable well furnished room providing a good nights sleep.All facilities available in-room including free WI-FI.We arrived on a cold wet evening but our room (the coniston) was lovely and warm and welcoming. The breakfast was superb,really setting us up for the day.

If you are looking for accommodation in Windermere this is highly recommended.

p.s. Take time to look at all the model transport in the dining room.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank allen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We got this B&B from the internet, as an emergency alternative to the one we walked out of in Bowness. What a find. And it was cheaper!
Frances welcomed us warmly, and even moved her car along so we could park by the back door as it was raining and dark. She took us through the house from the back, and showed us the Windermere Room on the first floor. It was delightful; clean, with good quality bed linen, and comfortable beds (1 single & 1 double) a lovely bathroom with nice touches - hand wash, hand and body lotion, and shower gel.
Tea and coffee making facilities in the room had generous supplies. Even the cups were bone china.
There were two radiators in the bedroom, both fully adjustable, and there were 3 windows, as the room was on the front corner of the building, so the early morning sunshine was a pleasure to wake up to. The decor was frilly and homely, and spotlessly clean, and we loved it! And I don't recall seeing the list of rules that others have commented on. But they don't sound unreasonable, if they're still there.
Breakfast was served at 8:30, which was a good time, and there were cereals, followed by a full English complete with real cumberland sausage - a hearty start for a day's exploring!
It was only a minute's walk to the main street, where there are lots of cafes and restaurants catering for all tastes.
The service was wonderful and the whole expererience was a delight. It made our 3 day stay a memorable experience.
We would definitely go back, and have no hesitation in recommending it, although if you're not sure about Peter Rabbit, you may find the huge soft toy in the front window a bit strange! Just think of him as a local celebrity.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Ashleigh House
Ashleigh House
#64 of 107 in Windermere
105 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rockside Guest House
Rockside Guest House
#11 of 107 in Windermere
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Autumn Leaves Guest House
Autumn Leaves Guest House
#16 of 107 in Windermere
376 reviews
0.0 mi away
Green Gables Guest House
Green Gables Guest House
#62 of 107 in Windermere
144 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cambridge House Guest House
Cambridge House Guest House
#14 of 107 in Windermere
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lynwood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lynwood Guest House

Property: Lynwood Guest House
Address: Broad Street, Windermere LA23 2AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Hotel Class:4 star — Lynwood Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Lynwood Guest House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing