We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Windermere Manor Hotel
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel in a good location.

Walked into bowness which took around 25 min.

Room lovely and spacious with great view over the Lake (room 10)

Didn't make use of the restaurant on the night but the English breakfast was really nice.

Made use of the pool which unfortunately was a let down. Very tired with peeling paint and very poor "changing rooms". Sauna was a good bonus though.

All in all a lovely hotel which I wouldn't hesitate to return to!!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank mctobe11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (592)
There are newer reviews for Windermere Manor Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

389 - 395 of 592 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

Just back from a long weekend in this hotel. We have stayed here before and are aware that it is a Vision Hotel. We stayed in the cottages and they were very suitable for our needs as our friends took their labrador with us. The hotel has a small pool which was much appreciated as we enjoyed a swim before breakfast. Breakfast was served to us at the table, including cereal etc. which is in this day and age normally self service from a buffet, Iappreciate that being a vision hotel this must be easier for some guests, but it would have been nice to have a choice of serving ourselves.

Most of the staff were very friendly and did their best to make our stay a pleasant one, although we felt that the waiter during breakfast and dinner was far too familiar with everyone and too much in your face. I think a case of less is more from him is required. The girls serving meals were spot on, and had the pitch just right.

The food at breakfast for the first few days was not very good, but when we asked for our food to be cooked differently it was much better. The evening meals were not good though and most of us left our meals on each night. The roasts were cheap cuts of meat and the potatoes always hard, Perhaps we need to book just B & B next time. Come on Windermere you are letting yourselves and your seeing customers down, just a few tweaks and it could be so much better.

Room Tip: Stayed in the cottages and the hotel, both just as good
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham-Jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We booked this hotel because of the price that was on offer. We are not visually impaired. The room was very clean and tidy, bed was comfy, nice tea, coffee, hot chocolate and biscuits in the room.
Breakfast was waiter service and very nice it was to, plenty of choice. All staff extremely friendly.
Nice grounds and view of the Lake. The hotel is old and some parts are well loved but this just adds character to the place.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brendapat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Truly night and day from our visit 2 years ago! Family room was positively palatial with 2 adults and 3 kids. Facilities on site, esp pool, were great. Very accommodating and the staff were superb! Cheers Ben & Co. And all 42, + any new babies, of us will be back 2016! Kevin & family

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank notovictoriahotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We stayed here for a couple of nights and were not disappointed, our room (no 29) was at the top of the hotel and had a good view of the lake. Ok the hotel could do with a makeover but that is part of its charm, the breakfast was very good with the porridge the best that I had ever tasted, the evening meal whilst not expensive was a bit disappointing and unadventurous but the wine was good value. The pool area was in need of upgrading but along with the sauna was a bonus.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank BuzbySkipton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Just stayed at this amazing hotel, great surroundings, great rooms, great facilities, great food but above all EVERY member of staff we met were amazing. Will absolutely be returning very soon. Thank you all so much.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karima A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

wonderful hotel great for the lakes great staff nice meals great breakfast I am a diabetic and this is the first hotel that has provided a sharps bin wonder ful.the pool was available at most times of the day nice!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Collin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
4.5 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
435 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
1,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Windermere Hotel
The Windermere Hotel
#20 of 20 in Windermere
781 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windermere Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windermere Manor Hotel

Address: Rayrigg Road | Rayrigg Road, Windermere LA23 1EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Price Range: £94 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Windermere Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in three acres of beautiful landscaped gardens and just 10 minute walk from the shores of Lake Windermere, this Victorian country retreat boast some of the most spectacular views across the Lake to the Langdale Pikes and mountains beyond. Enjoy either a relaxing break or active holiday in this English National Park whether you wish to do water sports, hike on some of the most beautiful mountains in England or go shopping in Keswick or Kendal, the Lake District has it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Windermere Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windermere Manor Hotel Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing