We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beech House Guest House
Ranked #72 of 107 Windermere B&B and Inns
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very Nice!!!”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Stayed in a family room for 2 nights, which was very nice. The room was well equipped and ideal for children, with Tea making facilities and TV in room. Breakfast was excellent and a great choice. Maureen and Lewis were very friendly and helpful. Will definitely stay here again when visiting the lake district.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    14
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
12
18
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2013

My father and I have recently stayed at Beech house, we were greeted by the lovely Maureen and Lewis on the morning of our arrival, we were offered tea and toast (homemade bread, best bread I've ever had) before we set off for the day (they did not have to do this at all!). We have had a lovely stay, and breakfast was gorgeous everyday. Maureen was ever so lovely and helpful, when I told her I lost my phone on the bus, she was phoning around helping me to find it and offered to go to the bus station to collect the phone for me, so that I can go and enjoy my day! The room was very nice and clean, everything was fantastic. I would definitely come back again!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Qi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2013

The rooms are small & squashy with the loos a bit too small.

To top it all Mr. Lewis on a suggestion on coming down a little late for breakfast , may be 30 minutes adviced me to walk down 2 miles for a nearby breakfast joint.

To beat it all when i adviced that i had allready paid for breakfast hence no reason for me to eat out , Mr. Lewis shows me the door and asks me to leave twice .

I guess Mr. Lewis needs a lesson in handling his guests while Maureen with little interaction seemed pleasent enough.

Breakfast was nice as well.

Room Tip: Dont take a room in front of the house as these are very tiny
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rave d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

One of the nicest B&Bs we have stayed in .
From the moment we arrived ( early check in ) we were given drinks and biscuits to have in the front garden , which is lovely .
Maureen the Lady of the house could not have been more helpful.
The Breakfast was excellent , the rooms very cosy , fresh milk for your Bedroom Tea ,nothing too much trouble
Excellent place to stay

Room Tip: Room 2 although twin beds is fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BONES12345Liverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Mrs Maureen and Mr Lewis were so friendly and hospitable! We felt like we were their grandchildren) Woderful breakfasts!

It's value for money
Near to Wandermere station
Near to the Lake
Quiet
Warm
Clean
Cozy

If you plan to walk a lot, it's a perfect place! Much Better than snobbish 5 star hotels!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Femmes R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bedfordshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

The beech house was booked for us by a family member as a Birthday/Christmas present and it was perfect. Maureen was extremely welcoming and able to advise us of some of the best places to go as we were only there for two days. the room was clean, comfortable and most importantly warm (the lakes are cold in march!) Breakfast was AMAZING, the ingredients were obviously all good quality and there was a very good selection to choose from. We would definitely recommend the Beech House to anyone who wants a comfortable and friendly stay in the Lakes.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Estelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We arrived with our children for a relaxing couple of nights away to a lovely warm welcome from the owner of The Beech House, Maureen. We had booked 2 nights in the family room and ok it wasn't The Lowry but as soon as our boys saw the room they both had big smiles on their faces. The room was clean, cosy and warm with one double bed in the middle of the room and 2 single beds to the side. Both of the children's beds had little teddies on them, these little touches you probably wouldn't get in a large chain hotel! The room itself had everything we needed, tea, coffee, towels, hair dryer, en-suite, tv, toys for our 2 year old, free Internet access for our 9 year old. The decor of the Guest House was clean and chintzy it reminded me of going to stay at your Grans house. To me it was was very homily and welcoming and it made me feel very relaxed....this is coming from a very fussy person who has had the pleasure of The Lowry also! Moving onto breakfast... 1 word WOW, such a great choice & everything freshly prepared by Maureen and her husband. Full English/Special Breakfast, fresh fruit and yoghurt, cereals, tea/coffee, fresh orange, home made toast, the list was endless and it satisfied our family until late afternoon! Maureen was extremely helpful to all guests giving directions, train/bus times her local knowledge was fantastic. All in all we enjoyed our stay at The Beech House and would recommend to a family if your looking for value for money and the location is close to Bowness & Ambleside. We hope to visit again in the future!

Room Tip: If you have kids the family room is great but be prepared to climb the stairs to the top of the hous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dgal187062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
Broadlands Guest House
Broadlands Guest House
#21 of 107 in Windermere
163 reviews
0.1 mi away
Green Gables Guest House
Green Gables Guest House
#62 of 107 in Windermere
144 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cambridge House Guest House
Cambridge House Guest House
#14 of 107 in Windermere
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Archway Guesthouse
The Archway Guesthouse
#5 of 107 in Windermere
340 reviews
0.3 mi away
All Seasons
All Seasons
#65 of 107 in Windermere
110 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rockside Guest House
Rockside Guest House
#11 of 107 in Windermere
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beech House Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beech House Guest House

Property: Beech House Guest House
Address: 11 Woodland Road, Windermere LA23 2AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Beech House Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Beech House Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beech House Guest House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing