We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't fault it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Greenriggs Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #91 of 108 Windermere B&B and Inns
Leeds UK
Level Contributor
130 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Can't fault it”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We were only able to stay for one night and found Greenriggs to be adequate for our needs and good vale for Windermere. The beds were very comfortable and the breakfast was fine. We would have happily stayed longer had we been able to.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterLeedsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    14
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We stayed two nights at Greenriggs and Joe was a really helpful host. On our second night, some of the other guests were making an unfair amount of noise for such a late hour, however we phoned Joe who dealt with the problem quickly which we were grateful for. The bedroom was modest but a tea tray, television and wi-fi were provided. The bed was comfortable enough and room was clean. Breakfast was served quickly and was enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marmalade_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

We spent 2 nights at this friendly and comfortable B&B, and loved every minute of it. Great location, private parking, super clean room with shower, yummy breakfast made to order, and very quiet but central location. Would love to stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trickysnake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

This bed and breakfast is not the most spacious but if it's cleanliness, comfort and a warm welcome you want at an affordable price, then it's certainly worth a visit. The host, Joe, greeted us warmly and was happy to help with general enquiries such as how to walk into town without getting lost! The town is just a few streets away but the B and B is located in a quiet residential area and so the hustle and bustle can easily be left behind in the evening. Breakfast is served from 8:15am and comprises of fruit juice, a choice of several cereals followed by a good sized English breakfast with toast, selection of jams and tea or coffee. Both Joe and the lady who served us at breakfast made us feel very welcome and our baby granddaughter revelled in the positive attention.Towels are provided but remember your own extras should as shower gel or soap (yes I forgot these). Tea and coffee making facilities are available and generously stocked but remember your own biscuits. If you are prepared to give and take a little then you should find this a very pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindyB1735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicester uk
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2012

2 adults plus a 7 year old and a 3 year old needed to stay in Windermere for the weekend. Many B&B there will not take children but we found this. It's located in a quiet cul-de-sac, walking/buggy distance to the centre though, and very near a large park with playground.

Warm welcome, parking often available and good advice on how to park when restrictions are in place. We had a spotless family room (2) with a double and a bunk bed. Quiet, warm, good en-suite shower and helpful family running it.

Nice breakfasts and lots of flexibility for fussy eaters, a basic sort of stay but just the ticket if you don't want breakable ornaments and expensive wallpaper. We will use it again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with IKnowUK

Helpful?
Thank amcinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

We stayed two nights (family of three) at Greenriggs. It is an excellent location just a couple of blocks to the town centre and 15-minute stroll to the lake. The weather was atrocious while we there with storms and flooding closing roads but the accommodation was pretty comfortable. The only criticism really was the room size, which was cramped for three, and a lack of storage space - no wardrobe. That said the beds were comfortable and the room clean and quiet. The standard B&B breakfasts were very tasty. Fine for a night or two but perhaps a bit claustrophobic if you were staying in the area longer. Windermere is beautiful even when it was as wet as when we stayed....

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smallg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

This lovely B & B is perfect for a no frills stay in Windermere. The owner is very hospitable and gives his own personal touch.. He cooked us a lovely full English breakfast with cereals, toast and drinks, all included in the very modest price- We had a triple room for 2 of us (due to availability) and paid £64 for the night. The rooms are nice, well kept and the shower was very powerful! Towels, tea and coffee and TC with Freeview in the room- perfect for a rainy day in the Lake District! Free parking and WiFi available too. WOW.. I cannot fault this B&B, highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank outandabout84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.8 mi away
Windermere Manor Hotel
Windermere Manor Hotel
#16 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
1.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
0.2 mi away
Windermere Suites
Windermere Suites
#24 of 108 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
4.1 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.5 mi away
Glencree
Glencree
#58 of 108 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenriggs Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenriggs Bed & Breakfast

Property: Greenriggs Bed & Breakfast
Address: 8 Upper Oak Street, Windermere LA23 2LB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greenriggs is a traditional lakeland terraced house quietly situated on a level walk just a few minutes walk from the centre of Windermere village. Children's play area and park nearby. Seven letting bedrooms to choose from, singles doubles, twin, triple and family x 4 room. Most rooms en-suite. Free parking and wi-fi. On-line booking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Greenriggs Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenriggs Bed & Breakfast Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing