We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and fantastic breakfasts”
Review of The Elleray

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Elleray
Ranked #80 of 107 Windermere B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 November 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights in November. We booked the Kingsize room which was nicely decorated with a very comfortable bed and all the usual facilities TV, kettle and bath on suite. The breakfasts were superb ranging from a full English to kippers and a vegetarian option. The Elleray is also a pub selling local beers and has been transformed from the very dowdy local pub to its current status as an excellent B&B in a prime position just down from Windermere train station. It is easy striking distance of Windermere it's self and would provide an excellent base for walkers and holiday makers alike. All in all a lovely 3 days with friendly service and THOSE breakfasts!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StefanoBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2012

I stayed here for a week in August for business. I found the staff to be very friendly & welcoming, the food to be lovely & in big portions and the location could not be faulted. Only slight downside is the lack of car parking, but for a central Windermere location, what else can you expect? Would stay again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Siobhan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We have had several meals in the Elleray and always been impressed. Their £5 lunch served Mon-Sat until 3pm is a bargin with serval homemade options. It is also very child friendly and even has a box of toys for the children to play with.
I will certainly keep returning.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flowerface80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012 via mobile

Group of 8 - even split of adults and kids and there was something on the menu for everyone. Decent vegetarian selection too. It wasn't fancy but the food was good and the portions heaped. Home cooked gammon was wonderful - would definitely recommend

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank duck_or_grouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Stayed here last weekend with my 6 yr old son and my partner and my parents, had a family room and a double, both we're great! Found the owner and staff very friendly, breakfast was amazing all three mornings!!! Also had two evening meals which were also amazing, service great and fast!! Good wine too! Location was good, took about 30 mins to walk to lake Windermere, or £5 in a taxi! Can't find fault with the elleray! Thanks for having us! X

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vickyd1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Stayed for a week in a cottage round the corner, dined here three times it was so good. Great choice of food, we took starter on first visit and couldn't finish our mains, the portions were so big,although chips a bit dry. We asked if we could take our little dog into the bar after our meal as there was live music on, he was made very welcome, staff even provided a drinking bowl for him. we returned the next day, enjoyed lunch for a fiver.
Dined later in the week and both of us successfully finished both courses it was so good. Good prices and staff very friendly. Menu same in restaurant and bar but dogs not allowed in restaurant. Also very doggy friendly, would recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank FMcD-20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Arrived after 9.00pm was welcomed by a lovely gentleman who showed us to are room when he opened the door we was greeted by a BEUTIFUL clean room, what can I say a lovely soft bed clean sheets a lovely en suite. Will be staying again. Love it well done Elleray. X

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nickynaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
4.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
511 reviews
0 mi away
The Lamplighter
The Lamplighter
#19 of 20 in Windermere
321 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Windermere Hotel
The Windermere Hotel
#20 of 20 in Windermere
818 reviews
0 mi away
All Seasons
All Seasons
#66 of 107 in Windermere
113 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Howbeck
The Howbeck
#29 of 107 in Windermere
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elleray? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elleray

Address: 2-6 Cross Street, Windermere LA23 1AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range: £70 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Elleray 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your The Elleray reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Elleray Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing