We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Elleray

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Elleray
Ranked #93 of 109 Windermere B&B and Inns
Ruislip, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place to stay.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in mid-February, We checked in late at about 10pm ish and there was no problem. The staff were fantastic as was the breakfast! The rooms were ideal as a base to explore from and the bar area was welcoming and had some great live music.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simon_jones3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    28
    15
    5
    10
See reviews for
20
42
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at the start of this month - we had my parents, my husbands parents with us so we occupied all three rooms. The owners of this hotel are so friendly and welcoming and couldn't have been more helpful. The pub is lovely and such a warm place and was the perfect way to relax in front of the fire. The food was amazing - we had dinner one night which we all enjoyed and the breakfasts, well it was out of this world! Absolutley brilliant!

Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Steinmetz2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2012

We stayed for a night in between two days walking and would recommend this hotel. Really close to the station and the tourist information office that meant we could easily get information on walks and leave our bags before catching train home. We didn't eat at the hotel but did enjoy a glass of wine in front on the roaring fire. Breakfasts really lovely. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Our double room was quite small but fine and comfortable for one night
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2012

We had 2 meals here and both times it was lovely. The first time we had a sharing platter and it was delicous. The meals are great value as they give you big portitions and come with nice sides.Saff all friendly and the location is great. The restaurant is well decorated.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorrie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
60 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights in November. We booked the Kingsize room which was nicely decorated with a very comfortable bed and all the usual facilities TV, kettle and bath on suite. The breakfasts were superb ranging from a full English to kippers and a vegetarian option. The Elleray is also a pub selling local beers and has been transformed from the very dowdy local pub to its current status as an excellent B&B in a prime position just down from Windermere train station. It is easy striking distance of Windermere it's self and would provide an excellent base for walkers and holiday makers alike. All in all a lovely 3 days with friendly service and THOSE breakfasts!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StefanoBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windermere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

I stayed here for a week in August for business. I found the staff to be very friendly & welcoming, the food to be lovely & in big portions and the location could not be faulted. Only slight downside is the lack of car parking, but for a central Windermere location, what else can you expect? Would stay again!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siobhan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

We have had several meals in the Elleray and always been impressed. Their £5 lunch served Mon-Sat until 3pm is a bargin with serval homemade options. It is also very child friendly and even has a box of toys for the children to play with.
I will certainly keep returning.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flowerface80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.0 mi away
The Lamplighter
The Lamplighter
#20 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.0 mi away
All Seasons Guest House & All Seasons Rest
0.0 mi away
Southview Guest House
Southview Guest House
#26 of 109 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lakes Lodge
Lakes Lodge
#99 of 109 in Windermere
3.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lingmoor Guest Accommodation
Lingmoor Guest Accommodation
#42 of 109 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grey Walls Hotel
Grey Walls Hotel
#78 of 109 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elleray? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elleray

Property: The Elleray
Address: 2-6 Cross Street, Windermere LA23 1AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 109 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Elleray 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Book Direct Rooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Elleray reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Elleray Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing