We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Elleray
Ranked #81 of 107 Windermere B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

Had a carvery it was good for the money the beef was crumbly and beautiful the veg was ok gravy out of this world? Staff brilliant and nothing was too much to ask for well worth a visit! Glad I tried it

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Bev V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2013

Recently had a romantic week away with my partner at this fantastic B&B.. Room was clean and tidy with everything you need. Staff were friendly and the breakfasts were amazing. Nice little pub downstairs with a spacious beer garden. We ate in the pub and it was first class.
The location is great , as we don't drive and its minutes away from the train station and local bus stops. The only issue I have is that we could not get a signal from the wireless internet they have, so had to venture down into the pub. We were in room 2 so not too sure if internet is obtainable in the other rooms. Overall we had a great stay and will be returning.

Room Tip: No internet in room 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed here bank hol weekend. Really easy to find, plus you get a parking permit godsend in windermere. The staff were friendly and welcoming, £5 lunch menu great lots of choices and big portions too. Room clean but small lovely bed could do with a bit of updating but fine enough. Its 1.5 miles to the lake good crowd on a nite with live music. Nice big breakfast in a lovely restaurant i would defo stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeedsCountryman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Went for Sunday roast and the carvery was only £8 but the quality of the food was poor. The roast beef was chewy, the potatoes and veg were soggy and tasteless. The staff were however helpful and friendly but would have preferred decent food.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank SLeeH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We only had a drink in this excellent bar, the atmosphere was good but the selection of real ales was excellent, you can see why it is CAMRA recommended. The Bar Maid gave advice about each and a little taster to check whether it suited your palate was a nice touch. Shame we only found it on our second night in Winderemere or I could have tried all 5 ales !

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank AndyTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

We came here based on the recommendations on TripAdvisor. Lovely pub - looks like it has been refurbished recently. Was quite empty in the restaurant section, so the atmosphere was a bit quiet. The staff were lovely and very friendly. The food wasn't amazing to be honest, just average pub food (from the reviews I was expecting better than average). I had the chilli and it was okay. Good ales on tap though.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Flare R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Great food and a real Ale pub and you can take your dog in as well !! on Wednesdays steak and a bottle of good wine £25.00 for two what a deal, If you fancy a take away this is the place not to mention that the best fish and chips for a fiver, it beats all the chippy's in town hands down have a pint while you wait in front of the log fire !! fantastic.

Room Tip: I did not stay as I live here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annielass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0 mi away
The Lamplighter
The Lamplighter
#19 of 20 in Windermere
321 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
0.1 mi away
The Windermere Hotel
The Windermere Hotel
#20 of 20 in Windermere
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Orrest Cottage
Orrest Cottage
#47 of 107 in Windermere
239 reviews
0 mi away
All Seasons
All Seasons
#67 of 107 in Windermere
113 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Howbeck
The Howbeck
#29 of 107 in Windermere
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elleray? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elleray

Address: 2-6 Cross Street, Windermere LA23 1AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range: £70 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Elleray 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Elleray reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Elleray Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing