We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“standard”
Review of The Elleray

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Elleray
Ranked #82 of 107 Windermere B&B and Inns
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Good food for what you pay, nice atmosphere, convenient location, quick service.

We ate as lunchtime so ordered from the £5 lunch menu. I had fish and chips, batter very thick and so not cooked properly underneath - unpleasant.

Boyfriend had burger which tasted good, he was very happy!

For the price you can't complain, you get what you pay for!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wolfboy27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2013

I had a few days annual leave left, so fancied the trip up from Essex, having not been to Lake District before. I travelled alone, so pub type B&B was all I required. The double room maybe needs a bit of attention on window frames & wallpaper but, bed was comfy, shower cubicle looked fairly new, tea & coffee making facilities with nice chunky biscuits was good. There was also an iPod docking station/radio which was handy. Room was nice and warm too,

The landlord & bar staff were very friendly & helpful, the bar staffs knowledge of the real ale on tap was very good & they didn't mind advising on which one to choose. The breakfast Cumbrian Full English was great, very tasty. I ate all four nights in the bar area and each meal was top. The Gammon steak is a genuine thick cut, not dry and fills you up. The a Steak & Ale pie was lovely, nice chunks of meat in a nice gravy. The Pan Fried Chicken breasts in Stilton sauce was so good I had it two nights in a row!

There's free on street parking courtesy of the pub permit and you are not constantly harassed by staff, you can come as go as you like, felt very relaxed.

If you want good friendly B&B within a nice pub at a good price then this is it. It's not 5 star 'Ritz' style hotel, it is what it is and does not mislead you. Ideal location for Windermere, Coniston, Ambleside, Kendal, Bowness, Keswick and more.

Would stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stuart R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Chose here as menu looked good and they did battered haddock - many places just do cod. Went for the said fish, which was very nice served with sliced bread and butter and mushy peas, very tasty, however, if susceptible to oily foods probably best to avoid. Partner had sausage - cumberland of course - and mash (no veg served with this though), which was apparenly very nice. Puddings looked nice, but too full to indulge. Large pub, interesting decorations and warm fires.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank SBLB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Fantastic breakfast and very helpful staff especially Reg. The only criticism would be the mattress on the bed is really uncomfortable. We stayed in the large King room. Nice location. Parking is on the street but permit is provided.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

Had a carvery it was good for the money the beef was crumbly and beautiful the veg was ok gravy out of this world? Staff brilliant and nothing was too much to ask for well worth a visit! Glad I tried it

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Bev V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Recently had a romantic week away with my partner at this fantastic B&B.. Room was clean and tidy with everything you need. Staff were friendly and the breakfasts were amazing. Nice little pub downstairs with a spacious beer garden. We ate in the pub and it was first class.
The location is great , as we don't drive and its minutes away from the train station and local bus stops. The only issue I have is that we could not get a signal from the wireless internet they have, so had to venture down into the pub. We were in room 2 so not too sure if internet is obtainable in the other rooms. Overall we had a great stay and will be returning.

Room Tip: No internet in room 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed here bank hol weekend. Really easy to find, plus you get a parking permit godsend in windermere. The staff were friendly and welcoming, £5 lunch menu great lots of choices and big portions too. Room clean but small lovely bed could do with a bit of updating but fine enough. Its 1.5 miles to the lake good crowd on a nite with live music. Nice big breakfast in a lovely restaurant i would defo stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeedsCountryman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.0 mi away
All Seasons
All Seasons
#68 of 107 in Windermere
112 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lingmoor Guest Accommodation
Lingmoor Guest Accommodation
#41 of 107 in Windermere
320 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grey Walls Hotel
Grey Walls Hotel
#93 of 107 in Windermere
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ashleigh House
Ashleigh House
#66 of 107 in Windermere
105 reviews
0.1 mi away
Southview Guest House
Southview Guest House
#31 of 107 in Windermere
431 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rayrigg Villa Guest House
Rayrigg Villa Guest House
#79 of 107 in Windermere
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elleray? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elleray

Address: 2-6 Cross Street, Windermere LA23 1AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range: £71 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Elleray 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Elleray reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Elleray Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing