We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staging hotel for walks along the lake.”
Review of The Elleray

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Elleray
Ranked #95 of 108 Windermere B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Nice staging hotel for walks along the lake.”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The hotel is nicely placed on a hill that allows for a nice stroll down to the lake through the town centres. The rooms are spacious, clean and have massive bathrooms. While spacious it feels also very cosy, warm, and stylish. The bed is very comfortable too.

The staff are very nice and helpful and the food in the restaurant downstairs is very nice too. So nice in fact that we did not even bothered trying the local restaurants.

Definitely would visit again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bram R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    31
    17
    6
    13
See reviews for
22
47
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

me and my partner have just returned from a 2 night stay which we really enjoyed the hotel was faultless, food was great, room was basic but still lovely and cosy only issue damp on wall by window, couldn't have met a friendlier bunch of staff , entertainment and atmosphere was great all in all a great weekend away. will definitely be back :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

To start, it is very well located and easy to get to from the train station, with the town centre within a minutes walk. The room in itself, although you could smell fresh paint, does look a bit new. However it could do with a a small table to keep things on. The mirror in the bathroom is quite high. Drinks a bit pricey as compared to Sheffield bars! Ate at the pub the £5 lunch meal, which was a great value and good fresh taste. Hearty breakfast served attentively and made to order. I think the staff make this place good and he bar was busy with nice live music over Easter weekend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parag T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Had previously visited the restaurant and had a couple of good meals but this time we stayed.
We booked at very last minute and got the very last room.
We were told when booking that this room was the smallest they had and this honesty we appreciated.
The room was clean and had everything required.
2 very small issues were could have done with a small dressing table for my wife and mirror in bathroom a bit high for smaller people.
We arrived and were booked in very quickly and efficiently.
Had a 2 course meal each and quality of food was excellent and service spot on.
Then the surprise of breakfast.
A huge plateful of quality food arrived cooked perfectly and filled us up for the rest of the day !
Talking with the owner there are further plans for the hotel with a refurbished beer garden along with outside bar and pizza oven.
Will hope to go back in summer again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulgwyorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

Big portions of food we both had lasagne's with garlic bread and chips the lasagnes were very cheesy but they were nice we both had a starter and main course for £30 which is about average for the area,there was a nice old chap working in the restaurant very friendly and attentive we would visit again if in the area

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Kcrackers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

We visited twice, on the first night of our stay we popped in for a pint and thought it nice looking bar and decided to call back for food the following evening. I wish we hadn't!

I ordered the Wilton and vegetable crumble and my partner had the steak and kidney pudding with mash. The vegetarian food was awful, the 'vegetable crumble' was just microwaved veg in gloopy cheese sauce, dumped on a plate with some iceberg lettuce and some coleslaw. It looked like vomit on a plate! My other halfs was slightly better, but the mash was heavy and dry. For £26 with beer we felt pretty hard done by, especially as the pleasant surroundings had raised our hopes!

Decent customer service could have saved the situation but that too was way below par! The barman walked past our table several times (we were one of three groups in so it wasn't a busy night) and had obviously seen that I wasn't enjoying my meal but didn't ever ask if things were ok. Eventually he sent the younger staff member to clear the table who did ask if everything had been ok as he picked up my plate of untouched 'crumble'. When I said that I was disappointed and that it wasn't really fair to describe it as a Stilton crumble he just shrugged and said he didn't know as he'd never tried it. There was no apology, no visit from the senior staff member or anyone from the kitchen and then to insult to injury he smirked at the other staff member as he left.

I've had better service and food in a weatherspoons! We are in Windermere for 5 nights and will be taking our money elsewhere for the rest of the week!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank altichick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Windermere hotels

liverpool uk
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We stayed at the Elleray for a two day break. Very friendly staff. Nothing was to much trouble. Room was lovely tea coffee making facilities. Would highly recommend this hotel. Food was lovely good choice of menu

Room Tip: First floor room 1 lovely room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmynjune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.0 mi away
All Seasons Guest House & All Seasons Rest
0.0 mi away
Lingmoor Guest Accommodation
Lingmoor Guest Accommodation
#42 of 108 in Windermere
314 reviews
0.1 mi away
Southview Guest House
Southview Guest House
#29 of 108 in Windermere
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lakes Lodge
Lakes Lodge
#96 of 108 in Windermere
107 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grey Walls Hotel
Grey Walls Hotel
#91 of 108 in Windermere
228 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ashleigh House
Ashleigh House
#66 of 108 in Windermere
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elleray? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elleray

Property: The Elleray
Address: 2-6 Cross Street, Windermere LA23 1AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Elleray 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Elleray reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Elleray Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing