We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skiptory Howe Lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
White Cross Bay Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2013

If you are looking for a luxurious and homely lodge then this is the place for you!!
Found this on www.whitecrossbaylodges.com

Lodge Owners Karen and Neil were great from start to finish making sure that all our needs were met, was extremely well maintained and furnished. Great value for money!!

We will 100% be back to this lodge again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Louis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,354)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,153 - 1,159 of 1,354 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2013

I have stayed at White Cross Bay about 5 times now over the last 5 years. It's in a prime location, only a few miles from Bowness and Ambleside, a few hundred yards from the Kirkstone Pass, and right on Windermere. So excellent location without doubt. But I think the site is starting to look a bit tired now. Some of the woodwork is looking old and in need of repair/replacement, there are tiles cracked around the pool. On the subject of the pool, it's got a very high chlorine level that stings your eyes. Our caravan was a bit dated looking, and although I appreciate it was for pet owners, smelt very strongly of dogs and cost us a few bob on air fresheners. One big difference this year was the number of lodges and caravans for sale - hundreds! I mean every other one is up for sale. Maybe that's why it looks a little unloved at present. It is very expensive to buy on site, and the monthly outgoings massive, so I can understand why so many are for sale. Bar ok, food ok, little pricey, kids play area good. Location biggest asset by far!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kennethfoulkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouthLakelandParks, Manager at White Cross Bay Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Thank you for your review and your comments. We welcome all constructive feedback and we appreciate you taking the time to write your review.

White Cross Bay is a 4 star holiday park in a superb and central location of the Lake District. We constantly strive to keep our holiday park to the highest of standards and of course, we make improvements all season to keep the park looking at it's best. All of your comments have been noted and the Management Team are aware of the points that you have raised.

As you have stayed with us many times before, you are aware of our high standards and we sincerely hope that you keep coming back to us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Just returned from a week stay, park is nice, where our lodge was located very quiet. Maybe the bar area could do with a bit of updating but overall good choice. Although peak weeks not overly noisy like other parks.

Lodge was very well equipped, rented privately, trout beck 10, excellent communication and dealings with the owner of the lodge, thanks mark.

Buses very expensive, caught bus outside the park to Ambleside, £12.60 return for 2 adults. A must visit is Dodds restaurant in Ambleside, although you need to arrive early as it gets very busy.

Restaurant on site was nice, good food, we booked as reception said we needed to, although there were only 5 tables being used whilst we were dining, so don't quite understand why the need to book.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MKM948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We have stayed in hotels in Ambleside for over 25 years. On this Occasion we decide to book a log cabin at Whitecross bay, and was not disappointed. Lovely location, The boat house bar was not for us, to noisy and just seems to be a place were parents just want to have a drink and the children can just run around inside and out, food was O.K , they ran out of Guinness and some beer when we were there, and it was going to take a week to get it back on ( why so long) the bar staff are very miserable and not helpful at all. Don't let this comment put you off, it just was not for us. We go on holiday to spent time with our grandchildren not for them to run around and disturb people.
If you are looking for a cabin at white cross bay then please consider Badger hollow this cabin is a little gem it has ever thing you would want and more. Quiet location, very clean,Beds are very comfortable. Ensuit has Wet room shower, and there is also lovely bathroom, white towels, nice and soft. Added touch of toiletries left in your room for you to use. Kitchen has ever thing you would want, large fridge freezer. oven, hot plate, microwave, Owner had left coffee, tea, milk, sugar, biscuits, the cabin is very clean. The owners have thought of ever thing you would need to make your stay enjoyable. Games, D.V.D. Books, and even sound system, loved the candles out side. The lodge is in a quiet location, We went with our 2 Grandsons and we all loved the lodge, and hot tub would defiantly book again, and recommend this lodge.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank martello16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

This was our second trip to White Cross Bay, the first being in December '12 between Christmas & New Year. We were so impressed the first time that we couldn't wait to book again for the summer - and we weren't disappointed!
We opted to stay at the same cabin (Esk Pike) because we have 2 dogs and the decking goes all the way around the outside of the cabin and is secure - so perfect for our canine friends!

The addition of an outdoor hot tub was an added bonus this time, it is at the side of the cabin and is partially covered by a gazebo (great idea for when the weather isn't fantastic) but is also surrounded by trees & woodland so there is a feel that you could well be in the middle of nowhere - when in actual fact, you have neighbours on both sides!

The cabin itself is homely and well looked after, however there are a couple of things that could perhaps do with udating eg the bedding is quite bobbly & worn and the fridge doesn't keep things especially cold - but that said, this didn't affect our stay at all.

We ventured out to different parts of the Lakes every day and found that we could always come across somewhere new and beautiful to walk within an hour of the park which was perfect.
We were quite lucky with the weather and were able to have a BBQ most nights (BBQ is already in situe) and also have the chimanea lit so we were sat outside until 10pm without feeling the cold.

Already looking forward to booking another break at the park next summer!

Room Tip: We stayed at Esk Pike, I think it was Skiptory Howe 9? Not as modern as some of the other lodges, ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

My partner, two children, parents-in-law and pet dog stayed at White Cross Bay for a week at the beginning of August..

We had opted for a 'White Cross Superior 3 Caravan' booked through Hoseasons.

When we arrived, slightly earlier than the stated check-in time of 4pm, we were welcomed by a very friendly receptionist who informed us that our caravan was in fact ready and we were checked-in straight away.

The caravan was clean, had three bedrooms, a large living/dining room, shower, two toilets (much to our delight!),was surprisingly spacious and contained all the essential utensils needed for our stay.

The site was lovely, very well kept, spotlessly clean and tidy with plenty of facilities to keep everyone happy - a shop, take-away, bar which served bar meals, restaurant, arcade (all reasonably priced for families), swimming pool, gym, outdoor children's play area, multi sports court, launderette etc.

They also allow dogs on the site, which was one of the reasons we chose White Cross Bay for our holiday. Although they aren't permitted inside the reception/bar areas - perhaps it might be worth considering creating a designated area inside the bar where dogs would be allowed as it is not possible to enjoy a drink in the bar during bad weather because you are prohibited from leaving your dog unattended in the caravan!

I was also rather dismayed at the lack of dog waste bins around the site in general.

I used the launderette on two occasions, and discovered that only one of the two washing machines was working during the week we were there.

We decided against driving whilst on holiday, opting instead to use the local buses to get around. There was a bus stop located just outside the main park entrance if you wanted to travel towards Ambleside, however if you wanted to travel towards Windermere the nearest bus stop was quite a distance to walk.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at White Cross Bay and would definitely consider returning in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HelsDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouthLakelandParks, Manager at White Cross Bay Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and we are pleased to read that overall, you enjoyed your stay with us. Your constructive comments have been noted and passed onto the Management Team at White Cross Bay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to White Cross Bay in the near future and remember, if you book directly with South Lakeland Holidays, as a loyal and repeat visitor, you are entitled to a loyalty discount. Just remember to mention you have stayed with us before at the point of booking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

Booked a fantastic lodge - Twa Dogs - on the basis of Tripadvisor reviews that I'll review separately. This review is for the park only.

Arrived late afternoon after a 4 hour drive with 3 kids and stood at reception to be ignored for a couple of minutes by 2 staff who weren't serving anyone or on the phone - bad manners are not acceptable.

When served were to give £30 barrier key deposit but discovered no cash machine on site so I walked to the lodge whilst boyfriend drove off to find cash machine.

Park is very clean but far too many lodges and caravans overlooking each other, so felt like you never had privacy. Was at Centreparcs last year and although this was slightly cheaper there was a big difference in service, pool, play areas and layout of cabins

Play parks were very basic and kids quickly got bored. Pool quite small with LOTS of rules on a big board. Only lasted 30 minutes before we left it.

Beautiful location next to Windermere, but as receptionist hadn't bothered giving us a site map, and lodges are signposted but not the lake, it took some wandering to find our way.

Won't come back here.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carronwebster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
1.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.6 mi away
The Lamplighter
The Lamplighter
#18 of 20 in Windermere
329 reviews
1.1 mi away
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
#12 of 20 in Windermere
1,869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,449 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
1.6 mi away
The Windermere Hotel
The Windermere Hotel
#20 of 20 in Windermere
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Cross Bay Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Cross Bay Holiday Park

Address: Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1LF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Windermere
Hotel Class:5 star — White Cross Bay Holiday Park 5*
Number of rooms: 455
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the shores of Lake Windermere in one of the most idyllic and scenic locations in the very heart of the Lake District. White Cross Bay is set within picturesque woodland, and with red deer and rabbits as local residents, a break here is sure to take you back to nature. There’s something for everyone, whether you’re looking for a quiet break or active escape. Enjoy the indoor pool, gym, spa pool, sauna and steam room to feel totally rejuvenated. For the more adventurous there’s an abundance of local walking tracks with stunning views of the Lake District or try the Treetop trek in Brockhole National Park. White Cross Bay is located between Ambleside and Windermere so there is a wide variety of pubs, cafes, restaurants. Popular eateries in the local area are Pedros, The Flying Pig, The Drunken Duck, The Albert, Zefferellis and The Wild Boar that has a very special reputation locally and nationally for its quality of food and drink experience and White Cross Bay even have their own marina on Lake Windermere with boat launching facilities – a walk along the boardwalk to see the boats and ducks is a must! The perfect way to finish your day is with a homemade meal and drink in the restaurant and bar on site. Why not take advantage of our holiday childcare facility for children aged 2 - 8yrs, and enjoy a few hours to yourself? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your White Cross Bay Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Cross Bay Leisure Park & Marina Hotel Windermere
White Cross Bay Leisure Park And Marina
White Cross Bay Holiday Park Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing