We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Windermere
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
White Cross Bay Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Uttoxeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Second stay here this year,Very clean lodge and camp.All the staff are brilliant,food and drink on site is good(and the gentleman on keyboard and guitar good(think he was called Rodger).In my opion one of the best campsites in the uk.

Room Tip: All Acamodation is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouthLakelandParks, General Manager at White Cross Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our park. It is nice to read that you have stayed with us before and you enjoyed your return visit! I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our summer fun entertainment programme and I will ensure that your kind words about our staff are passed on to them as we do strive to provide a high level of customer service and maintain our grounds and facilities to a high standard, it is very rewarding to have the acknowledgement for the hard work our staff put in to this. We look forward to seeing you very soon, don’t hesitate to contact one of our Holiday sales advisors on 015394 43937 to book your next holiday with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    597
    354
    144
    66
    51
See reviews for
768
225
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We visited White Cross Bay for one week at the end of July and stayed in a log cabin, which we found to be very well equipped, comfortable and clean with a lovely view.
On arrivial check in was very efficient and swift, with a friendly welcome to the park.
The facilities in the park were of a good standard, very good swimming pool and spa. We ate in the bar on a couple of occasions and found the food of a good standard and reasonably priced as were the drinks.

The lifeguard was a bit too authorative and liked her job a little too much.

But we had a very enjoyable time and would recommend this park.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eastcote071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouthLakelandParks, General Manager at White Cross Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our park. I am pleased to read that your lodge met with your expectations. We are very lucky to be situated in the heart of the Lake District and on the shore of Lake Windermere. Thank you for your kind words about the staff, I will ensure that they are passed on to them as we do strive to provide a high level of customer service and maintain a high standard of our grounds and facilities and it is nice to have the acknowledgement of the hard work our staff put in to this. Thank you for your honest review and I will ensure the comments about the lifeguard are forwarded to this department. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2014

we've just come back from a fantastic family holiday, ours was a last minute booking, we literally turned up looking for a lodge as where we were originally booked was unsuitable. We were met by Gavin who was extremely helpful, We were soon booked into a private rented lodge with a lake view!! We were looked after by Gavin on a few occasions, and always found him to be helpful and pleasant,as a whole all of the staff were.
the lodge was well presented, clean and suitably furnished.
the site itself is impeccable. With grounds and property always clean and tidy.
Activities are aplenty, with something everyday from water sports, spy school and family tennis/football tournaments.one of our highlights was the "movie under the stars" a large inflatable screening of Greece at the foot of the lake, sitting on hay bales and blankets.
We ate two meals in the onsite restaurant, which we found to be reasonably priced and delicious :)
The park itself is situated near (10/15 min walk) one of the best attractions in the area for family's young and old brockhole visitor centre, from here you can enjoy parks, gardens tree top adventures and local boat trips etc.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouthLakelandParks, General Manager at White Cross Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for such a wonderful review. It is so great to read that you and all your family enjoyed your holiday here at White Cross Bay. I am pleased that your accommodation was everything you expected and more! It is nice to read that you loved our summer fun entertainment programme and the Movie under the Stars which has been warmly received by many. Thank you for your comments regarding our complex and your kind words about Gavin I will be sure to pass them on to him. Once again thank you for your kind words and we look forward to you returning to our park again soon, don’t hesitate to contact Gavin or one of our Holiday sales advisors on 015394 43937 to book your next holiday with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Great place to stay :) ollie the bar tender, what a guy.... very helpful and always new exactly what we wanted. The staff in general were very helpful . Roger lee the resident entertainer new all the classics and surprised me with his knowledge of the new stuff... can't wait for next year

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouthLakelandParks, General Manager at White Cross Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our park. It is nice to read that you enjoyed our summer fun entertainment programme and I will ensure that your kind words about this and Ollie are passed on to them. We look forward to seeing you very soon, don’t hesitate to contact one of our Holiday sales advisors on 015394 43937 to book your next holiday with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Facilities at this site are absolutely perfect .. Overlooking Windermere lake and a very short distance from the heart of Bowness..

Staff extremely helpful and site kept immaculate ..

Highly recommended for a peaceful, relaxing family holiday..

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Darrenmm68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouthLakelandParks, General Manager at White Cross Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our park. We are very lucky to be situated in the heart of the Lake District, close to the local towns and attractions, and on the shore of Lake Windermere. Thank you for your kind words about the staff, I will ensure that they are passed on to them as we do strive to provide a high level of customer service and maintain a high standard of our grounds and facilities and it is nice to have the acknowledgement of the hard work our staff put in to this. We look forward to seeing you very soon, don’t hesitate to contact one of our Holiday sales advisors on 015394 43937 to book your next holiday with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We have just come back from white cross bay and will be booking to return right away, set in a beautiful location and the staff are fantastic, everyone works really hard, a special mention to Gav, Dan and Olly who made us very welcome and gave our holiday that special touch,most friendly people I have ever met. The lodge we stayed in was emaculate and the food was amazing, see you soon white cross bay.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krisandkatericks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouthLakelandParks, General Manager at White Cross Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our park. We are very lucky to be situated in the heart of the Lake District. It is great to read that your lodge exceeded your expectations and our dining facilities were suitable for your family use. Thank you for your kind words about various members of staff, I will ensure that they are passed on to them as we do strive to provide a high level of customer service and it is nice to have the acknowledgement. We look forward to seeing you very soon, don’t hesitate to contact one of our Holiday sales advisors on 015394 43937 to book your next holiday with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

After 16 years with a boat on Windermere, our best year has been this as we have moved our boat to White Cross Bay Marina - we have been delighted with all the staff in Reception and around the Park, they are all really helpful , friendly and cannot do enough for you. We would not have been here if it was not for Ian (Marina) who mentioned all the facilities available if we moved here. We decided to give it a go, and.we have not been disappointed - we were here for the first film/Mama Mia - which was brilliant. We love the cleanliness of the park. The facilities for children - our grandchildren came for the first time and loved it. The park is really peaceful despite the number of people who are here. The Park is well managed, and we have noticed a management presence around ensuring standards are maintained. The activities provided kept our grandchildren entertained, and were excellent and we will use them again. the staff poolside were helpful and friendly. The breakfasts are excellent value for money and nicely presented. We have still to try the restaurant. Overall a lovely place to unwind, and the views are spectacular from the picnic area, adjoining the marina.

Room Tip: The whole site is well maintained, lovely grounds, excellent shore side picnic area, and trees, so s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dobiedurham2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,332 reviews
4.6 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Windermere Manor Hotel
Windermere Manor Hotel
#16 of 20 in Windermere
580 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Cross Bay Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Cross Bay Holiday Park

Property: White Cross Bay Holiday Park
Address: Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1LF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Windermere
Hotel Class:5 star — White Cross Bay Holiday Park 5*
Number of rooms: 455
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the shores of Lake Windermere in one of the most idyllic and scenic locations in the very heart of the Lake District. White Cross Bay is set within picturesque woodland, and with red deer and rabbits as local residents, a break here is sure to take you back to nature. There’s something for everyone, whether you’re looking for a quiet break or active escape. Enjoy the indoor pool, gym, spa pool, sauna and steam room to feel totally rejuvenated. For the more adventurous there’s an abundance of local walking tracks with stunning views of the Lake District or try the Treetop trek in Brockhole National Park. White Cross Bay is located between Ambleside and Windermere so there is a wide variety of pubs, cafes, restaurants. Popular eateries in the local area are Pedros, The Flying Pig, The Drunken Duck, The Albert, Zefferellis and The Wild Boar that has a very special reputation locally and nationally for its quality of food and drink experience and White Cross Bay even have their own marina on Lake Windermere with boat launching facilities – a walk along the boardwalk to see the boats and ducks is a must! The perfect way to finish your day is with a homemade meal and drink in the restaurant and bar on site. Why not take advantage of our holiday childcare facility for children aged 2 - 8yrs, and enjoy a few hours to yourself? Simply call the park to book on a session. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
White Cross Bay Leisure Park And Marina
White Cross Bay Leisure Park & Marina Hotel Windermere
White Cross Bay Holiday Park Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing