We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family trip” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of College House

College House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
College House
Ranked #75 of 111 Windermere B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Family trip”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

I booked three rooms in this b&b for two couples and a single. The rooms were ok but the rooms in the attic area had terrible small bathrooms that really need updating. The breakfast was great and we also had the whole place to ourselves for the two nights we were there. Peking was at a premium and as we had a larger vehicle accessing the parking at the back of the house was an adventure and test of driving skills.
This b&b is in Windermere itself and a good 40 minute walk to the touristy attractions in Bowness. So be prepared to drive or walk a lot. Overall this was an ok spot to stay and we would probably use it again, but only if we have a vehicle to get us to things.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    5
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
5
14
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

We were very comfortable during our stay at College House in Windermere. The location is good and our room was clean and the bathroom ensuite with tub shower. TV, hairdryer, and electric kettle were amenities. Doreen and Frank were helpful with dining suggestions. Breakfasts were full English Breakfasts well prepared by Doreen. Parking is available but very tight. Would stay there again

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suellen2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

The welcome was warm and the breakfast very good. Breakfast at 8.30 (no leeway!) We had to climb up to an attic room that was really cramped with sloping roofs which were ideally positioned to bang your head on...which we did. And the view was the rear yard. The little furnishings there was room for were too old and worn. Wash basin was within the bedroom but the shower and toilet were a converted cupboard so you had to leave the toilet room to go back into the bedroom to wash your hands. Alas, we cannot say it was value or money

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Braveass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

Cosy and warm Guest house perfect location for our week end in Lake District. The room we had was nicely decorated,with TV, Hairdrier, and Kattle with teas and coffees. The bathroom was a bit tiny but clean and sufficient for our needs. The bed was very confy, I didn't sleep so well in ages.
Doreen, the lovely owner, will serve you a lovely Full English Breakfast and you can also have Continental breakfast with teas, coffees, cereals, toasted bread and a selection of jams.
I'll definetely go back there on my next trip to Windermere.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claudia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

Very good welcoming wen we arrived, we were shown to our lovely cozy room, bathroom was small but clean. plenty of information Leaflets if needed, Doreen seemed very happy to help. Breakfast was lovely and very filling. The location was ideal, Very good value for money. we enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to family or friends. Definatly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

Booked this B&B with confidence after reading the reviews here & I'm glad to stay we weren't disappointed. Our room made for a lovely home from home with everything we needed to feel very comfortable. Breakfast was delicious & enough to mean we didn't really feel the need for lunch! Doreen is a great host & made us feel very welcome, she really helped us to get the most out of our trip by giving helpful suggestions of routes or places to see/eat, which was fab - less time looking through the leaflets!

The location is also worth a mention, minutes from the train station & main bus stop while also seconds from the main shopping street where there is plenty of choice for dinner. We would also recommend the Elleray or the Lighthouse for some lovely food. Hope you enjoy your stay, we certainly did!

Room Tip: We had the twin room, no.2
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

The couple who run College House are very friendly and welcoming, when we arrived we were shown to our room and given a quick tour of the house before being left to settle in. The room was comfortable, it had a large, cosy bed, TV/DVD player, hairdryer, toiletries, tea and coffee etc the little touches which make your stay that little bit more convenient. The bathroom was small but well kept and clean which is more important to me personally. The room also had a stash of leaflets and guides to help you plan what you want to do on your trip, if you want any more info Doreen and Frank know a great deal about the surrounding area and seem happy to help.

The next morning we went down for breakfast which really was the icing on the cake. Doreen is an amazing cook and everything tasted so fresh, she also cooks it while you're there so it's still hot and you know it hasn't been sat out for ages.

If you're off to Windermere and you want to stay somewhere homely that is also value for money I cannot recommend College House enough.

Room Tip: The largest room on the top floor is apparently the best and definitely very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RachaelBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Ashleigh House
Ashleigh House
#64 of 111 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bonny Brae Guest House
Bonny Brae Guest House
#48 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lingmoor Guest Accommodation
Lingmoor Guest Accommodation
#42 of 111 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.1 mi away
All Seasons Guest House
All Seasons Guest House
#62 of 111 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Elleray
The Elleray
#87 of 111 in Windermere
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to College House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about College House

Property: College House
Address: 15 College Road, Windermere LA23 1BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — College House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your College House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
College House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing