We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accommodation was so good that I didn't want to go out.”
Review of Annesdale House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Annesdale House
Ranked #34 of 108 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Accommodation was so good that I didn't want to go out.”
Reviewed 31 May 2011

This is a lovely bed and breakfast. I stayed in the applethwaite suite for three nights. This suite is more expensive than the other one but benefits from a private lounge area.

The owners Roger and Alena are very pleasant and served us breakfast in the room every morning.

The suite is decorated to a very high spec and the view into the garden is lovely.

It was our first visit to the lakes and found that annesdale house is conveniently located walking distance to all local amenities.

I would definitely recommend this place. The suite is competitively priced for the service and facilities provided.

Thank you Roger and Alena for your hospitality.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B4tman0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnesdaleWindermere, Owner at Annesdale House, responded to this review, 16 June 2011
Thank you for your generous review and we are delighted you have found the Applethwaite suite so comfortable that you were reluctant to go out. Well, our house is very private and quiet and our garden particularly beautiful this time of year. We are not surprised, we find that we don't like going out either. Everything is at hand and when the sun shines, we don't think we could live anywhere better.

Let us hope that you come again soon. You will be always very welcome.

Kind regards,

Alena & Roger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
134
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warwickshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2011

This was our third visit to Annesdale, this time for four nights, and the standard of care and comfort is, as before, supremely high. I believe that I was the first to review this establishment on Trip Advisor, and have visited the site frequently to read other reviews nearly all of which have been unequivocal in their praise for the two apartments, the breakfasts and the owners Alena and Roger. I was therefore very surprised to see that the one poor review, from someone who had not even stayed at Annesdale, had caused a drop in the rankings for Windermere B and Bs from second to eighteen. I have not experienced any difficulty when booking and I am sure that the other people who have actually stayed there have not either, otherwise they would have mentioned it in their reviews. It is a pity that one disgruntled person, who must have misunderstood the situation when trying to make a reservation, should have such an influence when all the others have only good things to say.
I have nothing to add to my previous review and agree completely with the other reviewers, with the one exception mentioned above which in my opinion should be disregarded and removed from the site.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melchisedec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnesdaleWindermere, Owner at Annesdale House, responded to this review, 16 June 2011
We are very grateful for such a positive review and so glad that you still find Annesdale House a comfortable place to stay. Roger and I would particularly like to thank you for commenting on the unfair report we have received in early spring by someone who has not ever stayed here and which has badly distorted our Tripadvisor ratings. We do appreciate your sense of fairness and justice and your attempt to redress the balance.

Thank you for your kind words and looking forward to your 4th visit in not too distant future,

With best wishes to you both,

Alena & Roger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2011

From the warmth of our hostess meeting us at the train station to the charming elegance of our room and furnishings, this was an ideal stay from beginning to end. Our room (the Elleray) opened out to the back garden, very lovely in April. The location made it quite easy to walk everywhere we wanted to go, including restaurants, shopping and the lake tour pier in Bowness-on-Windermere. The full English breakfast (as full as you please) only added to our enjoyment. In short, the best place we stayed in a month in England.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldmangamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnesdaleWindermere, Owner at Annesdale House, responded to this review, 3 June 2011
We were so thrilled to read that you have voted Annesdale House the best place you stayed during your month visit to England. It is a great honour for Roger and I and we thank you very much for coming to stay at our house in the first place, and for such a wonderful review. There are hundreds of BBs in the Lake District to choose from and we were just lucky you came to us and enjoyed your stay. Roger and I have certainly enjoyed having you both here as guests and we hope you will come and visit us again on your next trip to England. Hope we'll keep up the reputation!!
Many thanks for your generosity and we look forward to the next time.

Happy travel and best wishes

Alena & Roger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2011

Our stay at Annesdale House was a sheer joy. Alena and Rodger were wonderful hosts,from the moment we arrived they made us feel so welome.
The bed and breakfast accommodation was really nice,with a fantastic comfortable bed.
We also liked the large modern bathroom,with a bath and large shower.
Must say the breakfasts were great, cooked and served by either Alena or Rodger,with penty of choice.
Thay welome their guests to enjoy their garden, it is so quiet and beautiful.
We were delighted to have found this bed and breakfast,offering it is rather special.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank purdidevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnesdaleWindermere, Owner at Annesdale House, responded to this review, 23 May 2011
So nice to read that you have enjoyed your stay at our home. We are both delighted that you have been satisfied with everything what we aim to provide here. It was so nice to meet you and we hope that you will visit us again. Many, many thanks for all your generous comments, they are greatly appreciated.

Kind regards,

Alena & Roger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2011

We stayed only one night - but wish it could've been longer. Roger and Alena are great hosts. Very friendly couple, without being at all obtrusive. We stayed in the Elleray suite. A gorgeous room with a stunning, luxury, large bathroom. Huge bath, fantastic shower and underfloor heating! Our room was really lovely. Great attention to detail. It was lovely to have a sofa to sit on that looked out onto their absolutely beautiful, mature garden. The french doors open out onto your own private patio area, overlooking the garden....Just magical! Peace and quiet! The breakfast was excellent.Great choices and served in our room. Pity it wasn't nice enough weather to have on the patio.....Real fruit salad. Lovely cooked breakfast too. Jam and butter in serving dishes and everything served on lovely china. What more can I say....... We'll definitely be back! Thank you for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ally60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnesdaleWindermere, Owner at Annesdale House, responded to this review, 19 May 2011
Many thanks for such a wonderful review. We are so pleased that you have enjoyed staying with us and that Annesdale House lived up to your expectations. It has certainly been a great pleasure for Roger and I to look after you. We hope that you will return to stay again before too long (and for a bit longer next time) and tell your friends about us.
Thank you again, we do appreciate your taking the trouble to write.

Sincerely,

Alena & Roger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield England
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2011

We stayed here for three nights between 29th April and 1 May 2011.The bedroom was extremely spacious with TV, music centre, DVD and tea making facilities.
The bed was queen size and extremely comfortable, The bedroom lead onto a pation area overlooking the garden and was south facing. We were able to take in sun after each fell walk., whilst enjoying our cold beers from the fridge in the room
The ensuite was huge, extremely well appointed with a double bath and separate wet area. Fantastic
At breakast I asked for additional food and it was provided.
Roger and Alena are great hosts. I was really glad that the couple for London who indicated that they would book into our room failed to confirm their reservation so that we had the room. Perhaps if they had not renaged on thier booking they would have been able to give a great report instead of the really poor one that they gave--thier loss and our gain

Room Tip: There are only two rooms available, so take your d
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidevanslichfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnesdaleWindermere, Owner at Annesdale House, responded to this review, 9 May 2011
Thank you for your wonderful comments. We were so pleased that you have found Annesdale House such a great and relaxing place to stay. You were also very fortunate with the weather, so it was nice that you have made use of the pateo and the garden.

We are hopeful that you will tell your friends about us and that you will come and stay again. It has been a great pleasure to look after you both. Many thanks.

Alena & Roger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest Row, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 May 2011

We enjoyed staying at Annesdale because it was so friendly clean ,fresh,and as it only lets out two rooms we felt like the only guests.It was dfferent in that our room had a seperate sitting area and its own patio. The room was well equipped with tv.cd/dvd fridge etc.also little touches were nice ,like the fresh flowers,and a choice of having breakfast in your room or patio or in the owners own dining room,which was our choice .The breakfast was cooked to perfection and well presented and served on decent china. We paid a little more than normal for a b/b but it was worth every penny.

Room Tip: very conveniently located
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freebeingot8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnesdaleWindermere, Owner at Annesdale House, responded to this review, 4 May 2011
Roger and I were delighted that you have enjoyed your stay at Annesdale House and thank you for your very generous review. It is so good to have discerning guests who appreciate that the attention to detail matters and that we like to treat people the way we like to be treated ourselves. Only with this attitude in mind we can make our small business venture a real joy.
Thank you for coming and we hope to see you again.

Best wishes to you both,

Alena & Roger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.2 mi away
Southview Guest House
Southview Guest House
#27 of 108 in Windermere
425 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Archway Guesthouse
The Archway Guesthouse
#5 of 108 in Windermere
332 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Hideaway At Windermere
The Hideaway At Windermere
#4 of 108 in Windermere
1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Orrest Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Orrest Cottage Bed & Breakfast
#46 of 108 in Windermere
234 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bonny Brae Guest House
Bonny Brae Guest House
#57 of 108 in Windermere
62 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rockside Guest House
Rockside Guest House
#12 of 108 in Windermere
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Annesdale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Annesdale House

Property: Annesdale House
Address: Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A haven of peace and tranquility in Windermere, 2 beautiful garden suites just moments from the centre of the village and railway station. A perfect base to explore the Lakes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Annesdale House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Annesdale House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing