We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best accomodation we have ever stayed in”
Review of Annesdale House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Annesdale House
Ranked #34 of 107 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We have just spent 3 nights in Annesdale House, and were not dissapointed.From the moment of our arrival we were made very welcome by Alena who showed us to the immaculate Applethwaite Suite.
We were looking for a relaxing weekend and got exactly that .Peace and quiet ,beautiful gardens and the most comfortable bed.
The room was provided with a large selection of coffee and teas , fresh milk in the fridge and the most delicious home baked biscuits.
Breakfast , perfectly prepared and brought to the room at exactly the time requested,what more could you want?
Annesdale House was reccomended to us by friends and we would highly reccomend to anyone else.
Our thanks to Alena and Roger for a lovely weekend .
Jeff and Linda Thomas

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linda t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnesdaleWindermere, Owner at Annesdale House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2011

Dear Mr & Mrs Thomas,
we were delighted to read your generous review and so pleased you have found our house so welcoming and relaxing. We try to provide privacy, peaceful surrounding and personalised service when required and it is nice to know we are achieving our objective.
Please, come again and tell your friends about Annesdale House.

Thank you and best wishes to you both.

Roger & Alena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2011

We stayed in the Applethwaite Suite, having read the reviews on Trip Advisor about how luxurious it is. I have to say it actually exceeded our expectations. Compared with an ordinary B and B, the amount of space we had was just wonderful. The bed was huge and extremely comfortable, the sitting room was large and airy, and we loved the private patio area. The bathroom was high-end spec - underfloor heating, superb shower,LED mirror, enormous towels. The breakfast was excellent and was served in our suite. Roger and Alena are extremely affable, helpful and very laid-back. Our only regret was that we only stayed one night, next time we will definitely stay for longer.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MinnieCooper2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnesdaleWindermere, Owner at Annesdale House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2011

We are grateful for such a generous review after staying with us for such a short time. Roger and I are so pleased you will be visiting us again in the future for longer and we are looking forward to that.
Our house is very private, spacious and quiet. We would like to keep it that way, as this is what we like ourselves when we go away.
Thank you again for coming to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We stayed here for two nights with my family so we had the place to ourselves. The house is beautiful, with lovely gardens (we sat out on the terrace one evening in the sun and had a glass of wine). Both guest rooms are comfortable, spacious and well thought out (e.g underfloor heating). It was nice to have fresh milk in the fridge for teas - some biscuits would have been a nice addition to the tea tray. Breakfasts were truly amazing - great choice and beautifully cooked and presented. The hosts were attentive but left you in peace, a perfect balance for us. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doh100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnesdaleWindermere, Owner at Annesdale House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2011

So kind of you to take the trouble to write and thank you very much for such a positive comments. We have certainly taken notice of your feedback regarding biscuits and I'll set about baking very soon. It is greatly appreciated when we read how we can improve and give even better service.
We hope you will tell your friends about us and we are looking forward to your next family visit.

Thank you and best wishes to you all,

Alena & Roger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

We recently stayed here as part of our celebrations for our 25th wedding anniversary - our first break without our teenagers! I found the details through trip advisor and can only echo all the positive comments. Our hosts Alena and Roger couldn't be more helpful or thoughtful. Alena had put a dozen red roses in the room and a bottle of fizz was already chilled for us! Our room had a lounge, where you can take breakfast if preferred. The house and gardens are beautiful with sunny areas to sit - yes, even the sun came out for us! It is a short walk around the corner to all the amenities of Windermere - we parked the car on arrival and didn't use it again. You can walk to Bowness (1.5 miles), catch a ferry to Ambleside and walk up to the village (1 mile)
Would recommend the walk up Orrest Head - the views are spectacular and the path is just up the road near the Tourist Info place.
Basically, if you are staying in Windermere don't look anywhere else - just hope they are not booked up and you can get one of the two rooms. Thank you Alena and Roger

Room Tip: both of the rooms are beautifull, the smaller one gets a little longer in the sun, but as you can us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EJR1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnesdaleWindermere, Owner at Annesdale House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2011

Thank you for being so appreciative of our efforts here and we are delighted that you have enjoyed your Silver Wedding celebration at Annesdale House. As our house is such an atypical BB we are glad that you felt here like staying with friends. This is exactly what we like to hear. We try to be personal without being intrusive and hope that we are getting this balance right.
Glad to hear that you have found your house still standing after your kids were 'parents free' for the first time. It just shows that you can come and see us again soon.

Thank you again for your wonderful comments and we wish you well.

Roger & Alena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2011

Annesdale House is the most luxurious B&B I have ever stayed at. The breakfast was delicious and I cannot fault it. I was on a trip with my mum and we had a great time. Our room had a living room which was ideal for relaxing in the evening. There was also a lovely patio looking out onto the beautiful garden which unfortunately we didn't get to use due to the terrible weather. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoggyBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnesdaleWindermere, Owner at Annesdale House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2011

We were delighted to read that you have enjoyed yourselves staying at our house. I was only sorry that I could not have spent more time to get to know you, but I am thankful that you were such understanding, cooperative and very helpful guests. It is greatly appreciated.

Roger and I would be delighted to welcome you back any time you plan to visit the Lake District again.
Best wishes to you both and thank you again for a great review of your stay at Annesdale House.

Alena & Roger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

We stayed at Annesdale House in the gorgeous Elleray Suite for 2 nights at the end of May and now at the end of our UK trip can confidently say it was the best B&B that we found. The accommodation is superb - spacious and comfortable with excellent beds, lovely views onto the garden and a private courtyard where breakfast can be taken in nice weather. Although the house is on the main road, the two suites are located at the back of the house and are really quiet. The hosts Alena and Roger were gracious and could not have been more helpful and the breakfast was simply amazing. And don't miss the walk up to Orrest Head (just across the road) for magnificent views across the lake and surrounding countryside.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ittyfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnesdaleWindermere, Owner at Annesdale House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2011

Thank you for such a marvelous review. We can't believe that you found our place the best BB on your travels. That is a truly serious compliment. from such worldly travelers. Well, it is nice to know that we have contributed to your comfort and happiness whilst in the Lake District. Please, do let your friends know about us. It is great to have lovely and interesting people like yourselves to stay with us. Perhaps we'll meet again.

Many thanks and best wishes to you both,

Alena & Roger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

This is a lovely bed and breakfast. I stayed in the applethwaite suite for three nights. This suite is more expensive than the other one but benefits from a private lounge area.

The owners Roger and Alena are very pleasant and served us breakfast in the room every morning.

The suite is decorated to a very high spec and the view into the garden is lovely.

It was our first visit to the lakes and found that annesdale house is conveniently located walking distance to all local amenities.

I would definitely recommend this place. The suite is competitively priced for the service and facilities provided.

Thank you Roger and Alena for your hospitality.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B4tman0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnesdaleWindermere, Owner at Annesdale House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2011

Thank you for your generous review and we are delighted you have found the Applethwaite suite so comfortable that you were reluctant to go out. Well, our house is very private and quiet and our garden particularly beautiful this time of year. We are not surprised, we find that we don't like going out either. Everything is at hand and when the sun shines, we don't think we could live anywhere better.

Let us hope that you come again soon. You will be always very welcome.

Kind regards,

Alena & Roger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Lingmoor Guest Accommodation
Lingmoor Guest Accommodation
#40 of 107 in Windermere
320 reviews
0.1 mi away
Orrest Cottage
Orrest Cottage
#47 of 107 in Windermere
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Rockside Guest House
Rockside Guest House
#11 of 107 in Windermere
360 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Willowsmere
The Willowsmere
#9 of 107 in Windermere
391 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Cottage
The Cottage
#58 of 107 in Windermere
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Annesdale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Annesdale House

Address: Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range: £127 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A haven of peace and tranquility in Windermere, 2 beautiful garden suites just moments from the centre of the village and railway station. A perfect base to explore the Lakes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Annesdale House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Annesdale House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing