We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Romantic Perfect Stay”
Review of Annesdale House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Annesdale House
Ranked #39 of 108 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Romantic Perfect Stay”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

we went to Windermer in search of a romantic place to stay for our Honeymoon and we were not disappointed. Alena and Roger with their friendly and welcoming approach made us feel at home in in this beautiful Bed and Breakfast All the amenities and best restaurants are nearby, the room was spotless, tastefully decorated, with a luxurious bed and the massive bathroom with the underfloor heating was a treat, the large garden is astonishing and after our walks in the lake we spent few sunny afternoons surrounded by magnificent flowers in full bloom. We had delicious breakfast cooked by the owners and lots of interesting conversations about Art and walking in the Lake district. We sincerely thank our hosts for making our stay so comfortable and enjoyable and highly recommend this place as one of the best we ever stayed in.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gianluca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnesdaleWindermere, Owner at Annesdale House, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Dear J&G,
thank you soo much for writing such nice things about us and our house.
However, the biggest surprise was to read that your stay at Annesdale was your Honeymoon! You have kept that a real secret and we had no idea, otherwise we would have made a much 'bigger fuss' of you!. We are delighted and happy for you both as you are such agreat couple already and please, accept our belated but sincere congratulations for a very long and happy future together.

Many thanks for the stunning review and good luck to you both. Until we meet again.....
With best wishes and in gratitude,

Alena & Roger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
131
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Beautiful suite of rooms that were extremely tastefully decorated with quality furnishings. Alena and Roger were interesting, relaxed, genuinely welcoming and made a lovely breakfast. This is one of the best B & B's I have stayed at. Thank you.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnesdaleWindermere, Owner at Annesdale House, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Thank you very much for your review. It was kind of you to comment in such a positive way about your stay here. We love to have people in our home and it is a real pleasure to have such wonderful and easygoing guests as yoursselves. There is nothing nicer than to read that our guests felt well looked after and satisfied with our effots. We find it very inspiring and motivating.
Many thanks and we hope that you will visit us again.

Kind regards,

Alena & Roger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston upon Hull, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Stayed for a week in this beautiful Bed and Breakfast. Perfectly situated in Windermere for restaurants and shops. The rooms were beautifully and tastefully decorated. They were immaculately clean and the bedding and towels were of a very good quality.
Breakfast was delicious and could be served in the suite or the dining room which again was magnificently decorated. Fresh flowers from the beautiful garden were in abundance. The private entrance and patio area made this house even more special and I am sure I will be returning again and again as B and B's this good are hard to find.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roxanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnesdaleWindermere, Owner at Annesdale House, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Thank you so much for such a glowing review. It is really, really kind of you to write such nice things ab out us and we do appreciate every word. Roger and I are very pleased that your week at Annesdale was enjoyable and that you felt at home.
If you ever think of coming to the Lakes again, please come and see us, you were such delightful ladies to look after.
Many thanks and best wishes to you & the family.

Kind regards,

Alena & Roger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Thank you Alena and Rodger for an amazing stay. Room, bed, bathroom and garden were to die for ( i got lots of tips to put into my own home and garden), it was like having your own apartment with the added bonus of a fab breakast made for you. So relaxed, will come again and would recomend to family and friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neil and joan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnesdaleWindermere, Owner at Annesdale House, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
We were delighed to read your kind review and were so glad you have felt so comfortable in our home.Your comments are greatly appreciated and they will inspire us to keep maintaining our standards. Thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to write to TripAdvisor.
We will welcome your friends and framily whenever they wish to come an hope to see you both in no too distant future.
Good Luck and Best wishes,

Alena & Roger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
March, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

This B&B is absolutely beautiful. The room has ensuite and a private patio area. We liked the fact that we had our own private entrance into the room so that we could come and go as we pleased. The room and ensuite were spotless. Alena and Roger were very friendly and welcoming hosts. The breakfast was excellent and it really set us up for a day of exploring the lakes. All the shops, bars and pubs were in walking distance so no need to drive everywhere. The Mountain Goat tour of the ten lakes is well worth booking. We had a wonderful time here it was so quiet and relaxing.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julia c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnesdaleWindermere, Owner at Annesdale House, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Roger and I are very grateful for your review and thank you for taking the time and trouble to write. As a very small operation we notice that the number of reviews is naturally less than in many other BB establishmentsin Windermere and this unfortunately effect our ranking. It is kind of you to rate us so generously and inspire us to maintain our high standards.
Please, do come again - you have made your stay a real pleasure for us .
Many thanks and best wishes,

Alena & Roger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

A wonderful B&B.Hosts Alena and Roger are friendly and very helpful and cook great breakfasts.The bedroom was spotless and the beds very comfortable. The bathroom is to die for as is the garden.I cannot praise this establishment high enough.Stay there and enjoy.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnesdaleWindermere, Owner at Annesdale House, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Thank you for your very generous review of our house and home. Roger and I are naturally delighted and grateful for your comments. We hope you may recommend us to your friends and family and should you ever find yourself in the Lake District, please come and stay with us again.
With many thanks and best wishes,

Alena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
444 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 381 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Not just a B&B, but more like your own private 2 room apartment.

Everything was stylish … service was with a smile … and with our own private entrance and outdoor setting with views over the beautiful gardens we felt like we were miles from anywhere, and left there feeling totally relaxed.

I must mention that we were blessed with good weather, and had a charming Japanese couple (of roughly the same vintage as us) to chat with over (our choice) of a traditional “Full English Breakfast”.

We hope we the opportunity to return. In a word - QUALITY !

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjumpstart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnesdaleWindermere, Owner at Annesdale House, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
We were delighted to read your very kind review. It is greatly appreciated and thank you for your comments. We were particularly flattered to read that you found the house 'stylish' as we feel that one could always go on improving things. I could redesign and refurbish the house and garden every day as it gives me a great pleasure, so I am doing the Lottery and live in hope.......
It was great to have you here, please tell your friends about us and come again when you are heading to the English Lakes.

Many thanks and best wishes

Alena & Roger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
Lingmoor Guest Accommodation
Lingmoor Guest Accommodation
#42 of 108 in Windermere
314 reviews
0.2 mi away
Southview Guest House
Southview Guest House
#29 of 108 in Windermere
416 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Archway Guesthouse
The Archway Guesthouse
#5 of 108 in Windermere
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Elleray
The Elleray
#95 of 108 in Windermere
97 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Hideaway At Windermere
The Hideaway At Windermere
#4 of 108 in Windermere
989 reviews
0.0 mi away
Orrest Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Orrest Cottage Bed & Breakfast
#44 of 108 in Windermere
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Annesdale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Annesdale House

Property: Annesdale House
Address: Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A haven of peace and tranquility in Windermere, 2 beautiful garden suites just moments from the centre of the village and railway station. A perfect base to explore the Lakes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Annesdale House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Annesdale House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing