We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place - an oasis of tranquility in a busy world”
Review of Annesdale House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Annesdale House
Ranked #37 of 108 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
hampshire
Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Beautiful place - an oasis of tranquility in a busy world”
Reviewed 3 October 2010

I stayed here with my husband in August for a few days break from the pressures of work and life in general. It was exactly what we needed - beautiful surroundings -an oasis of calm.
After long days fell walking and exploring it was great to get back to Annesdale, through our own private entrance, close the door and relax. We had stayed previous nights in a hotel but the informality and homliness of Annesdale were just what we needed. A huge deep bath and thick soft towels, a bottle of wine, candles,a real fire and a big comfy bed - what more could you want?
Alana was a welcolming hostess- a lovely lady who made us feel comfortable and her huge breakfasts were a great way to start the day.
The location is close to the train station in Windermere and there are some nice restaurants and bars within walking distance so when we went out in the evening we didnt need to drive again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chadling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnesdaleWindermere, Owner at Annesdale House, responded to this review, 4 October 2010
Roger and I are very pleased that you found our house comfortable and welcoming. This is exactly what we have set out to achieve: comfort and privacy for our guests, as this is what we like when we go away.
Thank you for coming to stay and we hope that you will return.

Best wishes

Alena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
131
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2010

My husband and I stayed here for three nights. Annesdale house is very central to the town and on a bus route down to Lake Windermere.
Alena and Roger are very friendly, relaxed hosts and we enjoyed chatting in the mornings with Alena, over her beautifully cooked breakfasts.
There are two rooms available, we stayed in the Applethwaite suite which had a sitting room leading out to a patio area. It was fresh, modern and tastefully furnished.
The room had a fridge, tv, cd player, tea making facilities and a fire which made the room very cozy.
The bed was VERY comfortable, with good quality linens and the bathroom spotless.
The two rooms have their own separate entrances so it felt as if we were in our own, private apartment.
We will look forward to a return visit and meeting Alena and Roger again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryVLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnesdaleWindermere, Owner at Annesdale House, responded to this review, 19 September 2010
Dear Mary Smith
It was so nice to read your comments on Annesdale House. The pictures are lovely; particularly the one of the breakfast. I suddenly remembered it was summer and we had cherries.... time flies, it is now very autumnal in the Lakes and the colours in the garden and around are differently beatiful.
Thank you and we hope to see you again.

Best wishes


Alena & Roger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 September 2010

We had a wonderful two night stay in the Applethwaite suite; the bed was supremely comfortable and the shower in the ensuite wetroom was one of the best we've ever used! We also loved having breakfast in our room with a great view of the garden.

Roger and Alena were excellent hosts and recommended some lovely walks for us in the surrounding area - even though the weather did it's best to dampen our spirits with a heavy downpour we were happy knowing we'd soon be back in our cosy room for a enjoying a warming cup of tea.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jandg_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnesdaleWindermere, Owner at Annesdale House, responded to this review, 8 September 2010
We appreciate your kind comments about your stay at Annesdale House and are very pleased that you will be visitng us again in the future. Alena and I love our house and it is always a pleasure to share it with nice people who appreciate our hospitality.
Thank you.

Best wishes

Roger & Alena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2010

This is probably the most enjoyable stay we've had anywhere in a long time. Alena made us feel extremely welcome with nothing to much trouble for her. The suite we stayed in was lovely, the bed the best we've ever slept in and the bathroom with it's underfloor heating and wet room shower was lush. The suite had its own patio and private garden in which we chose to have our breakfast served, which was fabulous! All in all VERY good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank d_trewhitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnesdaleWindermere, Owner at Annesdale House, responded to this review, 6 September 2010
We were very grateful for your comments and were so pleased you have found your stay at Annesdale House comfortable. We love looking after nice people who appreciate our hospitality. It makes our job both pleasurable and rewarding.
Roger and i are looking forward to your next stay with us.

Warmly

Roger & Alena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 August 2010

If you are looking for a lovely place to spend time in Windermere you really can not go wrong staying at the Annesdale House. There are 2 rooms, and I stayed in the one with a double door leading out into a wonderfully colorful garden. Roger and Alena were wonderful hosts with a lovely home. From meeting me at the train station to walk me to their house to having breakfast in bed. It was all done with care and kindness.

Room: I highly recommend the room I was in. I came from london and the room and bathroom were bigger than my flat. The tub could hold 3 people and there are were heated floors throughout. The room was clean, decorated tastefully, had all the amenities you would want including DVD and sound system, a bed that was beyond comfortable (spent more time sleeping one day than touring), and a breakfast prepared expertly.

Garden: Just right outside your backdoor. If the weather is nice ask to have breakfast outside. You will enjoy the scenery and the serenity.

Breakfast: All top quality and a good assortment of choices for meat and non-meat eaters. Really appreciated the hot croissants which were a good surprise.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank svintus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnesdaleWindermere, Owner at Annesdale House, responded to this review, 31 August 2010
We were very pleased to have come up to your expectations. We are slowly acquiring a very nice clientele which makes life much more rewarding. It would be lovely to see you again.

Kindest regards

Roger & Alena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
Lingmoor Guest Accommodation
Lingmoor Guest Accommodation
#41 of 108 in Windermere
314 reviews
0.2 mi away
Southview Guest House
Southview Guest House
#27 of 108 in Windermere
419 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Archway Guesthouse
The Archway Guesthouse
#4 of 108 in Windermere
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Elleray
The Elleray
#96 of 108 in Windermere
98 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Hideaway At Windermere
The Hideaway At Windermere
#5 of 108 in Windermere
991 reviews
0.0 mi away
Orrest Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Orrest Cottage Bed & Breakfast
#43 of 108 in Windermere
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Annesdale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Annesdale House

Property: Annesdale House
Address: Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A haven of peace and tranquility in Windermere, 2 beautiful garden suites just moments from the centre of the village and railway station. A perfect base to explore the Lakes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Annesdale House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Annesdale House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing