We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed, welcoming luxury...just want we ordered!”
Review of Annesdale House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Annesdale House
Ranked #33 of 107 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 October 2010

We opted for Annesdale House after deciding on a last minute getaway to the Lakes for the weekend. We arrived late on Friday night and were met by a cheery and warmly welcoming Alena who showed us to our room (Ellary Suite).

The suite was beautiful with a bathroom so big that it could rival some bedrooms in other establishements.

One of the other reasons we chose Annesdale (the first was that they only cater for 4 people max. at a time - ie. No children!!) is because we liked the thought of not having to get up at some un-Godly hour at the weekend to have (a lovely) breakfast as it was served in our room by Alena in our very well-equipped room on both Saturday and Sunday morning.

The beautiful Victorian House is so well-located for the centre of Windermere and everything else, yet you would never know that you were on one of the busiest main roads through the lakes. The rooms are set well back from the road and we had a couple of the most peaceful nights we have had for a long time!

We didn't get the chance to meet Roger but maybe next time.

If you get the chance to stay here...book it. It's definitey NOT your run-of-the-mill overpriced B&B!

Thank you again Alena for a wonderful weekend.
Nadia & Steve.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nadia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 October 2010

Dear Nadia and Steve,
so very kind of you to write such nice things about Annesdale House. We are pleased you had the peace, privacy and comfort you desired. It is lovely once in a while to get away from everything and everyone. We have created Annesdale House with this in mind, as that is what we like ourselves. Nice to know we are achieving our goal.
Hope to see you again,

Best wishes to you both,

Alena & Roger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2010

Having spent three years living in the Lake District, we wanted to find somewhere special to stay to celebrate our anniversary and searched long and hard on the internet to find the perfect place.

From the first reply to my email enquiry it was clear that I had found that special place.

We arrived in Windermere late on Friday night tired and in the pouring rain. We found it hard to find the house and Alena kindly came to meet us at the station.

We stayed in the Applewaithe suite and when we arrived we found a card and bottle of wine from Alena and Roger to celebrate our anniversary, which was such a knid and thoughtful gesture and much appreciated.

Our room was fantastic. We had our own sitting room with comfy sofa, CD player, DVD player, flat screen TV, splendid fire and underfloor heating. We spent a large amount of our time sitting reading on the sofa looking out of the huge windows onto the garden. There was a door leading off the sitting room onto the terrace and the garden beyond. The bed was huge and very comfy. Lots of little touches made the place really special.

We ordered breakfast in our room. When this arrived the next morning it was fantastic, the coffee table was reaaranged into a dining table and the breakfast was beautifully presented. We're not huge eaters in the morning and so just ordered a continental style breakfast, however I'm sure that the cooked breakfast would be of an equally high standard. I ordered fruit and yogurt and kind of expected it to be something simple or tinned, but I was given a fresh fruit salad with blueberries, raspberries, peaches, melon etc .

Alena was so kind and helpful the whole time we were there, checking we were ok or wnated anything, but also giving us our privacy in her house which we really welcomed.
We had such a lovely time and the house is located in a great place for walking around Windermere or travelling to other places in the Lake District.

Were sad that we could not have stayed longer as arriving late on the Friday and leaving Sunday morning as we had other commitments meant that we couldn't enjoy the place for as long as we would have liked.

We will definately be going back to Annesdale House and will be recommending it to all our friends and family.

Thank you for such a lovely time.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spike5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnesdaleWindermere, Owner at Annesdale House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2010

So kind of you to write such nice things about Annesdale House. We are pleased to have contributed in making your return trip to the Lakes enjoyable.
We hope that we will see you again and thank you for recommending Annesdale House to your friends and family.

Kind regards

Roger & Alena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2010

I stayed here with my husband in August for a few days break from the pressures of work and life in general. It was exactly what we needed - beautiful surroundings -an oasis of calm.
After long days fell walking and exploring it was great to get back to Annesdale, through our own private entrance, close the door and relax. We had stayed previous nights in a hotel but the informality and homliness of Annesdale were just what we needed. A huge deep bath and thick soft towels, a bottle of wine, candles,a real fire and a big comfy bed - what more could you want?
Alana was a welcolming hostess- a lovely lady who made us feel comfortable and her huge breakfasts were a great way to start the day.
The location is close to the train station in Windermere and there are some nice restaurants and bars within walking distance so when we went out in the evening we didnt need to drive again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chadling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnesdaleWindermere, Owner at Annesdale House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2010

Roger and I are very pleased that you found our house comfortable and welcoming. This is exactly what we have set out to achieve: comfort and privacy for our guests, as this is what we like when we go away.
Thank you for coming to stay and we hope that you will return.

Best wishes

Alena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2010

My husband and I stayed here for three nights. Annesdale house is very central to the town and on a bus route down to Lake Windermere.
Alena and Roger are very friendly, relaxed hosts and we enjoyed chatting in the mornings with Alena, over her beautifully cooked breakfasts.
There are two rooms available, we stayed in the Applethwaite suite which had a sitting room leading out to a patio area. It was fresh, modern and tastefully furnished.
The room had a fridge, tv, cd player, tea making facilities and a fire which made the room very cozy.
The bed was VERY comfortable, with good quality linens and the bathroom spotless.
The two rooms have their own separate entrances so it felt as if we were in our own, private apartment.
We will look forward to a return visit and meeting Alena and Roger again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryVLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnesdaleWindermere, Owner at Annesdale House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2010

Dear Mary Smith
It was so nice to read your comments on Annesdale House. The pictures are lovely; particularly the one of the breakfast. I suddenly remembered it was summer and we had cherries.... time flies, it is now very autumnal in the Lakes and the colours in the garden and around are differently beatiful.
Thank you and we hope to see you again.

Best wishes


Alena & Roger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2010

We had a wonderful two night stay in the Applethwaite suite; the bed was supremely comfortable and the shower in the ensuite wetroom was one of the best we've ever used! We also loved having breakfast in our room with a great view of the garden.

Roger and Alena were excellent hosts and recommended some lovely walks for us in the surrounding area - even though the weather did it's best to dampen our spirits with a heavy downpour we were happy knowing we'd soon be back in our cosy room for a enjoying a warming cup of tea.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jandg_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnesdaleWindermere, Owner at Annesdale House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2010

We appreciate your kind comments about your stay at Annesdale House and are very pleased that you will be visitng us again in the future. Alena and I love our house and it is always a pleasure to share it with nice people who appreciate our hospitality.
Thank you.

Best wishes

Roger & Alena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2010

This is probably the most enjoyable stay we've had anywhere in a long time. Alena made us feel extremely welcome with nothing to much trouble for her. The suite we stayed in was lovely, the bed the best we've ever slept in and the bathroom with it's underfloor heating and wet room shower was lush. The suite had its own patio and private garden in which we chose to have our breakfast served, which was fabulous! All in all VERY good value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank d_trewhitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnesdaleWindermere, Owner at Annesdale House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2010

We were very grateful for your comments and were so pleased you have found your stay at Annesdale House comfortable. We love looking after nice people who appreciate our hospitality. It makes our job both pleasurable and rewarding.
Roger and i are looking forward to your next stay with us.

Warmly

Roger & Alena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2010

If you are looking for a lovely place to spend time in Windermere you really can not go wrong staying at the Annesdale House. There are 2 rooms, and I stayed in the one with a double door leading out into a wonderfully colorful garden. Roger and Alena were wonderful hosts with a lovely home. From meeting me at the train station to walk me to their house to having breakfast in bed. It was all done with care and kindness.

Room: I highly recommend the room I was in. I came from london and the room and bathroom were bigger than my flat. The tub could hold 3 people and there are were heated floors throughout. The room was clean, decorated tastefully, had all the amenities you would want including DVD and sound system, a bed that was beyond comfortable (spent more time sleeping one day than touring), and a breakfast prepared expertly.

Garden: Just right outside your backdoor. If the weather is nice ask to have breakfast outside. You will enjoy the scenery and the serenity.

Breakfast: All top quality and a good assortment of choices for meat and non-meat eaters. Really appreciated the hot croissants which were a good surprise.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank svintus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnesdaleWindermere, Owner at Annesdale House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2010

We were very pleased to have come up to your expectations. We are slowly acquiring a very nice clientele which makes life much more rewarding. It would be lovely to see you again.

Kindest regards

Roger & Alena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Lingmoor Guest Accommodation
Lingmoor Guest Accommodation
#41 of 107 in Windermere
320 reviews
0.1 mi away
Orrest Cottage
Orrest Cottage
#47 of 107 in Windermere
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Rockside Guest House
Rockside Guest House
#9 of 107 in Windermere
360 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Willowsmere
The Willowsmere
#11 of 107 in Windermere
390 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Cottage
The Cottage
#58 of 107 in Windermere
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Annesdale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Annesdale House

Address: Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range: £127 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A haven of peace and tranquility in Windermere, 2 beautiful garden suites just moments from the centre of the village and railway station. A perfect base to explore the Lakes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Annesdale House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Annesdale House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing