We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Annesdale House
Nearby Hotels
US$172
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$131
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$254
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$248
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hillthwaite(Windermere)
US$216
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$211
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Windermere Hotel(Windermere)(Great Value!)
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$186
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$172
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$253
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$220
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Wild Boar(Windermere)
US$218
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$152
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$189
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$369
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (185)
Filter reviews
185 results
Traveller rating
179
5
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
179
5
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsapplethwaite suiteunderfloor heatingown private entrancesitting roomlake districtmountain goat tourlovely hometrain stationbedroom and bathroomclean tidyrelaxing holidaywonderful hospitalitybeautiful place to stayperfect staybreakfast was excellenttea traypleasure of staying
Filter
Updating list...
155 - 160 of 185 reviews
Reviewed 26 November 2010

It's our second visit in the last six months and we cant keep it a secret any longer.

Alena and Roger are both absolutely wonderful hosts. We celebrated our anniversary here and found a card waiting for us. Alena offered us tea and coffee on arrival - which was lovely and welcoming. They offer a magnificent breakfast selection which can be brought to your room at a specified time of your choosing, or you may eat in the dining room upstairs (which we haven't done yet!!)

The 2 apartment style rooms are beautiful, spacious, airy and tastefully furnished with underfloor heating and a sumptuous bathroom/wet room. You are given a key for your own private entrance through your own patch of garden, complete with garden furniture - perfect for take-aways or drinks in the garden.

Facilities include TV/DVD player; stereo system with i-pod docking station; fridge; hairdryer; tea & coffee making facilities. It's the little touches that make it though - a selection of DVD's/CD's and speciality teas and coffees.

Annesdale Lodge is situated on the busy main road near Windermere amenities. It's only 2 minutes stroll to the train station, Lakeland Shopping Centre, bus stop and Tourist Information Office, and yet felt like we were a million miles from anywhere when lounging in the apartment or garden.

We have nothing negative to say about Annesdale Lodge. We have stayed in various hotels/guest houses in the Lakes over the years and this is by far our favourite! we look forward to our next visit as soon as we can get childminders.

If you are looking for a retreat from the madness and hustle and bustle of modern life you've just found it.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dootsydoo18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnesdaleWindermere, Owner at Annesdale House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2010

It was so nice to see you again at Annesdale House and we were touched that you have returned. Your report gives us confidence that we are 'getting it right'. We always start by asking ourselves 'What if it was me, staying here? What would I need? How I would like to be treated?' and take it from there.
We were touched by your generous comments and we promis not to let it go into heads.
Thank you both very much again and we look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,

Alena & Roger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2010

My wife and I stayed at Annesdale House from 7th Nov 2010 for 3 nights as part of our Lake District holidays. Elena & Roger own the place and they were a great host, attentive and make sure we were comfortable.

The room (Elleray suite) was spacious, clean, bright and the toilet/bathroom was generously large. Floor heating was available and it was a nice functional touch.

Bedding was comfortable and the breakfast was very decent with good variety, with options to have it in the room, garden or up the dining room.

Annesdale is not the usual place where the owners have spare rooms and then decides to rent it to you and cook you breakfast and have that "don't disturb me anything in between your bed and breakfast time" attitude.

Full marks here and deservingly so. Roger & Elena know what they are doing and I think their previous experience in the hospitality business gives them the edge in the B&B space.

We had a good experience here and would recommend Annesdale. Just like to leave one warning though!

Warning! If you stay here first and then move to other B&Bs around the Lake District, you may be hard-pressed to find a better B&B! (i.e: prepare for disappointment since Annesdale is super!)


ps: Roger/Elena, if you are reading this... thanks again! :)

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scubawun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnesdaleWindermere, Owner at Annesdale House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2010

Dear guests,

thank you for your marvelous review. You have been very generous with your praise of Annesdale House and we are very pleased that you have enjoyed our hospitality. We consider ourselves very fortunate to have such wanderful guests from all over the world. It was a priviledge to have you stay with us. Please, come again and tell you friends in Singapoore to come too.

Best wishes and many thanks,

Roger & Alena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2010

We have just returned home following a 3 day trip to the Lake District and were fortunate to find this jewel in the accomodation crown. Behind the slate walls, there is a glorious house that the owners have renovated to a high standard. Our room was warm, spacious and homely with plenty of style and character. The lounge area was large, with a funky fire and wonderful views of the garden via the two large picture windows. Elena was a lovely hostess, even supplying homemade cake to go with our afternoon coffee. Walking distance to Windermere and Bowness so ideal situation. Freshly cooked breakfast. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank humphries415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnesdaleWindermere, Owner at Annesdale House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2010

We are very honoured that you have given us such a wonderful review. All your positive comments reinforce our aim to make Annesdale House more than a BB. We want our guests to feel at ease, like staying with friends.
Many thanks to taking the trouble to write and we hope that you will pay us a visit next time you think of coming to the Lakes.

In gratitude and warmly

Roger & Alena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2010

We stayed three nights at the Elleray suite at Annesdale House. The bedroom had all we needed - tea/ coffee making facilities, fridge, flat screen TV and a nice, comfy bed. The bathroom was pure luxury, a powerful shower, deep bath, constant very hot water, lovely fluffy towels and underfloor heating. The decor is chic and neutral which adds to the relaxing ambience. We enjoyed the lovely breakfast which is prepared to your personal requirement. Alena and Roger are very friendly and made us feel very welcome at their home.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elagel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnesdaleWindermere, Owner at Annesdale House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2010

We are so pleased that you have found Annesdale House so relaxing and friendly and that you were able to do so many interesting things in the Windermere area.
Hopefully you will tell all your friends about us and return again soon.

Thank you and best wishes

Roger & Alena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2010

So much more than a B&B, Annesdale house offers a stylish and comfortable retreat in the heart of Windermere. On arrival we were led down stairs to a double bedroomed apartment, this cannot be seen from the front of the house as the house is built on a slope and so it feels totally enclosed except that you have this fabulous view of a really pretty garden with leaves ranging from crimson red maple to gold. Just the thing for a weekend wind down. Breakfast was served in the room on a huge tray with all the trimmings, we had full english breakfast the first day and I had porridge and fruit the second day, both lovely. Nice selection of tea in the room. I just loved the attention to detail with the decor nice prints on the wall. The bed was absolutely deluxe soooooo comfortable. Its also really convenient for the local shops restaurants and a couple of pubs.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bfee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnesdaleWindermere, Owner at Annesdale House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2010

How very kind of you to write such nice things about us. We are pleased you were comfortable and felt at home as guests of Annesdale House. Our aim is to provide a very quiet, personal and luxurious environment in which to relax. The garden is an extra bonus to us all, for ever changing and it is lovely all year round. We are glad that you have seen some of its autumnal colours.
We look forward that you may like to come and stay again and recommend us to your friends.

Thank you .
Kind regards

Roger & Alena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews