We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality and quaint”
Review of Kays Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kays Cottage
Ranked #54 of 107 Windermere B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Absolutely lovely stay, even before arrival we were made to feel welcome, via phone calls and emails. The rooms are lovely and every need is tended for.
The area is gorgeous and all necessities are in walking distance. The breakfast in the morning was scrummy, and the company was just as nice. We would definitely recommend this to others! Thank you x

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Finty O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

42 - 48 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2014

I've stayed at Kays Cottage several times and it's my favourite place in Windermere. the rooms aren't huge, but they are very very clean and very very comfortable with gorgeous bedding and everything you could possibly need for a relaxing and reviving stay. jean is an amazing host, making sure that you have everything you need and if not, that it's supplied quickly. The breakfasts are fantastic with something for the fussiest palates and vegetarians are not made to feel out of it. over the years the rooms have been tastefully modernised and up dated so that you always feel that the customer will come first, first and first. Oh, and really good TV sets!

Room Tip: rooms to the front have great views, but they're all lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Kays Cottage is located in the city centre of Windermere and close to shops and restaurants. Parking is free. We were lucky to get a family room on very short notice. Jean is a phantastic hostess, the room had coffee and tea facilities, water bottles, cookies and sweets and the ensuite bathroom has all one needs. The beds were excellent, the English breakfast wonderful. It also has wifi and it was very clean and neat.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MariaPetalingJaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Me and friend stayed at Kays Cottage at the weekend. We couldn't have asked for more! The service was excellent - the room was clean and tidy, the staff were lovely and very helpful!We had a great weekend and we would definitely recommend staying here! Perfect location was a benefit!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnaWi9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013 via mobile

Kay's cottage is located in the centre of Windermere and makes a perfect base for the Lake District. Free parking in a number of car parks is a bonus, as is wifi The B and B is so homely and well equipped that you can turn a blind eye to the fact that its not "contemporary" - who cares that there's an avocado bathroom suite when there's generous toiletries and little extras (like facial wipes) added. And it was spotlessly clean.
The best thing about our stay was the friendly welcome and the delicious breakfast. I keep telling everyone how wonderful it was!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hollydayhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Stayed here one night on a trip from Wales up to Scotland. I had made the booking some months ago and paid for the room in advance.

We received a warm welcome from the owner Jean, who showed us to our top floor room and explained what was available. She also gave us some suggestions on thngs to do in Windemere and places for dinner that night.

The room was quite large with a reasonable size bed and small en-suite. Tea and coffee making facilities were on hand and the room also included a flat screen TV. The room had large windows and a view of the surrounding streets and buildings.

Jean served a full English breakfast the next day in the bright and airy dining room on the ground floor. There is cereal and fruit avaialble and Jean will cook breakfast to order.

All in all, a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HS300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

You could'nt ask for a more warm and welcoming sight after a long journey from London on a wet Autum night.
Kay's Cottage is quaint, cosy and spotlessly clean, hosted by two luvely people who cook a fantastic breakfast and nothing is too much trouble.
There are so many little treats in your room which you would normally only get in larger and much more expensive and commercial hotels.
Kay's cottage is only minutes from the station and overlooking a park in Windermere village which was ideal for me to walk to the lake and then find a cute little coffee shop afterwards.
I think it's a small treasure in a sea of other B&B's and I would recommend a visit to find out for your self.

Room Tip: Over looking the park on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.5 mi away
Rosemount
Rosemount
#26 of 107 in Windermere
285 reviews
0.4 mi away
Glencree
Glencree
#61 of 107 in Windermere
71 reviews
1.9 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
498 reviews
0.2 mi away
All Seasons
All Seasons
#67 of 107 in Windermere
113 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kays Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kays Cottage

Address: 7 Broad Street, Windermere LA23 2AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range: £79 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kays Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the 1880's and located in the heart of The Lake District in Windermere Village, Kays Cottage is a small, friendly, family run guest house, providing high quality bed & breakfast accommodation. We are very proud to have been awarded a 4 star rating (excellent standard throughout) by Visit Britain which we have maintained for over 12 years. Our well proportioned double, twin and family guest rooms all come fully equipped with ensuite bathrooms which have electric showers, toilets and hand wash basins, colour televisions and complimentary wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kays Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kays Cottage Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing