We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“W”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Meadfoot Guest House
Ranked #46 of 108 Windermere B&B and Inns
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“W”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Stayed July 2013 with two other couples from different ends of the country we had a warm welcome from Steve and Gail We had the garden room with large patio doors which opened onto the garden Loverly clean room comfy bed after our champagne was chilled in Gail's fridge it was brought to its in the garden with fresh strawberries
The day after one of our party were celebrating a birthday on our breakfast table was a birthday card from Gail and Steve another nice touch
After a hearty breakfast and a long day out on our arrival back Steve and Gail told us they had prepared canapés for us in the garden another nice touch and Also chilled the champagne and added again the strawberries plus added candles to the birthday cake
After our evening out which was cheaper than the night before as we didn't need starters due to the two plates of canapés thank you Gail and Steve

They left a umbrella and candles out in the garden for our return yet another nice touch again over and above what they needed to do
Needless to say we all had a fab time and will be back a hard act to follow thank-you for making our weekend special



  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 56jobie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    13
    2
    1
    5
See reviews for
9
109
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 4 days from the 15th July 2013. Gail and Steve are really friendly and Gail is like your mum from home! She loved my Belfast accent although she couldn't understand a word! Very central to Windermere centre and a lovely 20 min walk to the many shops in Bowness. The breakfasts are excellent and nothing is too much trouble for Gail. we had the four poster bed room and it was excellent. I would recommend the Meadfoot to any couples wanting to stay within the Lake District. We certainly would stay there again at any time.

Room Tip: Pay the bit extra for Room #1!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigal47_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnham-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We booked this guest house for our mini-moon. On arrival Gail and Steve the guest house owners were their to greet us with smiles and enthusiasm. Gail knew it was our mini-moon and had gone to the trouble of getting us a congrats card and some bubbly, this was a nice thing to do. The niceness continued throughout our stay, Steve gave us a lift when we went for a meal and also gave us the loan of his map with great tips on the best places to go and see. The breakfast was great and Gail was happy to adjust to our likes and dislikes, (you don't get that often)! There was plenty of cereal, fruit-fresh and dried, and a variance day to day, yogurts, toast, juice, even pastries! Our room was small but big enough for what we wanted out of it as we were out all day every day! The room was cleaned thoroughly every day. The shower and bath worked fine, instant very hot water and instant very cold water! The view into the garden when at breakfast was lovely and peaceful.
The only small negative is that it is a guest house so it is small and quaint. If your preference is big hotels then this might be a bit small for you. It is also near the main road which can be noisy during the day but fairly quiet at night. The weather was lush when we went, we slept with the window wide open and did not get disturbed by traffic. We had never stayed in a guest house before, but we were very happy with meadfoot. The nature of the hosts does make all the difference!!
You also get the added bonus of use of facilities down the road which we took advantage of one evening it is small but good enough, beware the sauna it is to hot!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Midlands, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Gail and Steve made us very welcome and offered really helpful advice on things to see around Windermere. They were happy to lend us maps and guides. Everywhere was spotlessly clean and the breakfasts were great.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndH_Lboro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a 2 night mini break with my wife over the May bank holiday weekend. What a superb little guest house we found with fantastic owners Gail & Steve. Our room was immaculate, the bed was comfy, the room faced the garden area at the rear so was nice and quiet as do all the rooms. Woken by birds singing every morning. Very tranquil. The breakfast was very nice, the tastiest breakfast we have ever tasted to be truthful. Yum! Gail and Steve were the most hospitable owners we have ever encountered and we've stayed in a good few B&B's around the Windermere/ Bowness area over the years. Both very pleasant and chatty. Parking is easy with enough space for each car of the 5 rooms. The guest house is located about 200 yards or 5 mins outside of Winderemere town centre and a good 20 min walk downhill into Bowness for the lake. You also have an option to visit Parklands country club in The Burnside hotel down in Bowness. Well worth a visit. Swimming pool, jacuzzi, steam room, sauna, upstairs bar with snooker table. Just ask Gail or Steve for a pass. Hope to return to Meadfoot again soon.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank pazza4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Myself and my wife stayed for 2 nights weekend in march , great guesthouse not far from shops, eating places and lake Windermere . The hosts Steve and Gail were lovely any help u needed just ask , good breakfast , smashing rooms .

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gilbert100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2013

We had a B&B booked but got delayed with the heavy snow storms last weekend and when we arrived they refused to let us in. My friend and I found this little B&B and knocked on the door at 11.30pm at night, we explained the situation and that we were desperate to find a room for the night as we were doing the Grizedale Triathlon the following day. Gail took us in and let us have a warm room for the night. The following morning they offered us breakfast and could not do enough to make us welcome. We had to be careful what we ate with the race ahead and they even went out of their way to supply us with Porridge, Gail sent her Husband to the Shops to get some for us. My friend and I are truly grateful to Gail and Ian for making us as comfortable as possible prior to our Triathlon. We would recommend this Guest House to anyone - lovely friendly atmosphere and fab breakfasts...we hope to visit again soon !!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
White Rose
White Rose
#53 of 108 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lingmoor Guest Accommodation
Lingmoor Guest Accommodation
#43 of 108 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holly Lodge Guest House
Holly Lodge Guest House
#32 of 108 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Invergarry Guest House
Invergarry Guest House
#19 of 108 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bonny Brae Guest House
Bonny Brae Guest House
#51 of 108 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.2 mi away
Laurel Cottage Windermere
Laurel Cottage Windermere
#37 of 108 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meadfoot Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meadfoot Guest House

Property: Meadfoot Guest House
Address: New Road, Windermere LA23 2LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Meadfoot Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Meadfoot Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meadfoot Guest House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing