We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful stay, faultless hosts.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Meadfoot Guest House
Ranked #44 of 107 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A wonderful stay, faultless hosts.”
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

Had a 2 night stay at Meadfoot and by the end of it felt like a home. We settled in straight away were shown where we could keep our bikes! Bonus! Had a garden room so used the patio door as our front door all most to come and go. The breakfast was beautiful unfortunately I was always too full from evening dinners to eat it all! But my partner did pretty well! Excellent base for Windermere less than 5 mins walk and Bowness also around 15mins but taxis / buses can also be utilised. Lovely, spotless and friendly. Im surprised its not ranked higher on trip advisor.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murrayv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    13
    2
    1
    5
See reviews for
10
118
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2014

My partner booked this break as a surprise for my birthday and a wonderful 4 day break it turned out to be. Meadfoot Guest house is situated in a great location, close to Windermere with its numerous shops and restaurants. The hosts Gail and Steve are a fantastic couple and made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived. Our room was clean and bright, beds comfy (best nights sleep I have had away from home in a long time) and a bonus was the Patio doors which opened straight out onto the garden. Gail and Steve's hospitality and local knowledge has made sure that our first visit to the Lake District will not be our last.

Room Tip: Room 5 had the added bonus of having access from the external part of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

My Wife and i stayed at the Meadfoot Guest House last weekend. It is located a few minutes walk from Windermere town centre and about 15 - 20 minutes walk from Bowness. It is very easy to find on New Road. The Guest House is clean and well maintained and the owners, Gail and Stephen, are very friendly and helpful. The room that we had was very clean and tastefully decorated. There are en-suite bathroom facilities with the rooms. The room we had was well furnished and there are tea and coffee facilities in the room. Our room also had a flat screen TV with Freeview channels and a hairdryer. Towels and face flannels were also provided along with some small bottled toiletries. The Dining Room is on the upper floor and overlooks the rear garden. It has large windows that allows lots of natural light into the room. I would imagine that in the summer months with the trees and shrubs in bloom that it would all add to an already impressive view of the rear garden. The breakfast consists of the usual offerings, but also included some nice little touches, such as sliced fresh fruit to add to your cereal. The cooked breakfast was delicious. There is free car parking on site. I would recommend anyone visiting Windermere or nearby to stay at Meadfoot. Thanks for an enjoyable stay. We will return.

Room Tip: I would recommend Room 5. It is on the Ground Level and also has the advantage of private access vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeighCenturion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed for valentines weekend and couldn't fault anything. Fantastic hosts, gail was lovely, food was lovely, thanks steve, room was gorgeous, clean, modern and well furnished. We stayed in room 1, underfloor heating was great, bed was comfy. Great location, in walking distance of windermere and bowness. Would definitely stay again and highly recommend!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ee111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed in room 2 overlooking the summerhouse. Its a peaceful place situated perfectly for the Windermere/Bowness area. Gail and Steven were very welcoming and their local knowledge and hospitality is excellent, they didnt even mind us booking in half an hour early!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Bit of a doggy smell hits the nostrils as soon as you walk in, not sure if the proprietors keep dogs themselves or allow guests with pets. Bearing in mind this is a guesthouse so also a family home which you are acutely aware of as the door to their private living space is just to the left of the main entrance as you walk in and right across from the room we stayed in. Not really a problem, but makes you feel a bit like you've come to stay at a relative's house (albeit one you've never met).

I have to say both Gail and Steve were very friendly and hospitable, particularly Steve - very chatty and didn't have a problem with us arriving an hour and a half early. Although, when Gail was showing us into our room, she broke off mid sentence as her eye was drawn to a small blemish on the carpet '...oh, is that...?' I wondered how the sentence might finish but after briefly checking our shoes to see if we had accidentally brought in a little mud with us (which we hadn't) she carried on showing us the room. I did think this a tad rude, the implication we had dirtied the carpet was there. The room itself was a reasonable size. We had the upstairs four poster room, the decor is a little dated, but everything clean and tidy. No bath, but a decent shower with good water pressure.

The location of Meadfoot is pretty good. On the one hand, if you want to be away from the hustle and bustle it's enough distance from Bowness to be quiet. On the other hand if you're on foot and wanting to go into town for a bite to eat it's a fair walk, approx 15/20 mins. Not drinking? Save your legs just take the car. The signage is big and illuminated- which is helpful when walking/driving back in the dark.

Bit of a mishap occurred after we just settled down to go to sleep, a loud door bell noise more like a buzzer on a game show woke us instantly around 12:20pm. In the morning we realised it had succeeded in waking the whole house as some of the other guests mentioned it too. It turned out a couple had returned to the guesthouse late to find the door locked from the inside. Once inside, they were highly inconsiderate and talked loudly as if it were the middle of the day not night before getting to their room. One of those things I suppose, but a sign on the door advising not to lock anything from the inside might have prevented this.

Breakfast is served between 8.30 and 9.00 which some might find too small a window of opportunity if you like your sleep after a few beers the night before. Service was quick and the food was good. Steve was very attentive while Gail (presumably) did the cooking.

I would rate our experience higher but for the slight lack of professionalism initially and the vague lingering smell of pets. I would probably choose a hotel in future. We paid £95 for the night including breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt and Bev T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We had a great time this weekend staying at Meadfoot great hosts location perfect closer to Windermere but Bowness is a walk away either along the main road or the scenic route.The hotel
Is so peaceful rooms first class Gail and Steven so welcoming.
We had an really good meal in Bowness at the Jade palace £8.50per head 4 courses before 7 pm perfect.I would recommend Meadfoot and we will be back.........

Room Tip: All rooms seemed good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank midwives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.3 mi away
Montfort Cottage Guest House
Montfort Cottage Guest House
#29 of 107 in Windermere
182 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kirkwood Guest House
Kirkwood Guest House
#24 of 107 in Windermere
303 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rosemount
Rosemount
#23 of 107 in Windermere
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast
Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast
#17 of 107 in Windermere
663 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chestnuts Guest House
Chestnuts Guest House
#9 of 107 in Windermere
217 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Archway Guesthouse
The Archway Guesthouse
#5 of 107 in Windermere
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meadfoot Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meadfoot Guest House

Property: Meadfoot Guest House
Address: New Road, Windermere LA23 2LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Meadfoot Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Meadfoot Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meadfoot Guest House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing