We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hospitality in a perfect hotel in a perfect location...definitely recommend to anyone”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Meadfoot Guest House
Ranked #45 of 108 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Perfect hospitality in a perfect hotel in a perfect location...definitely recommend to anyone”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This a lovely hotel in an ideal location. Gail and Steve the owners were both lovely, they kept the hotel spotless and made a lovely breakfast, anything we asked about the area Steve could answer and point us in the right direction. Would definitely recommend and will definitely return. 1st class experience :-)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RitcieKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    13
    2
    1
    5
See reviews for
9
112
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2014

great b and b.great hosts,great food,central to windermere and bowness.very helpful ,very clean and tidy.garden great to sit and relax in with a refreshment .easy to find .parking was fine .not a bad word to say about our stay.defo return

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

a very nice guest house well situated for windermere and bowess the hosts are really helpful and the breakfast is great.the only down side was the shower room in room 4.its described as small well its the only place where you can have a crap wash your teeth and have a shower all at the same time without moving.also the room being downstairs is really noisy you can here all the goings on upstairs.

Room Tip: get a room upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dasman37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gail P, Owner at Meadfoot Guest House, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Hello Darrell, we are shocked at your choice of language in your review. All said and done, we wish you a speedy recovery, we are glad to see you enjoyed he Breakfast and the area,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

The quality of twins room is perfectly in well condition.both of the host are nice, they will have any advice if you need. Btw, I lost my wallet in room when I check out, the male host drove his car to give the wallet to me immediately. That was so warm of the whole trip.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank howardl358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tunbridge Wells
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Gail and Steve are a very friendly and hospitable couple who make you feel welcome to stay in their home. After a long drive from Kent we were delighted to find a nice room with patio doors into the garden. We had lots of advice about where to go and what to see which was very helpful and the weather was a bonus as it stayed mostly dry and bright during our stay at the end of June. Breakfast was a real feast and nicely prepared and presented. A real delight in such a beautiful part of England.
Thank you Gail & Steve and hope to stay again one day when we come up north.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TunbridgeWellsAlice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirriemuir, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We booked this lovely guest house on booking.com and were delighted with our choice. We were accommodated in room 1 with a superb four poster bed and lovely garden view. The owners are very friendly and welcoming. The weather was lovely for our stay and we thoroughly enjoyed exploring windermere and surrounding area. If you are looking for a short break in the lake district this guest house is perfect. Central for all amenities, very clean and the breakfasts are delicious. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We liked our room (room 1) beside the front door giving quick access to the room with luggage etc. N...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed Saturday 28th and Sunday 29th at Meadfoot. I thouroughly enjoyed my stay, both Gail and Steve are lovely people and make you feel extremely welcome.

We stayed in Room 2 the room which is in the main photo on here. Although there has been some reviews stating the shower room is too small, I found it to be perfectly fine. The room was spotless, bed comfy and sheets smelt gorgeous.

The B&B is located on the main road through Windermere that follows the hill down to Bowness. Its literally 5 mins to walk up the road into Windermere and about a 15 min walk down the hill into Bowness. Gail gave us a map on our first afternoon and explained where everything was including places to eat and the pub I wanted to visit (Hole in t'wall).

Breakfast each morning was lovely, toast and coffee/tea provided as you were seated, plenty of fresh fruit, cereals etc and then a full English should you require. The meat is all locally sourced and was lovely. Gail cooks a lovely breakfast :) and Steve attentively serves.

The couple have a vast knowledge of the area and Steve was recommending walks to other guests, although we personally had visited the Lakes this time to relax away from the kids, I would maybe interested next time on checking out some of these lovely walks.

Would I stay again? Definately!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KelcoLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.3 mi away
Lingmoor Guest Accommodation
Lingmoor Guest Accommodation
#42 of 108 in Windermere
314 reviews
0.2 mi away
Laurel Cottage Windermere
Laurel Cottage Windermere
#39 of 108 in Windermere
231 reviews
0.1 mi away
Autumn Leaves Guest House
Autumn Leaves Guest House
#15 of 108 in Windermere
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Montfort Cottage Guest House
Montfort Cottage Guest House
#27 of 108 in Windermere
176 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holly Lodge Guest House
Holly Lodge Guest House
#30 of 108 in Windermere
203 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Archway Guesthouse
The Archway Guesthouse
#5 of 108 in Windermere
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meadfoot Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meadfoot Guest House

Property: Meadfoot Guest House
Address: New Road, Windermere LA23 2LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Meadfoot Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Meadfoot Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meadfoot Guest House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing