We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Nook Garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Nook Garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Nook Garden
Front Gardens
Front Gardens
Nook Garden
Nook Kitchen
Nook Kitchen
Nook Bedroom
Nook
Nook
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Windermere, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ian C
Cambridge, UK
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed 21 August 2011 for a stay in July 2011

Pleasant, comfortable accommodation in a convenient location with its own parking space. Felt the place could do with a deep clean (thick layers of dust in some places!) and the mid-week replacement towels and cleaning of bathroom/kitchen never happened - someone just came in a emptied the bin - but these really are minor complaints. Basically, this is a nice place to stay and served as a great base for exploring the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Failed to provide the mid-week cleaning service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2011
We were genuinely sorry that on this occasion dust was found in the cottage as we try to maintain a high standard always in cleanliness. The Nook is now in high season and constantly in use and cleaned so we were surprised at the comment but have taken this on board and repsonded effectively. Our mid week cleaning service and fresh towels is entirely optional and we do request our guests to advise us if the service is required we do not intrude on the privacy of guests once the Nook is let.
Many thanks we always appreciate the feed back.

Wendy
Ivythwaite Cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Reviewed 17 May 2011 for a stay in March 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 25-34
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reading
Reviewed 16 March 2011 for a stay in September 2010
1
person found this review helpful

Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
darlington
Reviewed 7 November 2010 for a stay in November 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Liked best: EVERYTHING.
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Tourists
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Francesca...
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
1 review
“An absolute home from home”
Reviewed 29 October 2010 for a stay in October 2010

The Nook was totally perfect for us, it was homely and welcoming as soon as we stepped inside. The Nook is perfect for a couple, it's lovely and cosy. Mick and Wendy, who run Ivythwaite Lodge Hotel and the self catering, Nook and Cranny, are really friendly and very helpful in terms of suggesting points of interest which might not be found in the Lake District guidebooks. The Nook was really well placed for us to explore the lakes and it was so good to know that after a day of walking and sight seeing that we could go home to The Nook. We would certainly recommend The Nook to anyone who wanted somewhere private, homely, relaxed, clean, functional and cosy to stay in the Lake District.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles A romantic getaway
Tourists Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bgtravell...
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
498 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Excellent Hosts and Great Accommodation”
Reviewed 28 October 2010 for a stay in November 2009

We have enjoyed a stay with Mick and Wendy before and were keen to return, This time we rented the self catering accommodation "The Nook" at the rear of the house. The Nook is a great base for a few days in the Lakes. Mick has done a great job renovating it and it is a really comfortable place to stay. Satellite TV, wi-fi, a well fitted out kitchen, excellent shower and comfortable sitting area and bedroom. What more could you want? Will try to return a bit more often than every 4 years!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing