We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“A good 'home from home'.”
4.5 of 5 bubbles

Review of Apt 3 Caxton House

Well Equipped Modern Kitchen
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Well Equipped Modern Kitchen
Rear of property Master Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Very good
28 reviews
Well Equipped Modern Kitchen
Rear of property
Master Bedroom
Modern Bathroom
Bathroom
Master Bedroom
Original Features
Views over windermere from master bedroom
View From Orrest Head
Windermere at Xmas
Rear Access To Property
2nd Bedroom
Lounge And Dining Area
Dining Area
Lounge
Walk In Shower
Master Bedroom With TV/DVD
Private Parkin Space
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Windermere, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
4.5 of 5 bubbles Very good - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoebs_13
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A good 'home from home'.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed at this property with my parents (double room), my 5 year old and 1 year old (twin room). There was enough space in the twin room for the travel cot to fit in between the 2 beds for my 1 year old. We had a very pleasant stay there. Supermarket close by, chippy next door, and various restaurants, although because of time of year, we had to book a table. Across the road is a short walk to Orrest Head (viewpoint).
My only negatives are:
+ one of the single beds was very squeaky
+ no bath (for washing little one)
+ the apartment was very clean, but after my youngest bum shuffled down the hallway, + she had dirty clothes
+television very high on the wall (but that's me being very picky)

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Having to leave by 10am
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakel0ver...
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here 22nd March 2014 for three nights. Very spacious clean apartment. Ideal location for Orrest Head, Windermere village and a short walk to Bowness. Would certanly recommend a stay here. The car parking space is a bonus also.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alison s
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely clean apartment, great for those rainy Lake District days.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013
2
people found this review helpful

What a lovely apartment, within easy access to Orrest head at 783ft right out your back door taking 20 minutes to the top. A lovely little walk for a great view over Windermere. Caxton house is in a Great location for shops, cafe's, restaurant's, pub's and supermarkets. A short stroll away being the lovely little village of Bowness which we walked to a few times (10/15 MINS). A few rainy day were spent just chilling in the apartment which the kids enjoyed as there was a Xbox, games and some dvd's . Everything you need for a comfortable stay. A few miner points, something wrong with the aerial reducing the signal greatly when it was raining ( which was quiet a bit). I know it's not the most essential part of a holiday in the lakes but for my teenage daughter it is, that would be the internet, it would have been useful in the wet weather, and having to take your own bath towels, hand towels and tea towels. Having said that I would recommend and return to Caxton house hopefully very soon.

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biffabiff...
Wirral
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Perfect - can't wait to return”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Absolutely stunning. Well equipped & perfect location - would recommend to everyone :) looking to book again soon. Very clean, very modern yet homely. Cannot praise this apartment enough!!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: How gorgeous the flat was.
Liked least: Slippery laminate.
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grant H
Yarraville, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent and very comfortable apartment, well located and in very central location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Great location and only minutes from the railway station and bus terminal and the Tourist Information Centre.
A well appointed apartment with everthing that you need, also very quiet, despite central location.
Only issue was that there was no Wifi access and had to supply own bathroom towels.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
London, United Kingdom
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The comfort of the living room.
Liked least: We were a bit nervous of the cream carpet! (but it looked great)
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Wendy8730
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Apartment & Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2012 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful

This place is amazing, homely and warming, we stayed over christmas and owner had a xmas tree up, i cooked a few meals and i cooked christmas dinner in the kitchen and it was perfect, we took bags of provisions food etc, didn't need to, shops in walking distance a few mins away on foot and also just up the road from the apartment few mins walk is a big supermarket hidden away, bonus is a parking space at rear, we have a 4x4 Freelander which was a little tight getting in and out but fitted nicely , so many places in the towns in the lakes don't have parking so this is a big bonus, prior to going if i contacted the owners about any questions they came back very quickly, i highly recommend this place and we will be staying again on our next visit to the lakes xxxx

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing