We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Wild Boar
Nearby Hotels
Craig Manor Hotel(Windermere)
US$143
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$172
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$371
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$132
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Windermere Hotel(Windermere)(Great Value!)
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Hillthwaite(Windermere)
US$214
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$188
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$193
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$173
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$255
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$248
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$255
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$221
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$189
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,129)
Filter reviews
1,129 results
Traveller rating
761
240
84
27
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
761
240
84
27
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswild boarfeature roomcopper bathsmoke houseclay pigeon shootingmicro brewerypigs in blanketssmoked steakscotch eggpork scratchingsbaked alaskamad pigreal aleluxury roommy partneropen firesister hotel
Filter
Updating list...
686 - 691 of 1,129 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

Just been here tonight with the girlfriend for a meal and loved it!! Ive eaten at some great places in and around the lakes but the wild boars the best by far! Hidden nicely in the countryside near Bowness and gives a great range of food surrounded by beautiful restaurant/bar/inn. The fillet steaks are the best ive had, the sweet potato fries were awesome and the attention given by the manager and his staff was great. Constantly on standby for any need or want. 5* all day long. Ill be back

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank bshell86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We stayed in the feature room for two nights and had a wonderful time. Staff were very friendly and nice (they remember our names too, brownie point!) and other residence were nice too which made the stay even more enjoyable.

We came with our dog Belle so they gave us a room which had direct access to the outdoor, which made things very convenient. A stroll in their woodland was great, and wellies were provided too, how thoughtful!

Lounge has a fireplace and it is just so nice to sit there, have some bar snacks and relax with Belle. Had dinner in the lounge too - the smoked steak was very unique and I have to say it is one of the top 5 steak I have ever had. Not sure about the steak and kidney pudding though - the pastry is very floury and thick. Cocktail was nice, service was good.

Breakfast has a good variety and the egg Benedict is the best! Big breakfast is not very big compared to other B&B we have stayed in. Not enough for my boyfriend who can finish a whole chicken by himself...

Went to the spa in their sister hotel. Have to say it looks a bit run down but everything is clean and they have great facilities - especially the outdoor Jacuzzi!

Overall a lovely stay, nice rooms, convenient location, and the staff made it perfect. Would definitely come back again. Even Belle agreed!

Room Tip: Feature room is nice!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prissy_mk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Stayed for one night in Luxury Double Suite, amazing can't fault the room,
The staff are really friendly and cnt do enough for you . The food is of good standard
and delicious. Nice relaxing environment, would highly recommend, and will be
returning for future visit.

Room Tip: Pay a bit more for a Luxury Room, you wnt be disappointed.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phoebe317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Lovely weekend spent at the WBI. Food wonderful, staff amazing (love it when staff remember your name) finding it very hard to find fault, but if I did it would simply be we could here the people above walking about in their room, very noisy heavy footed and sounded as if they would come through the ceiling at one point.
Cant wait to go back, might ask for a different room next time though!
thank you everyone at the WBI for a wonderful weekend.
See you soon.
Mr & Mrs Pearson

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brecken02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We stayed for 3 nights and ate in the restaurant on the first night. The food was pretty good, smoked steak was lovely but the unsmoked steak was not very well aged and didn't taste of much.
Breakfasts on the whole were good although the hollandaise on the eggs benedict was clearly from a packet. The staff were mostly East European and and charming with the exception of one obnoxious English waiter. Biggest disappointment was the room, we paid £158 per night for a "Feature Room" which was grubby and badly maintained with wallpaper and electrical fittings hanging off the walls. It would have been fine at £65 per night but nowhere near good enough for the price charged.

Room Tip: Eat here, stay somewhere else.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kingstonandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews