We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fandabidozi midweek break!!”
Review of The Wild Boar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Wild Boar
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Burnley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fandabidozi midweek break!!”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I have just come back from the best 2 night break at The wild boar inn, hiding away just 5 mins from Windermere, this hotel and its staff were amazing. In the style of four rooms (channel 4) I checked for the usual dust etc, to which I found nothing. The room with its big copper bath was beautiful. The room also had some private outdoor space. The staff were welcoming, polite and efficient. This hotel brews its own ale which is a plus for any real ale drinker. Both nights the food was brilliant, the scotch egg with spicy brown sauce is definitely worth a go. Breakfast was great to with delicious poached egg floratine. Can't wait to visit again hopefully in the winter when the log fires are burning.

Room Tip: The wild boar suite is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samantha s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wbmanager, General Manager at The Wild Boar, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Samatha s,

Many thanks for your wonderful review following your recent stay with us. I was pleased to read you enjoyed the food our restaurant has to offer, it is something we are very proud of.
The Brewhouse has become a big part of the Inn since we began making our own ales last May and when you next visit myself or a member of the team will be more than happy to show you around and you will get chance to taste one of our new brews.

I am looking forward to welcome you at The Wild Boar

Kindest Regards

Andy Lemm
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

959 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    664
    200
    67
    17
    11
See reviews for
139
619
8
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
171 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The Wild Boar Inn is fine for a stay of only a couple of nights. Beyond that its remoteness might be a bit inconvenient. The rooms are quite modern and comfortable, though finding one's way from the room to Reception can be something of an orienteering exercise. It is in this navigation that you realise that the Inn is several hundred years old and that some of the doorways/ceilings are quite low.
The restaurant specialises in smoked fare and the servings are robust...... my "lamb" shank came from something much larger than a lamb. Breakfast is very good, with a wide choice of hot dishes from the kitchen and bircher muesli (the only time I have found it in the UK).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StayalotNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wbmanager, General Manager at The Wild Boar, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Thank you very kindly for taking the time to write a review about your stay here at The Wild Boar Inn.
I am pleased to read that you liked your room and breakfast and especially our homemade muesli.
Regarding your Lamb shank, after brief discussion with Marc our Head Chef, being from Cumbria himself he has confirmed it was definitely lamb and asked that I inform you ‘’they breed them big in Cumbria’’
The location of the Inn is what many guests find most appealing as it is located in the tranquil Gilpin Valley so an ideal spot to relax and unwind but it has the advantage of only being a short five minute drive to Lake Windermere, also as with many old buildings that have been extended over the centuries making your way from one end of the building can be less obvious than a purpose built newer building, however you do not have the same character in such building as you find here at The Wild Boar.

I do hope to be able to welcome you back to The Wild Boar in the near future.

Kindest Regards

Andy Lemm
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed overnight for wife's birthday 14 May. Staff, food, place fantastic probably best steak
I have ever eaten. Just a wonderful place. Staff and venue could not be better. Thank you all.
Loved the on site smokehouse and brewery. Great breakfast we will be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wbmanager, General Manager at The Wild Boar, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Steve T,

Thank you very much for your feedback following your recent stay with us.
It is extremely pleasing to read that you enjoy everything The Wild Boar has to offer.

If I can be of any assistance with any future bookings, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Kindest Regards

Andy Lemm
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We booked to stay at The Wild Boar recently to coincide with their Japenese Suntory Whisky Tasting Night. When we arrived it was like meeting old friends...everyone was chatty and happy to see us again, especially our Cocker Spanial Bracken. We had a lovely walk in the Wild Boar Woods followed by a very high quality meal. We had a sharing platter as a starter followed by the most delicious Wild Boar Burger. It really was tasty. Afterwards we were treated to a Whisky tasting night excellently presented by Zoran from Suntory Japenese Whisky. The talk included a film show and a tasting of 5 different Whiskies. It was one of the most informative, well presented Whisky tasting nights I have attended. The following day we used our Spa Card and made use of The Low Wood Hotels Hot tub and Spa facilities. It was a perfect night away. We stayed in Room 8 which was very comfortable with high standard decoration. 10 out of 10!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garymills21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wbmanager, General Manager at The Wild Boar, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Garymills21,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us.

It is always pleasing to read such positive feedback especially from a guest who has returned time after time and is obviously such a fan of The Wild Boar.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Inn for our next Whisky tasting night, if not before.

Kind Regards

Andy Lemm
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cumbria
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed one night at the Wild Boar and I can not fault in anyway the hotel,location or any members of staff who were all very friendly and helpful and nothing was to much trouble for them also the evening meal was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wbmanager, General Manager at The Wild Boar, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Alan91,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us.

It is great to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us in particular the team and the food.

Kind Regards

Andy Lemm
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Maybe we went on a bad day, as the other reviewers seem to have experienced excellent service; but on the day we went for lunch with our three year old we found the service somewhat disinterested.

On walking in, we were initially ignored, then told to find a table, but not given a children's menu.

Yes, the food was excellent, but at this price (over £40 for a burger and chips, sausage and mash, children's meal and drinks), a little friendly chit chat and a warm welcoming smile isn't too much to ask.

We've been to the Wild Boar several times in the past and always really enjoyed it, but to be honest, I think next time we'll find somewhere cheaper and more friendly.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wbmanager, General Manager at The Wild Boar, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Emma288,

Thank you for your recent review following your lunch time visit.

Firstly please accept my apologies that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. I have discussed this with the team and we have already revisited our service standards so that this does not happen again.
I would obviously like you to return to the Inn as you have been many times before and always enjoyed your time here and I would ask that you contact me directly when next planning a lunch trip and I will personally ensure you are looked after and receive the standard of service you have come to expect.

Kind Regards

Andy Lemm
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside
Level Contributor
139 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We have just returned from our complimentary stay at this Hotel after a very poor experience last Summer. First and foremost I would like to thank Mr Lemm the Manager for such excellent customer service. Trip Advisor is a very helpful medium for choosing Hotels and Restaurants. When negative comments are posted some Managers respond with their comments and often an apology but in this case we were offered 2 rooms for an overnight B&B stay to revisit the Hotel and note the improvements that have been made and they have. The check in/out staff very pleasant and asked about our stay on check out this time and got very positive comments. The outside area has been tidied up with some lovely window boxes. The seating areas outside the rooms - a nice touch have been tidied up. The room was clean as was the bathroom and heated as it was a bit chilly in the evening despite being the end of May. The bed was very comfy just need better pillows to ensure complete comfort. The rooms were well maintained.We ate dinner in the restaurant and appreciated that both at Breakfast and Dinner there appears to be someone in charge now making their prescence felt and being very friendly. The meal was very good and the Chateaubriand absolutely superb -compliments to the Chef. Staff friendly and language barriers addressed. Cooked breakfast was good too. So in conclusion wonderful customer service and lots of the issues we raised after our stay have been addressed.

Room Tip: Choose a feature room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chillypenguin60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wbmanager, General Manager at The Wild Boar, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear CarolynMorris276,

Thank you for your recent TA review following your return stay with us here at the Inn

Although our aim is always to ensure every guest is completely happy during there time with us we are only human and at times we will make mistakes as happened on your first visit.
It is then how this is dealt with that is a true measure of how a customer’s feedback is treated.

I am therefore obviously extremely pleased the team here at The Wild Boar have been able to prove to you that we did take your comments seriously and were possible made the changes that have not only benefited you but all of our guests. I have shared your comments with the team as ultimately it was them then have made sure this visit was an enjoyable one

Finally thank you for allowing us the opportunity to restore your faith in The Wild Boar and hopefully I have the opportunity of being able to welcoming you back again in the future

Kindest Regards

Andy Lemm
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
2.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.5 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
2.7 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
4.3 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wild Boar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wild Boar

Property: The Wild Boar
Address: Crook Road, Windermere LA23 3NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Windermere
#5 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wild Boar 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wild Boar with 33 bedrooms, grill, smokehouse and brewhouse nestles in a peaceful setting in the Gilpin Valley, Windermere close to the Lake. Benefiting from the beautiful surrounding countryside, including its own private woodland for guests to enjoy, whilst perfectly positioned to explore the rest of the great outdoors in the fabulous Lake District National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Wild Boar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wild Boar Hotel Crook
The Wild Boar Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing