We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wild Boar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Wild Boar
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Northe West
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Excellent- quite simply first class. Beautiful accommodation and a wonderful team who genuinely want to make your stay a four star experience. Would definitely stay here again. We took our 4 month old puppy and he was also made very welcome. Prior to having our puppy we only stayed in boutique hotels so we are very fussy. This is definitely a place for people who like good quality.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NortheWestSweetpea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wbmanager, General Manager at The Wild Boar, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear NortheWestSweetpea,

Thank you very much for taking time to review your recent stay with us.
I was delighted to read that you enjoy all aspect of The Wild Boar in particularly accommodation and the team.
If I can be of any assistance with any future booking, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the Inn.

Kindest Regards

Andy Lemm
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    642
    197
    65
    17
    11
See reviews for
132
601
8
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Enjoyed a fantastic meal in the Wild Boar restaurant. It's had a refurb since I last visited and the lounge and bar area is really nice. Sampled the home brewed beer which was good. The place has a very relaxed atmosphere and the food was great. Looking forward to going again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank I_only_do_luxury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wbmanager, General Manager at The Wild Boar, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear I_only_do_luxury,

Thank you very much for your feedback on your recent visit.

I was very happy to read that you had enjoyed what we have done at the Wild Boar in the last 4 years.

I look forward to being able to welcome you back again to The Wild Boar and I do hope you will not leave it another 4 years before your next visit.

Kindest Regards

Andy Lemm
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

To get things straight, this place isn't 5 mins from Windermere, unless you travel by moon rocket. I had a few Italian esq drives courtesy of taxis, and friends, and its a proper 10-15 min drive. Put it this way, unless you have a car, or you want banjo jangling ruralness, this place is not for you. It has its own woodland, replete with lake/pond for your own private walks. This is a good thing. I had a feature room. A little bit tired, but then I get the feeling during high season this is a revolving door of tourists. It was nice, my view beyond the car park and smoker, was a beautiful hill, very lovely. The staff were good, there were some nice little detail touches at breakfast that placed it above your standard b&b. Breakfast was ok, not great. Ate in the evening, that was also pretty good, no doubt a cut above the tourist bilge served up in Bowness central. I guess it depends on what you're looking for. If you want a choice of restaurants, a Tesco express, 3G, and phone signal, then stay in the centre. If you want a bit of privacy, including no signal, and you're own private wood walk, with kindly service, then this place could be for you.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Lee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wbmanager, General Manager at The Wild Boar, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Lee W,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us.
We are constantly trying to improve our offering including the bedrooms am obviously sorry that you felt your was looking tired, we do try and ensure all the rooms are kept to the highest standards, I am obviously pleased you were able to explore the 72 acres of woodland and it’s tarn at the rear of the Inn and that you enjoyed both your breakfast and evening meal with us.

Kindest Regards

Andy Lemm
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

just stayed at the wild boar for f-in-laws 90th birthday. absolutely great. staff were fantastic food superb. bedrooms really comfortable even though we only had "normal" rooms though got complimentary upgrade for birthday boy so he had his own patioetc. all in all a really great place to eat drink and chill. we'll definitely be back

Room Tip: even though we had a room over the bar/reception it was quiet and cosy but if we return we'd ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank petercritchley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wbmanager, General Manager at The Wild Boar, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear petercritchley,


Thank you very much for taking time to post review following your recent stay with us. I was delighted to read you and your family had a great time here at The Wild Boar.
I will certainly share your feedback with our team.

I do hope to welcome you at The Wild Boar Inn in the near future.


Kindest Regards

Andy Lemm
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

I have just come back from the best 2 night break at The wild boar inn, hiding away just 5 mins from Windermere, this hotel and its staff were amazing. In the style of four rooms (channel 4) I checked for the usual dust etc, to which I found nothing. The room with its big copper bath was beautiful. The room also had some private outdoor space. The staff were welcoming, polite and efficient. This hotel brews its own ale which is a plus for any real ale drinker. Both nights the food was brilliant, the scotch egg with spicy brown sauce is definitely worth a go. Breakfast was great to with delicious poached egg floratine. Can't wait to visit again hopefully in the winter when the log fires are burning.

Room Tip: The wild boar suite is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank samantha s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wbmanager, General Manager at The Wild Boar, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Samatha s,

Many thanks for your wonderful review following your recent stay with us. I was pleased to read you enjoyed the food our restaurant has to offer, it is something we are very proud of.
The Brewhouse has become a big part of the Inn since we began making our own ales last May and when you next visit myself or a member of the team will be more than happy to show you around and you will get chance to taste one of our new brews.

I am looking forward to welcome you at The Wild Boar

Kindest Regards

Andy Lemm
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
171 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

The Wild Boar Inn is fine for a stay of only a couple of nights. Beyond that its remoteness might be a bit inconvenient. The rooms are quite modern and comfortable, though finding one's way from the room to Reception can be something of an orienteering exercise. It is in this navigation that you realise that the Inn is several hundred years old and that some of the doorways/ceilings are quite low.
The restaurant specialises in smoked fare and the servings are robust...... my "lamb" shank came from something much larger than a lamb. Breakfast is very good, with a wide choice of hot dishes from the kitchen and bircher muesli (the only time I have found it in the UK).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StayalotNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wbmanager, General Manager at The Wild Boar, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Thank you very kindly for taking the time to write a review about your stay here at The Wild Boar Inn.
I am pleased to read that you liked your room and breakfast and especially our homemade muesli.
Regarding your Lamb shank, after brief discussion with Marc our Head Chef, being from Cumbria himself he has confirmed it was definitely lamb and asked that I inform you ‘’they breed them big in Cumbria’’
The location of the Inn is what many guests find most appealing as it is located in the tranquil Gilpin Valley so an ideal spot to relax and unwind but it has the advantage of only being a short five minute drive to Lake Windermere, also as with many old buildings that have been extended over the centuries making your way from one end of the building can be less obvious than a purpose built newer building, however you do not have the same character in such building as you find here at The Wild Boar.

I do hope to be able to welcome you back to The Wild Boar in the near future.

Kindest Regards

Andy Lemm
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed overnight for wife's birthday 14 May. Staff, food, place fantastic probably best steak
I have ever eaten. Just a wonderful place. Staff and venue could not be better. Thank you all.
Loved the on site smokehouse and brewery. Great breakfast we will be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wbmanager, General Manager at The Wild Boar, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Steve T,

Thank you very much for your feedback following your recent stay with us.
It is extremely pleasing to read that you enjoy everything The Wild Boar has to offer.

If I can be of any assistance with any future bookings, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Kindest Regards

Andy Lemm
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
2.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.5 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,286 reviews
2.7 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#20 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
4.3 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wild Boar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wild Boar

Property: The Wild Boar
Address: Crook Road, Windermere LA23 3NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Windermere
#6 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wild Boar 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wild Boar with 33 bedrooms, grill, smokehouse and brewhouse nestles in a peaceful setting in the Gilpin Valley, Windermere close to the Lake. Benefiting from the beautiful surrounding countryside, including its own private woodland for guests to enjoy, whilst perfectly positioned to explore the rest of the great outdoors in the fabulous Lake District National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and TravelUp so you can book your The Wild Boar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wild Boar Hotel Crook
The Wild Boar Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing