We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Windermere weekend away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 108 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Windermere weekend away”
Reviewed 26 April 2012 via mobile

Smashing little place. Very friendly and a super location 5 minute walk from two town centres. Close to the lake itself and many pubs and places to eat. Afternoon tea was a treat and the breakfasts were also good.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zingersboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma Hawley H, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Thank you - it was great to have you stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    554
    77
    16
    2
    3
See reviews for
37
505
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
runcorn
1 review
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Having just returned from our 1st ever trip to the Lakes we felt a need to share with you our experience of a wonderful warm and friendly welcome that greeted us as soon as we stepped through the gate of this cosy and comfortable accommodation. Emma and Gregor were the best hosts you could possibly wish to meet. Greeted with hot tea and homemade cake trully a welcome after our train journey. Our room was cosy, warm and beautifully decorated situated on the ground floor next to the front door and we never heard a sound.Beds were the most comfortablist we have ever slept in away from home.Situated on a quiet side street ideal for Windermere and Bowness. Plenty of choice for breakfast served with a personal touch. Charming hosts thanks Emma and Gregor hope to see you again

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pamruncorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma Hawley H, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Thank you for that lovely review - we're so glad your surprise visit was such a success! Please come and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness
1 review
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Excuse me while I try not to gush too much about this place and it's owners. What an absolute LUCKY FIND! What I am after when I look for the perfect Bed and Breakfast is a combination of charm, location and those personal touches that show how much love the owners have put into the place and how they run it. Gregor and Emma showed us all these things. They are cool, fun, sweet and kind all rolled into one; this and their quirky little tid bits around the place made us feel so at home. Breakfast was sooooooo yummy, but really what I appreciated most was the warmth and sincerity of our wonderful hosts. Thank you so much guys. You have got a really lovely thing happening here. xx

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brooke C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma Hawley H, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
We're glad you founds us too! Thank you so much for those terrific tips on Oz cinema. Hope you enjoy the rest of your grand tour - wishing you a safe and wonderful journey! xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We stayed here for two nights at Easter and had a fantastic time. We thought it was a great location being in between Windermere and Bowness and we were glad it was off the main road as that was quite busy. We were welcomed by Emma with tea and carrot cake which was just what we needed after our long drive to get there.
Our room was great, we had a very comfortable bed, and it was very nicely decorated. In fact, the whole place was beautiful. Breakfast was also delicious.

We will definitely stay here next time we are in the Lake District!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annemarie906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma Hawley H, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Wow! Thank you! We're so glad you enjoyed the home baking and your comments on our quiet, but accessible, location are echoed by many of our guests. Hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Excellent welcome - greeted with tea and coffee and homemade cake.
Warm, cosy room with everything you need.
Breakfast - great choice, delicious.
Ideal location for Bowness or Windermere centres.
Thank you to Emma and Gregor! Hope to stay again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loubear83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma Hawley H, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Thank you for that wonderful review. We're really glad you enjoyed your stay and our lovely grub! We're busy re-styling many of our rooms at the moment, so hopefully you'll see some pleasant changes when you visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowthorne England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We stayed at Braemount House, soon to be renamed Rumdoodle, over the Easter long weekend this year, after it was recommended to us by friends.

It is a wonderful B&B, situated in a great location between Windermere and Bowness town centres, with only a few minutes walk to each of them and Windermere lake itself. You are welcomed by Emma and Gregor who make you feel at home from the moment you arrive and are more than happy to make sure you have everything you need. The house is decorated beautifully, with lots of small luxuries in the rooms, and the food is outstanding! There is not a thing I could complain about and would undoubtably recommend it and return there again in the future!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sgalliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma Hawley H, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thanks for that lovely review - and glad you enjoyed our great breakfast. We've taken time to source some of the best local and national suppliers and it seems to have paid off.. All the quality and luxury will remain under the new Rum Doodle name - hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

This place is a hidden gem,a very warm welcome on arrival,lovely and clean,love the deco,comfy bed,good breakfast ingrediants,and fresh coffee,glad we found it.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma Hawley H, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
We're delighted you enjoyed the vintage style - it's a work in progress so keep watching for new additions! Many thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
#2 of 108 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glenville House (Adults Only)
Glenville House (Adults Only)
#3 of 108 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Willowsmere
The Willowsmere
#7 of 108 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast

Property: Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast
Address: Sunny Bank Road, Windermere LA23 2EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set midway between Windermere and Bowness, vintage-styled Rum Doodle B&B is just a 12-minute downhill stroll away from the famous lake. We offer country house quality in a B&B setting with Egyptian cotton linens, an award-winning breakfast and complimentary WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Braemount House Hotel Windermere
Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing