We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #17 of 108 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
nottingham
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 25 January 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed in this BnB last May for my birthday weekens. Its took me a while to get round to writing this review but as it was so lovely i thought better late then never. Basically the bnb was perfect, the owners are so friendly and welcoming, the freshly squeezed orange juice, homemade scones, selection of cereals and fruit in the morning, the beautiful breakfast are all 10/10!!! We stayed in the loft room which had a seperate living area and this was absolutely stunning. Well worth the little bit extra for this room. The only tiny little thing which was a bit unfortunate was the shower was a little bit dodgy - not very powerful and went form hot to cold. (mighthave been sorted now though) This however does not take any positive away from this bnb and would reccomend anybody to stay in this bnb. Would deffinetly return here in the future!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlotte m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 26 January 2013
Thanks for that belated, but very welcome review of Rum Doodle! It was a pleasure to have you stay. Yes, the shower did go wrong for a day (we're very sorry!) but it was quickly repaired and continues to work perfectly! Hope to see you again this summer. Best wishes, Emma & Gregor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    560
    77
    17
    2
    4
See reviews for
39
510
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013

We loved our 2 night stay here at Rum Doodle, we arrived and was met by Beth the housekeeper and was shown to our room, we were asked if we would like some coffee which i thought was a lovely touch , as soon as we unpacked, coffee and homemade chocolate cake served on beautiful china was waiting for us , attention to detail is evident throughout and is very clear Emma and Gregor are passionate at what they do .... and they do it very well , Breakfast is fantastic with lots of choice and quality ingredients , the pancakes are to die for , we stayed in room 3 , it was spotlessly clean, again beautifully decorated and crisp white linen and white fluffy towels , lovely handwashes and shower gels provided, Emma and Gregor are very friendly and make you feel welcome, cant wait to stay again, we loved it x

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 24 January 2013
We're delighted you enjoyed our passion for great quality service here at Rum Doodle! Our pancakes, we too believe, are rather wonderful - the perfect winter warmer for breakfast! We look forwards to seeing you again soon. Best wishes, Emma & Gregor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solihull
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Can't go on about rum doodle enough allowed in room early met by the owners with key and then offered tea and delicious homemade chocolate cake then told us a bit about the place local eateries etc room 2 jungle room lovely warm with big bed full of pillows breakfast in our room brought to us and served if you want a quirky spotlessly clean welcoming b and b in the lakes I could not fault it thank you both we will return soon

Room Tip: Jungle room downstairs on front of house
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gaynortsolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 15 January 2013
Dear Gaynor, it was a real pleasure to host you. Glad we lived up to your expectations here at Rum Doodle, Windermere. All the very best for a successful 2013 in your own business! With very best wishes, Emma & Gregor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We always spend a lot of time trying to find nice places to stay and I am really glad that Rum Doodle lived up to the amazing reviews it gets. Soon after making our booking we got an email and friendly call from Emma confirming it.

We felt really welcome even before we arrived, with Emma volunteering for us to drop our bags off before check in as we had arrived early and were looking forward to making the most of our weekend break.

It is a pleasant 15 minute walk to Rum Doodle from Windermere station. When we arrived we were given a friendly welcome, shown to our room to drop our bags off, and were offered delicious cake and coffee/tea before we made our way back up the peaks.

We got great walking suggestions, maps, and bus times from Gregor and Emma.

Our room was spotlessly clean and nice and warm. The interior has beautiful decor.

Breakfast was super tasty. We went for the cooked breakfast and the blueberry pancakes which we loved.

We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to friends.

Thanks for making our visit to the Lake district amazing.

Seema and Paul

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seemaswaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 15 January 2013
We do like to be amazing here at Rum Roodle! We're over the moon that you enjoyed your stay with us, enjoyed all our special touches and the home-baked cake! We hope to see you again soon! Very best wishes, Emma & Gregor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2013

me and my husband stayed for 2 nights over the new year. We were welcomed with home made mince pies and tea in the dining room on arrival and Gregor chatted with us about the place, locality etc. We had breakfast in our room on the first morning and the menu had something for everyone. Our room was lovely, decorated with old maps and suitcases. The waffle robes were a lovely touch and not something many B&Bs provide. The décor in the hallway and dining room was equally lovely, I especially liked their take on the Christmas tree. Emma and Gregor's attention to detail is evident thought and they clearly take pride in their business and service.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxolly73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
Thank you so much, that really means a lot to us. We do take a great pride in Rum Doodle and aim to stay creative with our ever quirky stylish decor. Very best wishes, Emma & Gregor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

What a lovely place! My boyfriend and I booked very last minute and were surprised by the loveliness of this place. The black book in the room has lots of useful local information and the breakfast was delicious! I will also be recommending this place to friends and family.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tracy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
Many thanks - it really is the personal recommendations that count for us here at Rum Doodle. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Gregor and Emma are wonderful, friendly and genuine hosts with lots of handy tips for walking trips. The breakfasts are amazing. The rooms are beautiful and the beds comfy. The whole place has a welcoming and cosy feeling.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mewen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
Thank you! We do always try for beauty here at Rum Doodle!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
1.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,428 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.9 mi away
The Willowsmere
The Willowsmere
#9 of 108 in Windermere
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast

Property: Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast
Address: Sunny Bank Road, Windermere LA23 2EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set midway between Windermere and Bowness, vintage-styled Rum Doodle B&B is just a 12-minute downhill stroll away from the famous lake. We offer country house quality in a B&B setting with Egyptian cotton linens, an award-winning breakfast and complimentary WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Braemount House Hotel Windermere
Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing