We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #18 of 108 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First class welcome”
Reviewed 4 March 2013

From the moment we stepped through the door we loved it. Emma gave us a lovely friendly welcome and offered us tea or coffee with home made chocolate and ginger cake - just delicious. Breakfast couldn't be better if you tried, the pancakes are amazing and cooked breakfast first class, freshly squeezed orange juice and fresh fruit salad, not tinned as you sometimes get in b&bs, you certainly will not go hungry. The attention to detail here is brilliant, from the fresh milk for your tea and coffee in 'proper' cups and saucers to the decor and theme throughout, it is very unique and too lovely to describe, you need to go here to know what we mean. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisandAmelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 7 March 2013
You certainly won't go hungry at Rum Doodle, Windermere! But what's more, we really enjoy serving good quality food, be it our award-winning breakfast or our fresh home-baking. We always aim to be memorable, in a good way. Look forwards to seeing you again soon! Best wishes, Emma & Gregor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    556
    77
    16
    2
    4
See reviews for
38
507
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

The ascent of rum doodle is a book you will find in your room if you choose to stay here, it's a parody of the non fictional chronicles of mountaineering expeditions in Nepal, said to be in the top 1000 books you should read according to the guardian in 2009. Well That explains the guest house name!
My wife and I stayed here for one night in February during our 2 day break in the Lake District. This guest house is very impressive with reasonable rates and is Situated in a quiet residential street a few minutes from the main shopping area. We chose a twin room complete with 4 poster bed and all the creature comforts including en suite bathroom, flat screen tv, iPod docking station (nice touch) and tea and coffee making facilities with fresh milk. The room was nicely decorated with a contemporary feel.
I cant fall asleep on a clothes line like the wife! so for me It's always difficult to know if a bed is comfy or not, the proof is normally in the pudding and the pudding was very good.
Breakfast was very good with a impressive selection to fit most appetites, I couldn't resist the full Cumbrian fry up which was nicely cooked and more than enough to set me up for the mornings walk in the hills above derwent water.
In my opinion the rum doodle is competing well in a market that seems to up its ante year by year.
Hopefully, by the time i visit to the Lake District again I will have read a copy of the ascent of rum doodle as well as stopping in it again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank villabrummie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregor S, Manager at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
We're delighted you enjoyed the name Rum Doodle! While it's not quite Ulvetanna, we do love the association with climbing and world travel! Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013 via mobile

We stayed weekend 22nd Fed til Monday 25th, lovely rooms, friendly staff and owners seemed happy to help. We liked that the reviews got a reply do they took time out to read and comment on each review. If I was to be picky then the bathroom (shute) could do with a bit of an update, maybe power shower but to be fair wouldn't stop us from going back.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasonhartley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Rum Doodle so much! We note you comments on the power shower and are currently consulting on how we can revamp our plumbing without blowing the whole place up with water pressure!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 25 February 2013 via mobile

My wife and I chose Rum Doodle for our vacation to Lake District from 24 to 26Feb. We were pleasantly surprised with the friendliness and warmth of Gregor and Emma. The suite we stayed was gorgeous, cosy and clean. The breakfast was great with smoked salmon and scrambled eggs and the coffee was freshly brewed. I can't ask for more!

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MF S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
It was a pleasure to upgrade you during our slightly more quiet period here at Rum Doodle and we're delighted you enjoyed your Windermere trip down memory lane!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night for his birthday treat on the 2nd Feb 2013.
This is a fantastic B&B. The best welcome we have ever had from anywhere we have stayed over the years. The fresh coffee was lovely and the chocolate cake was yummy.
The room was very very clean and comfortable. It's a nice touch having a bath in the room but I think we would stay in a different room next time as we do prefer a shower.
The breakfast tasted as good as it looked on the plate and there was a good choice on the menu.
Wished we could have stayed longer and we will definately go back to this lovely place.
Oh and now we know why its called Rum Doodle!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dazbrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 5 February 2013
We're so glad you loved Rum Doodle so much! Please come again and try our other lovely rooms!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed in this BnB last May for my birthday weekens. Its took me a while to get round to writing this review but as it was so lovely i thought better late then never. Basically the bnb was perfect, the owners are so friendly and welcoming, the freshly squeezed orange juice, homemade scones, selection of cereals and fruit in the morning, the beautiful breakfast are all 10/10!!! We stayed in the loft room which had a seperate living area and this was absolutely stunning. Well worth the little bit extra for this room. The only tiny little thing which was a bit unfortunate was the shower was a little bit dodgy - not very powerful and went form hot to cold. (mighthave been sorted now though) This however does not take any positive away from this bnb and would reccomend anybody to stay in this bnb. Would deffinetly return here in the future!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlotte m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 26 January 2013
Thanks for that belated, but very welcome review of Rum Doodle! It was a pleasure to have you stay. Yes, the shower did go wrong for a day (we're very sorry!) but it was quickly repaired and continues to work perfectly! Hope to see you again this summer. Best wishes, Emma & Gregor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013

We loved our 2 night stay here at Rum Doodle, we arrived and was met by Beth the housekeeper and was shown to our room, we were asked if we would like some coffee which i thought was a lovely touch , as soon as we unpacked, coffee and homemade chocolate cake served on beautiful china was waiting for us , attention to detail is evident throughout and is very clear Emma and Gregor are passionate at what they do .... and they do it very well , Breakfast is fantastic with lots of choice and quality ingredients , the pancakes are to die for , we stayed in room 3 , it was spotlessly clean, again beautifully decorated and crisp white linen and white fluffy towels , lovely handwashes and shower gels provided, Emma and Gregor are very friendly and make you feel welcome, cant wait to stay again, we loved it x

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 24 January 2013
We're delighted you enjoyed our passion for great quality service here at Rum Doodle! Our pancakes, we too believe, are rather wonderful - the perfect winter warmer for breakfast! We look forwards to seeing you again soon. Best wishes, Emma & Gregor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,332 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,419 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glenville House (Adults Only)
Glenville House (Adults Only)
#3 of 108 in Windermere
299 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
#2 of 108 in Windermere
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast

Property: Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast
Address: Sunny Bank Road, Windermere LA23 2EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set midway between Windermere and Bowness, vintage-styled Rum Doodle B&B is just a 12-minute downhill stroll away from the famous lake. We offer country house quality in a B&B setting with Egyptian cotton linens, an award-winning breakfast and complimentary WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Braemount House Hotel Windermere
Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing