We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 111 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
mattgilray
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

This place is ideal. We booked the small double room, and yes it is small but you only sleep there & its cheaper than the rest of the rooms. Lovely, friendly hosts who offered fresh coffee & cake on arrival & accommodated our request for an early breakfast one day. Free parking, close enough to Bowness. There is nothing to fault about this place.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattgilray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
We always strive for excellence here at Rum Doodle, thank you! Room 3 is our smallest room, but very cosy and the antique brass bed gives it a delightful character. We love it - and are glad you did too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    550
    77
    15
    2
    3
See reviews for
37
501
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Rum Doodle recently. We stayed in room 7 which was nicely decorated and clean. We were the only guests on the Thursday night so had the breakfast area to ourselves on Friday. Breakfast was delicious, cooked Friday, salmon on Saturday. Emma gave us a friendly welcome and recommended a great walk starting from Grasmere. I would recommend staying in Rum Doodle and hopefully we will do so again in the future.

Room Tip: Room 7 was bright and airy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
We love walking the lake District Fells here at Rum Doodle and always take pleasure in recommending our discoveries to our guests - delighted you found it so helpful!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worsley, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

Had a lovely stay at Rum Doodle, the hotel was full of character but without over trying, superb owners and staff, breakfast was quality, all freshly made and just spot on. The hotel has a very relaxed atmosphere and I would definately return without a doubt, if you are thinking of trying it you will not be disappointed I assure you.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennie_k120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
We're delighted you enjoyed Rum Doodle's relaxed atmosphere! For us it's all about creating the space for guests to kick back, take it easy and enjoy the wonderful Lake District .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

What a great find!

The hosts are great, welcoming us with a glass of wine as we arrived later in the evening. They were lovely throughout our two night stay, really friendly but not at all intrusive.
We stayed in The Summit room, which is an attic suite. The whole place is beautifully designed and the private living room within our suite was great to have. The bed was comfortable and we both had one of the best night's sleep we have had for ages. The breakfast was excellent, I tried the scrambled eggs with smoked salmon on a toasted muffin the first morning, and it was delicious. I went for the full English on the second morning which was incredible. The ingredients were top quality, beautifully cooked, fresh and locally sourced ; superb! The dining room is lovely, really fresh and quirky.

The location is great, being between Windermere and bowness, only about 5 minute's walk from each, and all the lovely bars, pubs and eateries that they have to offer. There are walks that can be done more or less straight from the door, or use it as a base to explore the rest of the beautiful Lake District.

I would recommend this place to everyone! Can't wait to visit again!

Room Tip: The Summit attic suite is fantastic if you want a bit more space as the living room is a great addit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happy75london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
...and we're so glad you found Rum Doodle! Thanks for that terrific recommendation - hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

From the moment we stepped through the door we loved it. Emma gave us a lovely friendly welcome and offered us tea or coffee with home made chocolate and ginger cake - just delicious. Breakfast couldn't be better if you tried, the pancakes are amazing and cooked breakfast first class, freshly squeezed orange juice and fresh fruit salad, not tinned as you sometimes get in b&bs, you certainly will not go hungry. The attention to detail here is brilliant, from the fresh milk for your tea and coffee in 'proper' cups and saucers to the decor and theme throughout, it is very unique and too lovely to describe, you need to go here to know what we mean. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisandAmelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 7 March 2013
You certainly won't go hungry at Rum Doodle, Windermere! But what's more, we really enjoy serving good quality food, be it our award-winning breakfast or our fresh home-baking. We always aim to be memorable, in a good way. Look forwards to seeing you again soon! Best wishes, Emma & Gregor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

The ascent of rum doodle is a book you will find in your room if you choose to stay here, it's a parody of the non fictional chronicles of mountaineering expeditions in Nepal, said to be in the top 1000 books you should read according to the guardian in 2009. Well That explains the guest house name!
My wife and I stayed here for one night in February during our 2 day break in the Lake District. This guest house is very impressive with reasonable rates and is Situated in a quiet residential street a few minutes from the main shopping area. We chose a twin room complete with 4 poster bed and all the creature comforts including en suite bathroom, flat screen tv, iPod docking station (nice touch) and tea and coffee making facilities with fresh milk. The room was nicely decorated with a contemporary feel.
I cant fall asleep on a clothes line like the wife! so for me It's always difficult to know if a bed is comfy or not, the proof is normally in the pudding and the pudding was very good.
Breakfast was very good with a impressive selection to fit most appetites, I couldn't resist the full Cumbrian fry up which was nicely cooked and more than enough to set me up for the mornings walk in the hills above derwent water.
In my opinion the rum doodle is competing well in a market that seems to up its ante year by year.
Hopefully, by the time i visit to the Lake District again I will have read a copy of the ascent of rum doodle as well as stopping in it again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank villabrummie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregor S, Manager at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
We're delighted you enjoyed the name Rum Doodle! While it's not quite Ulvetanna, we do love the association with climbing and world travel! Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013 via mobile

We stayed weekend 22nd Fed til Monday 25th, lovely rooms, friendly staff and owners seemed happy to help. We liked that the reviews got a reply do they took time out to read and comment on each review. If I was to be picky then the bathroom (shute) could do with a bit of an update, maybe power shower but to be fair wouldn't stop us from going back.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasonhartley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Rum Doodle so much! We note you comments on the power shower and are currently consulting on how we can revamp our plumbing without blowing the whole place up with water pressure!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
#2 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glenville House (Adults Only)
Glenville House (Adults Only)
#3 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Willowsmere
The Willowsmere
#7 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast

Property: Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast
Address: Sunny Bank Road, Windermere LA23 2EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set midway between Windermere and Bowness, vintage-styled Rum Doodle B&B is just a 12-minute downhill stroll away from the famous lake. We offer country house quality in a B&B setting with Egyptian cotton linens, an award-winning breakfast and complimentary WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Braemount House Hotel Windermere
Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing