We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I want to go back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #19 of 107 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 March 2013

I booked the Rum Doodle for my boyfriend's birthday canoeing trip to Windermere. I found it through the excellent reviews on Trip Advisor, and I was NOT disappointed! After a long drive we were welcomed by a cup of tea and a delicious slice of homemade carrot cake from Emma, then shown to our room. We stayed in the attic suite, room 9 (the Summit), which was beautifully decorated and very homely. We loved the separate lounge area in our suite, which was really cosy and nice to relax in at the end of a long day of walking. The breakfast in the morning was incredible (we both had the full, cooked breakfast) and really set us up nicely for the long day ahead. You could really tell that no expense was spared when it came to the ingredients used, and it was delicious! Location wise, the B&B was only a short walk to Bowness and the lake itself- which was perfect to go for our evening meal since we didn't want to take our car. In the hotel room there was a black book full of recommendations for things to do, including restaurants and activities. Each of the restaurants in the book were tried and tested by Emma & Gregor themselves, so you can be sure that where you are going will be good! We chose an Indian restaurant in Bowness, and were not disappointed. They even go as far as to print off the local cinema listings and place them in the book, should you need them, which shows a real attention to detail!
I would definitely recommend this place to anyone, and everyone! It really made our trip extra special, my only regret being that we only stayed one night! Cannot wait to go back.

Room Tip: The attic suite was lovely and private, with lots of room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rez92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2013

Please come back, you'll be very welcome! We're delighted you enjoyed our attention to detail here at Rum Doodle. We do aim to stand out from the crowd and really love it when we are so appreciated! Best wishes, Emma & Gregor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (670)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

424 - 430 of 670 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2013

Having honeymooned in the Lake District 5 years ago we returned for an anniversay break and chose the Rum Doodle for a 2 night stay based on the excellent reviews and the quirky 'quintessentially english' theme.

We couldn't have been more happy with our choice! After a stressful morning with adverse weather conditions affecting our route to Windermere, we were most thankful for the warm reception and home baked cake and tea!!

We stayed in 'The Summit' (room 9) and found this to be spacious, warm and homely and very comfortable as well as being beautifully presented.

We both agreed the breakfasts were as good as any 5* establishment we have stayed in and service during this time was personal and attentative.

We look forward to returning in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dapm1520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2013

We are so glad you braved the un seasonable Spring snow to be with us at Rum Doodle! We're delighted we helped you enjoy your anniversary so much and really look forwards to having you back with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We visited in March and it is a definite recommendation from us - boutique style guesthouse, very friendly hosts, fantastic breakfast, beautifully decorated - it's full marks all round! Do visit Rum Doodle for a B and B with class.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fitmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2013

We always try to be the top here at Rum Doodle, Windermere - thank you so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Myself and my partner stayed here last weekend (Sat & Sun night) in the Shute Room. We were made to feel very welcome by Emma and Gregor (tea and freshly baked cake - you can't get better than that), and room was absolutely beautiful with lovely views, extremely comfortable. Thge only little niggle we had was the attic room above us, if anyone is walking around you hear every step (someone was very heavy footed the first night we stayed) - apart from that it didn't spoil what was otherwise a lovely weekend away.

Room Tip: Would recommend eating at: The Angel Inn (head towards Windermere) its about a 15minute walk from Ru...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skenn634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2013

Thanks for that, glad you enjoyed the room and the Rum Doodle home baking! Apologies, if you felt disturbed by the room above, it's only a concern we've heard once before - so hopefully not a regular occurrence. Rum Doodle is well off the main Windermere/Bowness road and in a generally very quiet spot, so most of our guests comment on what a peaceful night's sleep they've had! Very best wishes, Emma & Gregor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights for our first anniversary last week. It really is a wonderful place, and Emma the owner was great, very interesting and helpful. She welcomed us on our arrival (after troubled journey) with a choice of hot drinks with home made carrot cake or wine.... We opted for the wine, which was perfect and much appreciated! We stayed in the very lovely Wish Room 5. Such interesting, chic, vintage, classy decoration all over the house. I picked up lots of redecoration ideas much to my husbands frustration. Lovely touches such as home made biscuits in our room with choices of teas, fresh coffee with fresh milk. Four poster romantic and comfortable bed. All the rooms are themed to the Book 'The ascent of Rum Doodle' (which we have since ordered and look forward to reading). The black book in each room is very helpful - it also explains the the name of the B&B? The breakfast is perfect with several options to suit everyone. Perfect situation for both Bowness and Windermere.

All in all we had a really lovely stay and we have recommended it to all our friends. We look forward to visiting again. People should contact Emma directly to make bookings. Thank you Emma and team x

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2013

Part of the joy of running Rum Doodle is when we can really help our guests de-stress and enjoy the beauty and peace of the Lake District. We're delighted our recipe worked for you and are really grateful for the recommendation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

We stayed for four nights at Rum Doodle and thoroughly enjoyed it. It is beautifully decorated with charming touches in each room. An ideal location only 5 mins from Bowness and Winderemere either way. One point to note is read the black book should you stay here - it really does put you towards the best restaurants the Lake District has to offer!

The breakfast was gorgeous with really fresh local ingredients.

Initially we has booked the attic room but I wouldnt recommend this for tall people! But, Emma recognised that we should have booked a bigger room and we were upgraded to the Sumit on the last night which was much more spacious, again beautifully decorated with views towards the lake.

Really would recommend a stay here and looking forward to going back. We even bought the Rum Doodle book the place is based upon!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate12304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2013

Hi guys, we love that you enjoyed your time with us at Rum Doodle so much and that you found our black book recommendations so useful. Yes, our two loft rooms can be a little tricky for very tall people and we'll always try to move tall guests to a higher ceiling-ed room when we have the availability. See you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

So we stayed here during our Honeymoon in England last month ... I was slightly skeptical about staying at a BnB cuz I've never done it before but their website and reviews were pretty interesting...so we went ahead. I have to say it was the best place we stayed at during our 10 day trip to England ... the rooms, the owners, the location of this place, their breakfast and their stories are absolutely something to experience it yourself.

Anybody who wants to goto Lake District for a romantic holiday shouldn't think twice to stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmitK44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2013

Hi Guys, we're so pleased that you enjoyed your honeymoon stay at Rum Doodle so much! It was a delight to have you stay with us and we wish you all the very best in your future life together! With all our best wishes, Emma & Gregor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
1.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
470 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
#2 of 107 in Windermere
714 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Willowsmere
The Willowsmere
#10 of 107 in Windermere
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast

Address: Sunny Bank Road, Windermere LA23 2EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range: £77 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set midway between Windermere and Bowness, vintage-styled Rum Doodle B&B is just a 12-minute downhill stroll away from the famous lake. We offer country house quality in a B&B setting with Egyptian cotton linens, an award-winning breakfast and complimentary WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Braemount House Hotel Windermere
Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing