We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best stay ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #18 of 107 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We Visited lake district at the beginning of September, It was our first time in lake district so i did some research on hotels and B&B to make our stay comfortable as possible. Came across "Rum Doodle" on booking.com with great reviews about staff, location etc. We booked one night and it exceeded the expectations i had from reading the reviews.Finding the property was easy as it only took us 20 mins walk from bowness as we got off at bowness from the tour bus. You can get to the property in less than 10 mins from windereme railway station. We checked in around 4:30 and we were welcomed by Emma who kindly offered us tea and homemade orange and choclate cake (wish i had the whole cake to myself).The room was clean, tastefully decorated with antique furniture that complimented the properties quirkiness. The property it self is about 134 years old but in very good condition. Parking was ample, roadside parking is available too. The property sits in a quite location with minimum traffic.
The rooms was replenished with different flavors of tea, coffee and hot chocolate, it also had a pack of homemade cookies (they were yummy!!!!). Bed was comfortable, bathroom was clean, fresh towels and soap was provided. Breakfast was the best i ever had in a B& B, breakfast is made on demand from the menu provided between 8:30 - 9:30. I had blueberry pancakes with mapple syrup, it was Delicious. Cornflakes, fruits, toast, jams etc is available on a buffet. Emma and Gregor are doing a great job and i will definitely return. thank you for making our stay memorable.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashkeentraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Thank you for that amazing review! Good memories are what exciting travel is all about - and at Rum Doodle we're always do our bit to help! Hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (669)
There are newer reviews for Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

370 - 376 of 669 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2013

We had a couple of nights at Rum Doodle after we married in August 2013 and thoroughly enjoyed the break. Emma was very welcoming with tea and delicious cake when we arrived, and she spent some time getting to know us. She gave us advice to help us make the most of our time in Windermere, even advising us on the most picturesque way to drive home! The room was comfortable and we loved the fact that the B&B theme was based on a rather quirky book. Breakfast menu was excellent. Bed was large and comfortable. Everything clean and the service was excellent too.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 1, Binder, next to the dining room. Although we heard guests going upstairs later...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

We're so glad you enjoyed Rum Doodle so much and thanks for those terrific comments. Rum Doodle is an old house an sometimes guest noise does carry a little, but being on a quiet back road we think we're probably a lot quieter than places on the main road.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Me and my fiancé had a fantastic stay here . Emma and Gregor were very welcoming and accommodating and and also very helpful the accommodation was second to none and we has a fantastic time. Love the style of the accommodation very quainte and quirky breakfast was delicious . We have already planned to stay there again very soon . Many thanks Kelly and David x

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kellymarie2109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Many thanks Kelly and David - and congratulations on your engagement! We love it when Rum Doodle can provide a romantic setting for our valued guests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We spent a lovely week here in July 2013. We stayed in Room 6 (Shute) and would readily recommend Rum Doodle. We normally stay in 4-5 star hotels and this was the first B&B we had stayed in. After the genuine warmth and care provided by Emma, I have to say that we are converted. The personal attention to detail (asking how my chest infection was, always taking time out to see how our day was and providing details of the weather on a daily basis) really made a difference. Having breakfast in the room was a real treat and every day the standard of breakfast was fantastic. My husband even had candles included with his blueberry pancakes (DELICIOUS!!) for his birthday. Emma & Gregor have thought of everything: from the welcome cookies and fresh coffee in the room; to the lovely products in the bathroom; the decor of the rooms, and a cup of tea on arrival. The B&B is situated in a quiet road which is a bonus. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 6 - Shute - as you can have breakfast in the room; you also have a lovely view from the window
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abbey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

...and it was lovely to have you at Rum Doodle for five days during this wonderful summer. We're delighted you liked the place and pleased that you enjoyed our peaceful yet central location, just 10 minutes stroll from the village centres and Lake Windermere.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

What a lovely experience. Emma and Greg were so welcoming and so helpful with information. The house was a delight and the breakfasts were so good and varied. The accommodation was spotless, restful and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Congratulations to all of the staff for making our stay such a pleasant one. All best wishes for the future success of Rum Doodle. We shall certainly recommend it.
Brian, Vicky Paul./

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2013

Thank you so much for those kind words and especially the recognition of our great team of people here at Rum Doodle, Windermere!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights (Aug 30th to Sep 1st 2013) and can safely say this is the best
bed and breakfast we have stayed in. The place is full of character, super clean, and you have absolutely everything you need. Gregor and Emma are really friendly and suggested things to see and do (even though our legs didn't quite carry us right up to Ambleside!!) Thanks a lot, we'll definitely be back! ¡Hasta pronto! Javier & Rachel

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rach_m86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

...and it was fantastic to have you both stay with as at Rum Doodle! Your wonderful smiles as you left us reminded us that running a funky B&B is all about creating great memories for our guests - thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Exceptional welcome with tea / coffee and home made cake. Rooms (2) both outstandng standard. Breakfast - large choice - we had 3 different versions for the family - all were exceptional - fish particularly so. Brilliant service from genuinely helpful and friendly host family and staff. We shall certainly return!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J1mJ1mJ1m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2013

We always aim to be outstanding and are so glad you found us so! It was a pleasure to have your family stay with us at Rum Doodle and we look forwards to seeing you again in the lovely Lakes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
0.7 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Willowsmere
The Willowsmere
#11 of 107 in Windermere
384 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
#2 of 107 in Windermere
704 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Hideaway At Windermere
The Hideaway At Windermere
#4 of 107 in Windermere
1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast

Address: Sunny Bank Road, Windermere LA23 2EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range: £86 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set midway between Windermere and Bowness, vintage-styled Rum Doodle B&B is just a 12-minute downhill stroll away from the famous lake. We offer country house quality in a B&B setting with Egyptian cotton linens, an award-winning breakfast and complimentary WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Braemount House Hotel Windermere
Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing