We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great rooms, great breakfast, lovely couple.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 111 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great rooms, great breakfast, lovely couple.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed Valentines weekend, 14th - 17th Feb. This was our second visit and certainly wont be our last. The rooms are well equipped, beautifully decorated and if you do have any issues with anything then Emma and Gregor will do the upmost to help if they can. With a great choice of breakfast and truly home made biscuits (witnessed with my own eyes when I asked for a ice bucket). Emma and Gregor are two of the nicest people you could meet and nothing seems to be too much trouble. Keep up the good work guys, repeat customers can't be wrong!!

Room Tip: I would prefer Shute, get your breakfast delivered to your room but The Summit was lovely and quirky...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasonhartley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
...and it was lovely to have you back with us at Rum Doodle, we're delighted you enjoyed your stay so much! Very best wishes,

Emma & Gregor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    546
    74
    12
    2
    3
See reviews for
37
491
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Had a wonderful stay over valentines weekend. This was a treat for my special someone. We both enjoyed our stay imensly. This b&b offers a wonderful and welcoming stay in a quiet location. As anyone who has stayed here will tell you emma and gregor will make you feel very welcome and give you any advice on where to go and what to do in the local area. You will also be provided with the best b&b breakfast I have ever had.

Perfect hosts in a perfect location.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma Hawley H, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
That is praise indeed! We do like to think our Rum Doodle breakfasts are beyond compare and we're delighted you enjoyed them so much. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Just spent three days in the lake district during red alert storms. Rum Doodle was very welcoming, the rooms warm and cosy, the afternoon tea and breakfasts tasty and filling. Even though the weather was against us, we still had a lovely few days in Windermere and this B and B was an excellent base.

The owners are lovely and knowledgeable about the attractions we would like. They gave us their time to sort out worthwhile places to visit and we were not disappointed.

We enjoyed our stay and would visit again.

Thank you.

Room Tip: The summit is worth climbing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vee2852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma Hawley H, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you - we're so glad you made the ascent and enjoyed the view from on high! It may be winter outside, but Rum Doodle always stays warm and cosy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

I have mixed feelings about this place. Dont get me wrong, we enjoyed our stay here - My partner and I stayed here last week after getting a package deal, which was good value - including afternoon tea (which was fabulous), lake cruise tickets, prosecco, it was meant to include rose petals which weren't in the room but this didn't bother us! And breakfast (also very very good) We had a lovely cosy room - 'the summit' which has a separate little living room, and the bedroom itself was lovely. A few things why I cannot give it top marks, the TV in the living room was tiny and it didn't receive a signal at all so couldn't get any channels. We would have seen someone about this but after around 6 pm there was no one to be seen to ask. The room's hallway had a funny damp smell, which was a bit off putting as you entered the room. The bathroom was dissapointing and not to the same standard as the bedroom or living room and I feel it really let's it down. Also the general upkeep of the room let it down, I know hotel/b&b rooms go through a lot of wear and tear but the doors were very much in need of a paint, and some of the walls, and the shower screen had some mould building in the the bottom. I don't mean to be harsh but I've stayed in a lot of b&b 's in windermere and bowness and for the same money and naturally compare this to my precious visits. This is a real shame as it's a really quirky place, it could be amazing! Overall I think we would stay elsewhere when we go back to windermere, but it's certainly not a bad place to stay.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank LJmose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma Hawley H, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Thanks for the good points, we'll certainly address the negatives about touching up paintwork etc. We're a little surprised you had a problem with the TV, shame you didn't mention it that evening or the following morning so we could have done something about it. Hope you find something that suits you better in Windermere next time. Best wishes, Emma & Gregor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

Personally I think this B&B was over and above its descriptions. Without a doubt boutique luxury. An absolutely wonderful stay for a special occasion (first night leaving our 16month old behind). Wonderful coffee on arrival and an outstanding full English in the morning. Fantastic interior design, lovely hot powerful shower and endless hot water for soaking in the bath after a long walk. Great friendly service. Couldn't have asked for anything more!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 1AnnaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma Hawley H, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Thank you so much! We hope it's the small touches and the personal service that helps us stand out from the crowd here at Rum Doodle. Best wishes, Emma & Gregor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

First of all let me say we didn't have a bad stay here, the b&b is pretty well kept and the breakfast was fantastic. It's also perfectly situated right between Windermere and Bowness with a short walk to each.
We did book the room as part of a deal though and as such we got a rather dark and pokey room which a double bed hardly fits into. Fine, but even so for £80 a night, it was sailing pretty close to the wind as far as pricing goes.

What I have to mark the place down for is the strange incident that occurred at the end of our stay.

We paid in advance for the stay, but my wife was under the impression there was a £30 excess for Saturday night. However, when she offered to pay this we were told that was not the case.

Some hours later when we arrived back home she saw that they had called us to say there had been a mistake and that £30 WAS owing after all. No problem we said and explained that we would send a cheque as soon as poss (the Friday of the following week was the earliest opportunity). Bizarrely this then led to a number of missed calls over the weekend with messages asking us to call back. When we did, my wife had a very odd call with the owner where he seemed to suggest that legal action would be taken against us if the cheque did not arrive soon.... Ex squeeze me? Baking powder?

Now I completely understand that businesses need to protect their revenue and it is perfectly understandable that mistakes are made. However hounding customers for a tiny amount like this and especially implying legal action is just unacceptable. Especially when you consider that the original error was not ours to begin with. Benefit of the doubt would have been wise in this instance, given that the cheque arrived the day after the weird phone call.

I don't like giving poor scores like this, but I also hope that Rum Doodle take this feedback into account when dealing with future customers.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank stuartsjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma Hawley H, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
We are so sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations. The deal you were on in our small double room meant that you actually paid £52 for bed & breakfast per night, with £65 worth of extras, including afternoon tea on arrival, but as you arrived after 6pm, we served to you the following day, a lake cruise, a complimentary bottle of Prosecco, rose petals on your bed and a small box of chocolates. I think most people would agree, that represents good value.
We made a genuine mistake in thinking you had paid the £30 Saturday night supplement. As you can appreciate, Sunday mornings are a busy time as we check out 9 rooms & clear breakfast!
As soon as we realised our mistake, we called you asking if we could take payment from a card over the telephone. You offered to send a cheque, which was fine. However, the cheque took a further 9 days to arrive, so we don't think it was unreasoanble to contact you to find out what was happening. £30 may seem little to you, but we are a small business and as winter offers simply cover our costs, every penny counts!
This is the first time we've ever had to chase a guest for payment & didn't like doing so, but we do feel that all of this could have been avoided, if you had simply kept us informed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at the Rum Doodle. From the moment the door was answered until we handed our key back this morning the whole stay has been wonderful. We had booked The Summit, an attic suite and we were not disappointed. It offered a lovely sitting room to sit, relax and drink the complimentary, tea/coffee and eat the fantastic cakes, home made biscuits and we'd only been there 10 minutes! Nothing was too much trouble and the breakfasts were beautiful. We would definitely return and would definitely return.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma Hawley H, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Hi guys thanks so much for that lovely review, so glad you enjoyed Rum Doodle!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
3.7 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
#2 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glenville House (Adults Only)
Glenville House (Adults Only)
#3 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Hideaway At Windermere
The Hideaway At Windermere
#4 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast

Property: Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast
Address: Sunny Bank Road, Windermere LA23 2EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set midway between Windermere and Bowness, vintage-styled Rum Doodle B&B is just a 12-minute downhill stroll away from the famous lake. We offer country house quality in a B&B setting with Egyptian cotton linens, an award-winning breakfast and complimentary WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Braemount House Hotel Windermere
Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing