We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely atmosphere, fab place to stay, highly recommend.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #16 of 107 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Rum Doodle is perfectly situated, just a short stroll to Lake Windemere or into Windermere town centre. The owners made us feel really welcome from arrival and this continued throughout our stay. The room was lovely: cosy and clean with fluffy towels, complimentary tea, coffee and biscuits with fresh milk available throughout the day. Our deal included rose petals on the bed and luxury choclates and a lovely afternoon tea. We also had a bottle of prosecco brought to our room and enjoyed a boat trip on the lake. Our room also had a DVD player and there's an eclectic mix of DVDs to borrow if you fancy a quiet night in. Breakfast was brilliant, I wish we'd have stayed for a few more nights to sample everything from the menu! It's the quirky details that also make the difference here and it's certainly worth a visit, it's so relaxing and we'll certainly be staying again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sofiak1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Thank you so much - hope to see you back at Rum Doodle soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (688)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

324 - 330 of 688 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2014

This was a birthday present for my friend and I to have a couple of days away. As she said it wasn't good it was wonderful!
We had bought a special deal which included a cream tea when we arrived, a bottle of Prosecco and a trip on Lake Windermere.
The cream tea was lovely, the bedroom was comfortable, the decor quirky and the breakfast was superb. We had the scrambled egg and smoked salmon, the blueberry pancake and the smoked haddock and poached egg. My friend said, it was the best poached egg she'd ever had outside her home!
The service was great and our host and hostess took great care of us , without being intrusive.
The not so good reviews forget that this is a B&B and a classy one too but if you want a 5 Star hotel go there and pay for it........
It's a great place and I'd thoroughly recommend it to anyone.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Christine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

It was a delight to have you stay with us for your special occasion and we're so pleased you loved the place and the food. We do try to provide excellent value for money and the Visit England inspector seems to agree, saying Rum Doodle offers country house quality in a B&B setting. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

Rum Doodle is a unique and really pretty family run vintage style place to stay. Firstly, the location is excellent a short stroll into the centre of Bowness, yet hidden away in a quiet residential side street.
We have stayed in the area a number of times at luxury hotels such as Linthewaite House, and can honestly say the personalised service you receive here really makes a difference to your stay that doesn't compare to even places like Linthewaite. Our communication with the owners Emma and Gregor was excellent from the moment we made our first enquiry. Upon arrival we were impressed with Gregor's friendly hospitality, home baked scones and tea in the dining room and then were wowed by Room 6 Shute. It looked even better in the flesh than on the website. Quirky and modern, gorgeous comfortable four poster bed, petals and chocolates and a free bottle of Prosecco. Each morning we were served breakfast by Gregor in our room. Breakfast was delicious and plenty of choice. For the price we paid on the deal we had which also included a free boat trip from Bowness to Ambleside, it really was excellent value for money.
You can see that the owners take a real pride in customer service and nothing is too much trouble. We didn't see much of Emma during our stay but found Gregor to be a lovely guy, chatty, friendly and helpful. It's a gorgeous place to stay and we would definitely recommend and stay again. Emma and Gregor have done a great job on this property and seem a genuinely nice couple so much so it makes it even more of a pleasure stay here. Thank you

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jen362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Thank you so much! We're delighted you enjoyed Rum Doodle - and our special springtime deal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We stopped for 2 nights and wish we could have stayed longer.From the minute you stepped in and you are offered tea and home made cakes to the fantastic choice of breakfast Emma and Gregor couldn't do enough. The room we stayed in was very clean and had robes and fluffy towels, along with tea,coffee and lovely biscuits. I would highly recommend Rum Doodle to anyone and I would defy you to find anything to complain about.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

...and thank you for being 5 star guests! Delighted you enjoyed Rum Doodle!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

My wife and I visited last weekend on a voucher offer and stayed in the Shute room. The excellent communication prior to our visit ensured we were ready for an excellent stay. The room was excellent including all the decorative touches. We were welcomed with a pot of tea. Our stay was very enjoyable and the attentiveness of our hosts was spot on. The in room breakfast experience is outstanding the breakfast itself probably the best we have had. The little extras in the deal, Prosecco, Petals on the bed, Home made biscuits, Afternoon Tea and 2 tickets for a boat trip on Windermere made our stay even better and what unbelievable value! Both Emma and Gregor were excellent hosts and they clearly passionate about delivering an outstanding guest experience each and every time. In this day and age this needs to be embraced and celebrated. Thank-you.

Room Tip: Shute room which has in room breakfast experience is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank warrington70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma Hawley H, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

...and thak you so much too! We're absolutely delighted you enjoyed Rum Doodle so much - and breakfast our Shute bedroom in particular. Hope to see you again soon! Very best wishes, Emma & Gregor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Just returned from a 3-night stay at Rum Doodle -what a find! A delightfully quirky guest house that offers top class food and service. There is a fabulous choice of breakfasts -we tried 3 of them: the full Cumbrian breakfast; porridge with banana and nuts; blueberry pancakes with fruit compote. All were delicious, excellent quality and beautifully prepared and presented. The freshly juiced orange each morning was a further bonus.
There were added touches in the rooms, such as fab toiletries, wonderful teas and coffee and home made biscuits. The lovely hosts, Emma and Gregor, have obviously put a great deal of thought into all they provide. In sum, Rum Doodle is an exceptional B+B.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma Hawley H, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

...and you were expectional guests - so lovely to have you stay with us at Rum Doodle! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Had a fantastic 2 night break here. Emma and Gregor were great hosts, making us feel very welcome as soon as we arrived. The place was lovely, beautifully decorated, and the breakfast was amazing! Cream tea, prosecco and breakfast in the room made things even better!!! Great location for wandering around, and very helpful recommendations. Hoping to come back again and have recommended to others already!

Room Tip: ground floor room means breakfast in the room! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura21587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

We're delighted you enjoyed Rum Doodle so much, thank you! We can easily serve breakfast in both rooms 2 (Jungle) and 6 (Shute) for those who like a leisurely wake up!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
0.6 mi away
The Lamplighter
The Lamplighter
#18 of 20 in Windermere
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,451 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Willowsmere
The Willowsmere
#9 of 107 in Windermere
415 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thornbank Guest House
Thornbank Guest House
#8 of 107 in Windermere
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast

Address: Sunny Bank Road, Windermere LA23 2EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range: £72 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set midway between Windermere and Bowness, vintage-styled Rum Doodle B&B is just a 12-minute downhill stroll away from the famous lake. We offer country house quality in a B&B setting with Egyptian cotton linens, an award-winning breakfast and complimentary WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Braemount House Hotel Windermere
Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing