We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will definitely return”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #17 of 108 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Will definitely return”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Lovely welcome. Owners were away but the lady (forgotten name) was brilliant. Very pleasant manner and really made our stay. Room small but very clean four poster bed (a bit too large for room) but we both had a fantastic nights sleep.
Breakfast was delicious and very filling.

We did the living social deal and cannot complain about value for money. The ferry trip alone would have cost us about £15. Also included was proseco and afternoon tea and even handmade chocs - what's not to like?

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PFM66A2A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Thank you so much, we're delighted you appreciated our great Winter deal here at Rum Doodle. We've now powered into summertime - so roll on lots of sunny days in the beautiful Lake District!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    559
    77
    17
    2
    4
See reviews for
39
510
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here in March and we were both very pleased. Emma and Greg couldn't have been more helpful, including making space in their shed for our bikes. They offered very good advice on restaurants and places to visit in the local area. Our room was cosy and we loved the way it was decorated. The bathroom could have been a little bigger but it wasn't a problem. Great breakfast and in an excellent location for exploring the local area. I'd highly recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hanners79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Thank you so much - we're delighted you enjoyed Rum Doodle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

This b&b was very nice so can't complain but a little disappointed with a few small things. We paid full price so didn't get the good deals that people rave about in the previous reviews. On arrival no cream tea as some received. The room (summit) was very nice, tely didn't work on the first night but my hubby spent ages sorting it out when we realised the Ariel wasn't in the correct place. no dressing gown, no homemade biscuits or fudge. However, we didn't get the deal where these were included so didn't really expect them. The breakfast was absolutely amazing extremely tasty with gorgeous good quality produce. My advice is go for the deals which include the extras as a little expensive if not included. For £120 I was expecting one or two of the little extras but overall the b&b was very nice.

Room Tip: The summit has it's own small living room. The bed was very comfy with lovely pillows
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Delighted you enjoyed your stay at Rum Doodle. We've been on holiday for a week, so it sounds like some things may have been missed during your stay. Our superior rooms (£119 p/n) do include dressing-gowns and homemade biscuits. Every guest is offered homemade cake with tea and coffee on arrival. Our Winter deals include a complimentary boat trip and Prosecco, but they only run during our quieter months and so stop at the end of April. Apologies about the TV, the aerial must have been knocked out during the room cleaning process - glad you were able to work it out, but there's usually someone around to help in such situations. It's always worth booking direct with us if you're staying for more than a couple of nights - if we have good availability, we'll try to offer a better deal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

We decided to book this hotel as our honeymoon trip to Windermere and we were not disappointed! Unique touches to the room, excellent tea maker, the welcome afternoon tea and cake , the really delicious breakfast and the bed was amazing .....so comfortable! The location was great - halfway between Bowness and Windermere and all within walking distance and in such a peaceful area. The only downside was the walls was kinda thin so we could hear the guest next door snoring very loudly but we'll bring some earplugs next time we'll stay over LOL! I'd highly recommend this place , the owners have put alot of effort into this hotel and you just can't stop smiling to yourself once you step in.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ray y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregor S, Manager at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
...thanks for that, glad you enjoyed a fantastic stay with us at Rum Doodle! Blimey, that must have been a loud nose!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We were going to stay at the Rum Doodle for two nights but found we had an extra night available, so we phoned at 11:00 am and spoke to the manager Beth. She went out of her way to fit us in for the extra night and we arrived at 12:30 pm to a very warm welcome and tea & cakes.
We thoroughly enjoyed our three days and had three of the five choices of main course for breakfast - all of which were delicious. The rooms were clean and well equipped including fresh coffee and cafetiere.
We would definitely recommend this establishment which is within easy walking distance of both Bowness & Windermere.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
... delighted everything went well for you while we were away on hols. We think Beth is an excellent host and we're delighted she made your stay at Rum Doodle such a good one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Just left Rum Doodle and Emma and the staff could not have been more accommodating. Lovely room with all the extras as promised. What made the stay different was the attention to detail with the decor and breakfast was outstanding on both mornings. Well delivered and so much choice. Perfect location for our stay and we'll be back. Thank you

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissFlugel1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
...we think Rum Doodle is rather beautiful too - thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

Myself and my husband have just returned from a 2 night stay at the Rum Doodle b&b. We have have the most fantastic time. We got a deal through living social but chose to upgrade our room. We were not disappointed. We stayed in room number 9 "the Summit", which as you can guess, was at the very top of the house. It was amazing. A beautiful bedroom and a cosy little living room, certainly made us feel like we were home from home. The Rum Doodle is full of character and each room has a separate theme. The added little touches such as petals on the bed, home made biscuits, hand made chocolates and a free bottle of prosecco all added to this fantastic break away. Breakfast was delicious and Beth and the rest of the staff made everyone feel very welcome. Nothing was too much trouble. I would certainly recommend this B&B and would love to stay here again in the future.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank thesnowdrops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
..and we'd be delighted to have you back at Rum Doodle! Thanks so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
1.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,428 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.9 mi away
The Willowsmere
The Willowsmere
#9 of 108 in Windermere
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast

Property: Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast
Address: Sunny Bank Road, Windermere LA23 2EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set midway between Windermere and Bowness, vintage-styled Rum Doodle B&B is just a 12-minute downhill stroll away from the famous lake. We offer country house quality in a B&B setting with Egyptian cotton linens, an award-winning breakfast and complimentary WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Braemount House Hotel Windermere
Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing