We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #17 of 107 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Rum Doodle is a beautiful family run B&B. Our room which had a four poster bed was clean tidy plenty of room. The breakfasts were not your normal English fry up which made all the difference. I'd recommend the Smoked Salmon and scrambled eggs on muffin and also the the haddock and poached eggs.
In the room there is a book to advise where to go for meals, days out etc. this is very handy. Cab service is fast and dead cheap from Rum Doodle
The B&B is a short walk from Lake Windermere but be advise it's a very steep hilled short walk. I got quite fit in a couple of days.
All in all this B&B is fabulous and I for one will be definitely retuning soon

Room Tip: There are various rooms so it's best to look online on Rum Doodles web site. All rooms look fab.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kidda35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

...thank you so much, hope to see you back at Rum Doodle soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (687)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

308 - 314 of 687 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014

Just spent 3 days at Rum Doodle with very good breakfast and nice accommodation with great linens etc, albeit a somewhat cramped bedroom #5 and crowded breakfast room. We stayed in 5 other BB's in the UK on this trip and this was the only one which did not have tissues/kleenex, did not replenish cookies/biscuits daily and which charged 2% surcharge for using a credit card which I found a bit chintzy. Owners are very friendly and helpful but so were all the others we stayed at. Lots of choices/competition in this beautiful area.

Room Tip: check room size as they are smaller than they look on the website. quiet location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ian a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thanks for the feedback. In our experience most acommodation businesses will charge to process credit card payments, the idea being to encourage customers to use debit cards which are far cheaper for small businesses to process. We think the policy is a fair one and gives guests the option of how they pay. We do make it very clear in our T&Cs that there's no charge for paying by debit card, or cash. It actually is a way of keeping costs down for guests and keeping things transparent. We were rather busy over the Easter weekend, apologies if you found that uncomfortable, but we thought the atmosphere was rather jolly. You did book one of our mid-sized rooms, we do have larger rooms and smaller ones available to suit most budgets. We're very pleased you felt so welcome at so many British B&Bs, we're a dedicated bunch and love to see happy visitors.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Just got back from a 2 night stay at the Rum Doodle B&B and in short, this is one I would highly recommend to anyone looking for a B&B in the lake district. Upon arrival the owners were really lovely... They offered us hot drinks with a slice of cake and gave us advice on nice restaurants and places to walk in the area (Cafe Italia just up the road in Windermere is definitely somewhere you should visit, especially if you're looking for pre-dinner cocktails!).

As for the room itself, it was spacious and very clean. The bed was extremely comfortable and overall was just a very nice room for the weekend. If you were to be extremely picky, you could say the bathroom seemed very basic, however, it was perfect and I can't complain!

Breakfast was brilliant. A small menu but between my girlfriend and I we tried 4 of the dishes, all of which were very good and tasty.

Room Tip: We stayed in "The summit", as far as I am aware this is the most pricey, but seemed to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

So glad you enjoyed The Summit attic suite at Rum Doodle. Room 6 "Shute" is a much larger bedroom, but many of our guests love the additional little living room in The Summit. Hope to see you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

This was mine and my husband's 2nd stay here as a birthday treat. We will definitely be returning soon.Emma and Gregor are wonderful owners nothing is to much trouble for them. When you arrive you receive a lovely welcome and are shown around your room. We stayed in room 6 again which is fab. Homemade cake and tea of coffee is offered when you arrive which is lovely. Not only do you get that but homemade biscuits are left in your room. We had our breakfast in our room which was award winning. We look forward to coming back . Would definitely recommend anyone to stay.

Room Tip: Amazing place to stay , full of character a real gem .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 41Karen003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you so much - it was a delight to have you back with us at Rum Doodle!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We got a great deal for this B&B on livingsocial.co.uk and weren't disappointed! Prosecco, chocolates, rose petals on the bed and two tickets for the Lake Windermere cruise all included in the deal price. We stayed in Room 4, Prone, which was nice and cosy (if not a little smaller than what the photos suggest) but it still had room for seating and a great double bed. The Breakfast choice was great, we recommend the blueberry pancakes! Only 15 minute walk to Bowness and Windermere town making it a great location. Staff were attentive and helpful, overall we couldn't have asked for more. Would definitely stay here again, would recommend it for couples!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona20118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Delighted you enjoyed your stay - please come back and see us in the summer! Best wishes, from all at Rum Doodle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Lovely welcome. Owners were away but the lady (forgotten name) was brilliant. Very pleasant manner and really made our stay. Room small but very clean four poster bed (a bit too large for room) but we both had a fantastic nights sleep.
Breakfast was delicious and very filling.

We did the living social deal and cannot complain about value for money. The ferry trip alone would have cost us about £15. Also included was proseco and afternoon tea and even handmade chocs - what's not to like?

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PFM66A2A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Thank you so much, we're delighted you appreciated our great Winter deal here at Rum Doodle. We've now powered into summertime - so roll on lots of sunny days in the beautiful Lake District!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here in March and we were both very pleased. Emma and Greg couldn't have been more helpful, including making space in their shed for our bikes. They offered very good advice on restaurants and places to visit in the local area. Our room was cosy and we loved the way it was decorated. The bathroom could have been a little bigger but it wasn't a problem. Great breakfast and in an excellent location for exploring the local area. I'd highly recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hanners79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Thank you so much - we're delighted you enjoyed Rum Doodle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
0.6 mi away
The Lamplighter
The Lamplighter
#18 of 20 in Windermere
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,449 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Willowsmere
The Willowsmere
#9 of 107 in Windermere
414 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thornbank Guest House
Thornbank Guest House
#8 of 107 in Windermere
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast

Address: Sunny Bank Road, Windermere LA23 2EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range: £73 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set midway between Windermere and Bowness, vintage-styled Rum Doodle B&B is just a 12-minute downhill stroll away from the famous lake. We offer country house quality in a B&B setting with Egyptian cotton linens, an award-winning breakfast and complimentary WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Braemount House Hotel Windermere
Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing