We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“well, for us it was finally overall the best b&b in the uk”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 109 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“well, for us it was finally overall the best b&b in the uk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Well, for us it was finally overall the best b&b in the uk. that said, every b&b has its individual charm and there is usually always some (minor) downside. that depends very much on the individual point of view. In this case it could be for some the location and lack of scenic view. just it is only a short stroll to either the town center or the lake (center). so never mind. In all other areas Rum Doodle gets the full score. it has all the ingredients one needs to have a perfect stay.most important: a really friendly and genteel landlady, a house that has a beautiful charm and atmosphere, lovely and beautiful interior, very individual and cosy room (we loved ours;others might find it a bit too small), a great breakfast cooked by a chef (i would not wonder if it would result in an entry for Rum Doodle in the Michelin Red Guide). In any case you will enjoy our stay. Rum Doodle b&b sets the bar very high

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chmannva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Wow! Thank you so much! We're delighted you loved the atmosphere of Rum Doodle and our wonderful food!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    551
    77
    15
    2
    3
See reviews for
37
502
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Got a lovely welcome from owner and throughout our stay they couldn't do enough. Shared their local knowledge about swimming and cycling. Felt very at home - too much, could have stayed longer ! Breakfast was amazing and they were kind enough to make ours early as we were swimming early on the Sunday. Rooms not huge but quirky, clean and comfortable. Recommend reading the book ' The ascent of Rum Doodle' before or after your stay !!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy020905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Many thanks...we're so glad Rum Doodle felt like home for you! Well done with the swim!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Stayed two nights while in Windermere for the Great North Swim. Had a very warm welcome and tea and home made cakes on arrival. Hosts were very helpful and accommodated our request for an earlier breakfast time with a smile. Bedrooms are quirky and beds really comfortable. En-suites are spotless. The breakfasts are amazing! Lots to eat from continental to the full Cumbrian breakfast and lots of fruit. Everything on the breakfast buffet was topped up as the plates became empty so whether you were early or late for breakfast, you had the same choice. It's an easy 15 minute walk into Bowness from the guest house. We felt as if we were 'part of the family' while we were there and loved just chilling on the little patio in front of the house.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EAber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you so much for those kind words! It was a pure delight to have you and your family with us at Rum Doodle for the Great North Swim. Congratulations on your wonderful achievement - we look forwards to seeing you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

We just stayed 2 nights in the burley room. We were welcomed with tea and delicious carrot cake. The room was great, very quirky, loved the decor and the roll top bath. Bed very comfortable too. Great location, 10-15 minute stroll into bowness. Lots of helpful information on the local area including restaurant ideas, both places we ate from their suggestions were very good. Breakfast delicious with a good selection of dishes. Would recommend and will return!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leaf87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thanks so much - looking forwards to having you back with us at Rum Doodle!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

We have just stayed two nights in The Summit room. It was perfect in every-way with its own little TV room great with a 3 year old as meant we could hide away when she was in bed. Emma is the perfect host and her breakfasts are amazing especially the pancakes. I couldn't recommend this B&B enough and hopefully we shall return again soon. It is the perfect location for exploring a Bowness and Windermere. We were all very sad to leave. Thank you for a fab couple of days.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyns74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
It was our pleasure! A treat to have you stay with us at Rum Doodle - thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Fabulous place to stay. Very individual and unique. On arrival, we were personally welcomed by Emma and served delicious home made cake and coffee. The room (7) was very comfortable and spotlessly clean. The breakfast was excellent and the service fantastic.This was our first visit to the lakes and we couldn't have picked a better location. An easy walk into either Windermere centre or Bowness and an ideal base for exploring the surrounding area. We originally booked for two nights, but decided to stay an extra day as the whole experience was so enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Wonderful, thank you - it was lovely to have you with us at Rum Doodle for even longer than originally planned!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We have just returned from a 2 night stay and I havent a bad word to say. From the minute we arrived we were made to feel very welcome. The room (shute) was fab and very roomy full of fab little touches that made our stay wonderful. Breakfast was exceptional and served fresh to our room. Location is great about 15 minute walk to the town centre and 10 minutes to the bay. Will defiantly return

Room Tip: Book room 6 (shute) just to enjoy breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cupcake9239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you so much - we're delighted you loved Rum Doodle!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
#2 of 109 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glenville House (Adults Only)
Glenville House (Adults Only)
#3 of 109 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Willowsmere
The Willowsmere
#7 of 109 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast

Property: Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast
Address: Sunny Bank Road, Windermere LA23 2EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 109 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set midway between Windermere and Bowness, vintage-styled Rum Doodle B&B is just a 12-minute downhill stroll away from the famous lake. We offer country house quality in a B&B setting with Egyptian cotton linens, an award-winning breakfast and complimentary WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Braemount House Hotel Windermere
Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing