We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truely Accomadting” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 111 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Truely Accomadting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2011

A gem of a place!!! My partner and I stayed for three nights. Gregor and Emma are both very relaxed and attentive hosts and were wonderfully accomodating of us and our, 'lively', 2 year old daughter.
Although the I would recommend Braemount more for couples we stayed in the suite which gave us the option of having a seperate lounge to put our daughter down for the night.
Emma and Gregor made us feel very welcome and at ease, which when travelling with a toddler is very much needed.
The Breakfast was fresh and all locally sourced(amazing smoked haddock and eggs). The room was serviced very well and the sheets, bedding and 'smellys' were all of a high standard(my fiancee asures me!!!!)
I would not hesitate to recommend Braemount House to anyone looking to stay in The Lakes. The area is great, the lake is a a two minute walk, the scenery is stunning, and there are enough shops to keep the most discerning of ladies happy!

If you are looking for a romantic break you will not be dissapointed.

Many thanks,

Chris, Lauren and Olivia

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank quinceyranchmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    546
    74
    12
    2
    3
See reviews for
37
491
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nuneaton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2011

My husband and I stayed at The Braemount to celebrate my 50th birthday. It was perfect from start to finish. Our room (6) was truly amazing, everything in there was to a very high standard indeed right down to the lovely shower/bath gel presented in beautiful bottles opposed to fiddly sachets, big white fluffy towels and lovely bath robes. The bed linen was gorgeous and the bed incredibly comfortable. My husband had pre ordered champagne and chocolates which were in our room on arrival. The breakfasts were delicious and all freshly prepared and cooked. Emma and Gregor are the perfect hosts, nothing is too much trouble for them. We will definitely be recommending this hotel to our friends and as soon as we can arrange it we will be returning as 2 nights were just not enough.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2011

Myself and my husband stayed here for our anniversary for 1 night only early February. We were amazed at the quality of the room considering we had not in our opinion paid alot for the room. Everything within our room was of a really high standard and you could tell there was an amazing attention to detail by the owners with how the room was decorated and styled. The rooms would suit all tastes and all ages with it being so tastefully decorated. The owners were wonderful friendly people with lots of advise and recomendations for eating out and for touring around the lcoal area. Breakfast was outstanding and served in yet another stunning room where all guests have breakfast in a very cosy and relaxed atmosphere. Both my husband and myself were delighted with our stay here and when returning to the area we would not even consider staying anywhere else. We have and will keep on recomending Braemount House to all friends and realtives who want a relaxed, stylish and friendly base whilst in this area. Absolutely gorgeous.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TashaFadden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bolton
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2011

gorgeous hotel, exellent location, great friendly service, very welcoming, would deffinatly recommend and stay there again. very short walk into main centre and was only about £4 in a taxi from trainstation.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kos10x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 11 August 2015
Thank you so much - sorry for the delay in reply, we've been really busy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2011

After a freezing cold day diving at nearby Capernwray; the welcome we received from both Emma & Gregor could not have been more warming, followed by a warm refreshing drink of tea - fantastic. The home made cookies that await you in your room are amazing! Braemount is within easy reach for restaurants, shops etc. The aroma that awakes you of a freshly cooked breakfast is fantastic. Well done Emma & Gregor - a credit to you.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sleahair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 11 August 2015
Thank you so much - sorry for the delay in reply, we've been really busy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2011

Emma and Gregor run a really friendly and relaxed guest house, where all the finishing touches of a top boutique hotel (selection of fine teas, smooth cotton sheets, sensous smelling bathroom soaps and big fluffy towels and robes) meet the best elements of a traditional country guest house (hot, satisfying breakfasts, super clean rooms and a very warm welcome). Professional and sensitive to their customers needs you can enjoy a happy hour discussing the best walks or be simply left to enjoy your stay in one of their sumptious en suite rooms. Close to both Windermere and Bowness and a pile of good eating places and pubs Braemount would be very hard to beat. Watch out for their yoga weekends - am just back from one with Maureen Wray, an excellent Iyengar teacher and feeling deliciously refreshed and stretched. Helen Morris

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helenmorris270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 11 August 2015
Thank you so much - sorry for the delay in reply, we've been really busy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2011

Only booked this hotel last minute, and found another excellent place to stay
Emma & Gregor with lovely lovely people only recently taking over the hotel ,I feel once they have put their stamp on it it will become the of the best places to stay. We were greeted with coffee and mince pie and then shown to our room which was lovely and clean. I would recommend you visit and I am sure like us you will return many times !!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank winequeen76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
3.7 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
#2 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glenville House (Adults Only)
Glenville House (Adults Only)
#3 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Hideaway At Windermere
The Hideaway At Windermere
#4 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast

Property: Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast
Address: Sunny Bank Road, Windermere LA23 2EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set midway between Windermere and Bowness, vintage-styled Rum Doodle B&B is just a 12-minute downhill stroll away from the famous lake. We offer country house quality in a B&B setting with Egyptian cotton linens, an award-winning breakfast and complimentary WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Braemount House Hotel Windermere
Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing