We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Nearby Hotels
Hillthwaite(Windermere)
US$259
US$177
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House(Windermere)
US$542
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Craig Manor Hotel(Windermere)
US$136
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$327
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Wild Boar(Windermere)
US$238
US$218
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$249
US$223
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$323
US$148
getaroom.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant(Windermere)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,294)
Filter reviews
1,294 results
Traveller rating
820
241
135
60
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
820
241
135
60
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdamson ginafternoon teamiss pottermichelin starthe main housetower roomhunting lodgehot tubarts and craftspeter rabbitspa treatmentsthe general managertasting menuamuse bouchestunning viewsscallopsturn down service
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,077 - 1,082 of 1,294 reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2012

The hotel is situated in the country, so a car is essential if you don't want to taxi into the town.

On arrival, we crisped our way up the long drive and were greeted by amazingly friendly and courteous staff, which continued throughout our stay.

Decor is certainly not modern or contemporary but that I guess is the character of the property. It was a difficult call whether our room needed refurbishment “because it was dated”, or whether it was nostalgic and had fabulous character “because it was dated”. In any event it was clean and had all amenities required, including some nice welcoming touches.

Views were amazing, the food divine and the entire stay totally relaxing.

The modern Spa was an added plus, albeit in reality for those not wanting treatments it is purely a sauna and steam room.

In summary, there are lots of modern contemporary hotels around and if you like that style you will be disappointed; but if you want amazing service, fine food, excellent views and a warm cosy friendly environment you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick_From_Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We did not stay at the hotel but went for dinner to celebrate our anniversary. We have previously stayed at Holbeck and just booked for dinner several times whilst staying elsewhere. This is mainly because we have 2 dogs and although dog friendly it's £25 per dog for 1 night.

Dinner was excellent, but......... Our booking was arrival 20.30hrs for 21.00hrs dining. We did arrive early as we wanted to sit and relax and enjoy a glass of champagne or 2, service was very slow and we were sat in the lounge for 10 mins before a drink order was taken. We were given the a la carte menu but as it was a special occassion we were interested in possibly having the gourmet menu with wines. It had stated on the website the gourmet menu was available until 9pm. My husband queried this and we were told they had run out! We were slightly dissapointed and surprised that a restaurant of this standard would "run out!" on a Saturday evening. We did rather think that because the service had been so slow and we were approaching 9pm the gourmet menus were purposefully not offered. Either way not the best start.

Service of drinks when seated in the dining room was slow and we found ourselves wishing our wine to arrive, we had already been seated in the dining room another 10mins before our wine arrived. Bread had been offered and eaten and amuse bouche had been served. I personally feel the wine should be waiting for you as you are seated and surely this is the reason for taking the order with the dinner choice. At no point in the evening did anyone check we were happy with our dinner which I thought was unusual and not good customer care.

Overall despite the above we had a lovely evening as were determined to do so but I did come away with the feeling that the service could definitely have been better which is a shame as the food was excellent but the service is letting the side down. There are similar restaurants in the South Lakes which we have dined at recently and found customer service to be far better.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Nicola448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Stayed at this property for 1 night. Front of house staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The room was just what you'd imagine for this kind of property- floral prints, antique furniture (extremely comfy bed!). Turndown service came complete with a hot water bottle placed under your sheets- nice little touch!
The meal in the restaurant was very good. Food portions were small but I suppose that's what you get with fine dining. Breakfast was good but service was slow and they weren't particularly quick to re set the tables (although it was busy). The hotel itself is perfect if you want a really quiet break.
Pretty hotel, lovely gardens and amazing views

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank manoloCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Our second visit to Holbeck Ghyll certainly didn't disappoint. We spent two nights in a lovely room named 'Peter Rabbit'. The staff were extremely attentive and friendly without overdoing it. The food was amazing, certainly deserving of the Michellan Star. The views are breathtaking and we will definitely be going back again. Thank you to all at Holbeck for making our stay very special.

Room Tip: Rooms in the Lodge are fabulous, and the Miss Potter suite a treat.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meppo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

We booked a three night say to have a luxury break and the experience was everything we hoped for. The room was lovely with a four poster bed, a stove lit for our arrival and a decanter of damson gin. the staff were so friendly and helpful. The food was amazing and absolutely delicious. The atmosphere was one of a house party and we even met friends of friends. The location is stunning and lots to do and see using as much or as little energy as you wish. We will certainly return and that is the best reflection of our time there. I liked the way the staff were so good and yet still a discrete presence. The luxury after a long hard walk. For me there were no negatives, just a very enjoyable stay. I truly felt I had had a fantastic break.

Room Tip: Phone and ask the staff for advice for what you have in mind. I did and was very happy with their help. I"m sure all the rooms are great.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews