We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Samling Hotel(Windermere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Regent Hotel(Ambleside)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Fisherbeck(Ambleside)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,295)
Filter reviews
1,295 results
Traveller rating
821
241
135
60
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
821
241
135
60
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdamson ginafternoon teamiss pottermichelin starthe main housetower roomhunting lodgehot tubarts and craftspeter rabbitspa treatmentsthe general managertasting menuamuse bouchestunning viewsscallopsturn down service
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,061 - 1,066 of 1,295 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Just returned from wonderful relaxing weekend at Holbeck Ghyll.Friendly greeting on arrival where we were shown to our room which was a lovely refurfished one with a view out over green fields.We then went downstairs and enjoyed a drink in the lounge looking out over the Lake-attentive,friendly service.Breakfast both days was beautiful,cooked to order and hot.This visit we chose B&B as had made plans for evening but having had dinner there in the past we know this is excellent.Used the Spa which was excellent and recommend the hot stone treatment.Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff and Andrew even took time to show us one of the refurbished lodges so can feel another visit coming on!!
All in all really enjoyed our visit and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank letsgomurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2012

Thanks Gill. Glad you liked the new rooms. As always, please drop me a line when you are looking to come and we will pull out all the stops! Best wishes, Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Stayed at the Holbeck for one night, on the Dinners Delight Package.
On arrival we were taken around the hotel, and shown the various lounges, dining room and Spa. We were then taken to our room, and shown all the facilities in there. We thought that this was a very personnel touch, and made us feel exceptionally welcome.
Our room was a Lake View room - with a view to die for!!
Didn't want to leave this fabulous room, but forced ourselves to go downstairs for afternoon tea.
Luckily the sun had come out, so we sat in the lovely warm weather on the Terrace eating the most fantastic sandwiches and cakes and looking at a most fantastic view. Life could not get any better.
However life did get even better when we went down for our evening meal. Had canopies and a glass of champagne in one of the lounges, and sat in the bay-window overlooking the most fantastic view as the sun started to set. The canopies were fabulous.
The service in the dining room was extremely professional, and pleasant. The meal was awesome, and just as good as the other Michelin Star restaurants that we have been to. One recommendation that I would have is to have the Lemon Plate for dessert - this was just out of this world.
Afterwards we had petite fours and coffee in the lounge, before retiring to our room.
We will definitely be returning to this wonderful place, and would recommend anyone to stay here. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Lake View Rooms are out of this world with the most fantastic views.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EnglandHolts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2012

You are so right... the terrace is the best place to be when the sun is out, glad that you got to experience it. Thank you for the great review, it akes the Diners Delight package sound just as it should - great value for money. I am delighted that the team looked after you - try Lionels Cherry Clafoutis on your next visit, even better than his Lemon plate!

Once again, thanks for taking the time to review us.

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

I have fond memories of holidays at Windermere even if it did always seem to rain! On this visit the weather was wonderful and the views of the lake from our room were spectacular. The food was wonderful and the restaurant deserves it's Michelin star.

We stayed in one of the lodge rooms and it was very cozy and comfortable. My only quibble would be that the exterior areas need some TLC they let the hotel down

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Theenglishtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2012

Thank you very much for your kind review, we are all delighted that you were able to re-live happy memories....as welll as getting sunshine! Dave and I are glad that you enjoyed the food as well.

Regarding the exteriors, we are busy painting and refurbishing when the weather allows. We are alos installing garden lighting, which at the moment, does leave a few pile of dirt around - but it will be worth it in the long run!

Once again thank you for your comments.


Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Beautiful setting, lovely welcome from the staff. The wood panelled entrance hall and stained glass is stunning. The room was very comfortable with access on to a terrace with a lovely view of the lake. The bathroom was top notch, and absolutely spotless. Could have spent the whole stay in there really! Bed huge and comfortable. There was some noise from the kitchen extractor, but this was switched off when service was finished.

Our main reason for the stay (part of our mini 'Trip') was the food, and maybe my comments are due to having eaten at L'Enclume the day before. But I don't think this food is Michelin. It was great quality and lovely flavours, but there was no innovation and nothing I hadn't had before at other places, done equally well or better but with no star (see my review of Hipping Hall). Granted, the staff are charming, the dining room again has the wood panelling and the views are romantic. But I was a little disappointed.

Breakfast was tasty with a good range of cooked and cold choices - I had a huge portion of porridge and then smoked haddock and poached egg with obligatory foam.

The place is very old school and traditional (nothing wrong with that) and so are most of the guests. An oddly jarring note was the blingy Holbeck Ghyll helicopter that buzzed in a couple of times. We had a wonderful time, but weirdly I'm not sure I would go again. I think there might be better options to explore (Sharrow Bay??)

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CheshireCat_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2012

Thank you for your comments and we are all delighted that you enjoyed the hotel. With regard to the food, Dave and I take on board your comments. However, as mentioned before, to compare restaurants with stars is like to compare films; the stars represent restaurants which are considered by Michelin to be the best on their class. Films belong to different genres as do restaurants. Comparing Star Wars, Gone with the Wind and Clockwork Orange is a case in point - they are all good films but very different in content. Hope this helps!

In the meantime, we do hope that you do come and see us again.

With all good wishes


Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

From the moment you arrive the staff are excellent and very attentive. Our lake view room was very well appointed and had a large bathroom with bath and shower. The bed was firm but very comfortable. The pre-dinner drinks are served in the lounge with canapes provided. The dinner menu is small but very interesting and there is a taster menu for the larger appetites. The staff ensured that wine and water were served as required and the dishes were presented in a very interesting way. Coffee in the lounge continued the relaxing atmosphere. The breakfasts were also good with a great choice of hot dishes. The only negative was no swimming pool but the spa offered all the treatments required.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of the lake.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sinclair45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2012

Sinclair 45, we love you - what a great review, thank you very much. There is no swimming pool - at the moment! We do have plans for one - so who knows!

So glad you enjoyed it - do let us know when you are coming back!

With all good wishes

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews