We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish Arts & Crafts country house”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Suffolk
Level Contributor
88 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Stylish Arts & Crafts country house”
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Overlooking Winderemere from many of the rooms the earliest part of the house has some super fixtures and fittings, especially the electrical ones. The £160.00 offer was not available to a phone call but was booked OK on line. The room not a favoured lake view but overlooking the hills at the side was fine, well equipped especially the immaculate Villeroy & Boch fitted bathroom.
Dinner, after some drinks and nibbles outside on a warm sunny evening, was a fairly usual Michelin one star affair with pleasant enough service. Breakfast is part buffet and part to order for the hot dishes and very good. A very pleasant stay and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ea217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this review, 7 July 2012
Thank you for your honest review and good score. Each week we review all the feedback so thank you for taking the time to complete a review. I do hope that we get the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

With all good wishes

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    737
    211
    114
    47
    24
See reviews for
142
810
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Rooms - Got upgraded to the Madisson house. It was a lovely cottage with amazing views and a private garden (too bad we couldn't use the hot tub in the garden because of the rain!).

Service - all the staff was very helpful and nice. Went out f their way to accommodate special requests. Just what you'd expect from a good hotel!

Loved the managers dog! :)

Food wasn't great for vegetarians and provsion of pots and pans in the cottage's kitchen would have made even better!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rc399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
Glad you rnjoyed the upgrade - hot tub in the rain is one of those unforgettable Lakes experiences! Try it next time!!! Your point regarding vegetarians in noted and we will try harder. Daisy sends her love - and licks!

Thanks for taking the time to give us a great score.
Best wishes

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

I took my partner here for 2 nights to celebrate his 40th birthday. We stayed in a lovely lake view room. The window seat gave amazing views over the lake to the fells beyond. The whole experience was excellent. We have returned feeling very relaxed. Well done!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreatestStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
I have pinned your review to our staff notice board; we do get lots of people coming to celebrate birthdays and other such milestones and it is important that we treat every one as special. I am delighted to hear that we reached that expectation for you.

Thanks from us all for taking the time to post such a great score.

With our best wishes

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights, unfortunately during one of the rainiest few days in Cumbria and the Northeast. So, we spent quite a bit more time in the hotel than we had originally planned. Overall, the hotel and our lakeview room in the main house was clean and well appointed, largely in keeping with a country house design concept. The meals were exceptional, though we would have preferred a change in the tasting "gourmet" menu during our stay, which we ended up never trying as the selection was not to our taste. I recommend trying the cheese selection one night - well presented and explained and very good. The cooked breakfasts were very good too. I recommend the American style pancakes - the best I've had in a restaurant, and I am an American! Champagne afternoon tea was nice, though heavy on the cakes (much more than enough for one) and too light on the sandwiches. Service overall was pretty good, though they let themselves down on the details and the personal touches overall. For example, lack of assistance at the front door with bags and general welcoming to the hotel, slightly chaotic in the dining room, leading to delays, missed orders or not knowing who ordered what (remember this is a Michelin starred restaurant). There are quite a few staff, but aside from reception (very good and efficient) and the sommelier, everyone does a bit of everything and it seems unorganised. Not all of the staff really have the confidence and polish that I would expect in this type of hotel. The maitre d' could have been more visible, as could the general manager. Maid service and turndown fairly good, but again no special surprises. I would recommend the hotel overall, but advise management and staff to focus on the details.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tripper099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
Thanks for your comments; I apologise for not introducing myself - after the extra sandwiches arrived I was the man in the tweed suit who offered you fresh tea - a case for name badges I guess!

Your comments have been noted and we discuss all feedback at our weekly management meeting so thank you for taking the time to review us.

Yours sincerely

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We loved this beautiful hotel and grounds. Rooms were large and full of character. Bathrooms are great. Service was faultless and dinner was amazing. A great place to stay in the lakes.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cs_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We stayed at Holbeck Ghyll for a night en route south from Scotland and had high expectations. We were accommodated in one of the lodge rooms which, I am sorry to say, did not give a great impression of a high-end luxury hotel. Lodge rooms are situated in two storeys of what can best be described as a chalet building a few metres up the hill from the main house

The best aspect of our room was the view which was spectacular (and do try walking further up Holbeck Lane for even better views of the lake and town across the fields with grazing sheep). The room itself - hmm, nice touches but overall not great, compared to other similarly high-priced hotel we have stayed in. In particular, the proximity of loud neighbours conversing on the immediately adjacent balcony area was an issue (and why we went for the aforementioned walk!). There was little that was actually wrong - but not much to make the heart sing in this room.

The food and wine however is a completely different story. We had aperitifs in a lounge overlooking the lake, followed by a spectacular dinner, with each course being imaginative, beautifully presented and very flavoursome. We had a mid-range bottle of wine which was excellent. Prices reflected Michelin-standard expectations, which were fully met. Next day's breakfast was splendid as well. We really enjoyed the food here - well worth a detour.

Overall impression - this is a rest place for a hotel, so if our next room is in the main house, it will be perfect.

Room Tip: Try for the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColinF6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
Your comments regarding the Lodge Rooms have been noted and our housekeeper is methodically working around the rooms with Matthew, our Maintenance Man and various contractors, slowly but surely bringing them up to scratch. Do contact me directly when you are looking to return and I will help you choose the perfect room. menawhile, I am delighted that you enjoyed the aspects of your stay.

With all good wishes

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
211 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

The views, the rooms, the service, the whole Holbeck Ghyll experiences is simply lovely. A fabulous place to stay in the Lake District which is so close to great walking, and a short drive from Ambleside. Log fires, attentive staff the whole stay was great. My only negative comment which I hope Holbeck Ghyll takes note of is that of supplements. When you are paying Holbeck Ghyll sort of prices you don't expect to find a starter and a main course each night having a supplement on it and in particular if you dont want a dessert but feel like a plate of cheese iits a supplement. I didnt have dessert and out of principle did not have cheese which I would have loved. So please please stop the supplements ... then you are perfect!! .

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
We have listened to your feedback and now offer a cheese plate. Thank you for taking the time to review us and I hope that on your return you will find that small changes make a big difference.

Thanks, as well, for giving us a great score.

With all good wishes

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
2.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
4.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.5 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holbeck Ghyll Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holbeck Ghyll Country House

Property: Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Address: Holbeck Ghyll, Windermere LA23 1LU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#8 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#9 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holbeck Ghyll Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxurious country house hotel is set in eighteen acres of private woodland and gardens, in England's picturesque Lake District. Holbeck Ghyll offers 23 individually designed en-suite rooms, most with spectacular views over Lake Windermere. The Health Spa offers a range of treatments, sauna, steam room. Food is an integral part of any guests stay, and the Restaurant, which retained a Michelin Star for 14 consecutive years, will not disappoint. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Holbeck Ghyll Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holbeck Ghyll Country House Hotel Windermere
Holbeck Ghyll Country Hotel
Holbeck Ghyll Country Windermere
Holbeck Ghyll Country House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing