We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Restoring our faith”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Restoring our faith”
Reviewed 23 November 2012

We kind of went off country house hotels after a series of disappointing experiences where the concept was ruined by avarice, carelessness or just plain ignorance. We decided, for my wife's birthday treat, to give Holbeck Ghyll a try and I am so glad we did. It is difficult to know where to start but the greeting (thanks Viv) was so friendly, the room (23) was exactly as described with superb lake views, the food was magnificent and the overall experience was of money well spent.

It is worth expanding on the food - exceptional local produce, in creative combinations, superbly cooked and delivered by a confident and expert team. Although the base ingredients were the same each of the two nights we stayed the treatment was different - a variation in the cooking method, different presentation, etc. - a clever way of addressing a common problem of similar establishments.

In addition - the light afternoon tea was lovely, the martinis expertly produced (I am fussy), the wine interesting and the general buzz very conducive.

Will we go back? - certainly - leaving aside the location in the heart of the Lakes this is a real gem of a place that deserves every accolade it has garnered.

Thanks to all for making our special treat so much more special.

Room Tip: Room 23 is comfortable and spacious room with a fantastic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank panda54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this review, 16 December 2012
Thank you for such a great review. I have printed out a copy and posted it on our staff notice board, it does wonders for our morale!

We do look forward to you coming - can you make sure we have you email address so that we can keep you informed of our special offers, you can register on our website.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to review us.

With all good wishes

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    736
    211
    114
    47
    24
See reviews for
142
809
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012

Me and my husband stayed for a 2 night break in october, we had a room in the main house with beautiful views over the lake. We found all staff to be pleasant and helpful at all times, the room was clean, comfortable and had a lovely modern bathroom. The food was absolutely fantastic, loved the pre dinner canapes, excellent wine selection and top quality locally sourced food. We were also lucky enough to have the use of the sauna and steam room to ourselves on both nights and loved the views over the fields and down to the lake from the relaxation area. All in all we had a wonderful time and I have since recommended to family and friends.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chess01England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this review, 16 December 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review us - and thank you for such a high score. As an independant hotel we do rely on good reports and it is always pleasing to read when our guests have had a good experience.

Do come back and visit us soon!

With all good wishes


Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012

Great Room in Annex overlookig Lake Windermere
Food was simply excellent .......... well cooked, well presented and just delicious.
Staff very helpful and friendly.
Terrific Location overlooking the lake but away from Madding Crowds of Windermere and Ambleside.

Room Tip: In Annexe with balcony and view over the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rpjmLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this review, 16 December 2012
Thank you for the great review, my team and I do appreciate you taking time out to post something for us. We do hope that you come back to see us soon!

With all good wishes

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Just realised I didn't review our stay in April when sorting out some pictures so here goes:

We stayed while on a mini-honeymoon in advance of the main event in August and we weren't disappointed.

There are a variety of rooms available in the main house and the lodges, We stayed in a lodge room which are all named after Beatrix Potter characters - your room contains the relevant book!

Room was very comfortable as can be seen from the attached pictures.

Dinner was great and while some of the portion sizes look on the small side, from my perspective, you were full by the time the meal ended. I had some extremely tasty and well cooked venison. Hard to choose which pudding to try and I was a bit envious of my wife's choice, a selection of lemon deserts,

As you might expect breakfast was a cooked to order affair, which ticked a box for me. Interesting selection of condiments, including whisky came with my wife's porridge.

Pre and post dinner drinks are available in the lounge in the main building. As you might expect in a Country House Hotel there isn't a conventional bar as such, although you can order drinks for your room or the lounge. We met my need for a pint by having a nice stroll down to the side of the lake where there is another hotel - not such a gentle stroll back up to the hotel - but good exercise before dinner.

Highly recommended for that special occasion.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewJG18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this review, 13 November 2012
Better late than never!! However, thank you for taking the time to review us and so positively. Your pictures are great and you are right about the lemon dessert! Once again, thank you for making the effort to review us, it means alot to an independant hotel and the team. We hope to see you back with us again soon.

With all good wishes

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

My wife and I stayed for three nights on the Autumn Break package.
Our room, Room 2, had a good view over the lake.
The room itself was beautifully decorated, furnished and had all the facilities you would expect in a hotel at this level, including an excellent choice of hot drinks to go with your kettle. Beds are turned down.
If you were fushy you might not like the wardrobe being in the bathroom [slightly disconcerting when getting ready for dinner and both bathing/showering/changing].
Service was invariably excellent: bags were transfered from car to room immediately, check in and out was well organised, staff obviously knew who we were and did 'the little things' like taking your room key from you prior to sitting down for dinner.
Probably the only disappointment was that the quality of the 'full english' breakfast did not seem to match the rest of the fantastic food. There is nothing wrong with it: it is just 'fine' while the rest is excellent! The eggs benedict being a typicla example of something we both enjoyed much more.
The package included food and this was well worth the Michelin Star on each evening and evey course. Over three nights the menu changed subtly but sufficiently that if you simply wanted to eat local Herdwick lamb every evening I don't think you would have been bored/made to eat the same dish. I had lamb, beef and venison over three nights but could easily have gone for fish on every evening.
The presence of Stefan as Sommelier means that your wine will always complement the food you choose and both your tastes and budget.
Even the bill wasn't bad!
We didn't use the spar as we were out most of each day walking.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are certainly worth having.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this review, 13 November 2012
Dear Keith,

I have noted your comments regarding the breakfast and have talked with Dave. As you know, any feedback is listened to and we try to improve; feedback from our regulars is even more important. Thanks for giving us 5 dots; much appreciated. It is always good to welcome you back and hope to see you again soon. Best wishes to your wife and mum as well.

See you again soon,

Andrew and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

We stayed here as a birthday and anniversary treat in September and could not have had a better stay! From the moment we arrived the service was great - really friendly and helpful. The views were stunning and to my surprise we were taken to one of the lodges where a note from the manager and some beautiful flowers had been organised. Our room was beautiful with the most stunning views over the lake - even in the rain the view was captivating! We ate at the restaurant on both nights and again the service was faultless. Our food and the wine was superb and one of us being a vegetarian was not a problem, a separate menu was provided. We also made use of the spa which was lovely. We would highly recommend this hotel and can't wait to go back one day! Thank you!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linz99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this review, 13 November 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. I have posted it onto our staff notice board as it highlights all the things we try and do. I am so glad that we made you feel welcome with your dietary request. My kitchen team do try hard to accommodate all requests and it is great to here that it is appreciated!

Do come back and see us soon!

With all good wishes


Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed recently for 3 nights. Suffice to say this is a great hotel and the service is first class and the food is truly exceptional. Nothing was too much trouble and when my car got stuck in the bottom car park,they were out to help asap and used the hotels Land Rover to give me a quick tow!

The views are superb. Just a couple of very minor things to improve a brilliant experience; the bed and pilows in the room were not that great (please supply a double mattress rather than two singles zipped together and thicker pillows)and the spa would be complete with a little pool.

To be honest these are minor things and I would recommend this hotel to everyone and the food and service is to really,really top class.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this review, 13 November 2012
Thanks for your review Sean. We have made some changes to our car park that will hopefully prevent people manoeuvring in to the area which you got stuck; I am glad my team rode to the resuce (well done Matthew!). I have noted your comments regarding the pillows and we are in the middle of a programme of replacing them and upgrading the Duvets as well. Sadly - the spa pool will have to wait a while!

Do come back and see us soon though.

With all good wishes

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
2.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
4.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.5 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#9 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holbeck Ghyll Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holbeck Ghyll Country House

Property: Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Address: Holbeck Ghyll, Windermere LA23 1LU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#8 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#9 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holbeck Ghyll Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxurious country house hotel is set in eighteen acres of private woodland and gardens, in England's picturesque Lake District. Holbeck Ghyll offers 23 individually designed en-suite rooms, most with spectacular views over Lake Windermere. The Health Spa offers a range of treatments, sauna, steam room. Food is an integral part of any guests stay, and the Restaurant, which retained a Michelin Star for 14 consecutive years, will not disappoint. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Holbeck Ghyll Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holbeck Ghyll Country House Hotel Windermere
Holbeck Ghyll Country Hotel
Holbeck Ghyll Country Windermere
Holbeck Ghyll Country House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing